上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

心理健康和精神康復

精神衛生問題涉及與(由法官)發現需要精神衛生服務的人的住院治療和持續治療有關的問題。 精神健康問題與智障人士有關。

我如何...

為看似患有精神疾病的家庭成員獲得幫助?
如果您所愛的人或您所居住的人需要幫助解決心理健康問題,那麼該人可能會去或被帶到社區心理健康中心。 您也可以聯繫哥倫比亞特區的24小時心理健康熱線:1-888-7 WE HELP / 1-888-793-4357或202 / 673-9300的移動危機中心。 醫生將檢查個體並確定該人是否患有精神疾病並且對自己和/或其他人是危險的。 醫生將決定是否需要緊急住院治療。 根據DC法律,在一個人被犯下和/或被迫接受治療之前,必鬚髮現該人患有精神病,並且由於精神疾病而對自己和/或他人構成危險。

確定某人是否由於精神疾病而被視為對自己和/或其他人構成危險?
“自我危險”是指該人無法照顧自己,或有可能無意中將自己置於危險之中,或有可能受到傷害。 “對他人構成危險”是指該人有意或無意地對他人進行某些行為或行為,此類行為或行為可能是暴力或非暴力行為。 請注意,吸毒成癮和酒精中毒不符合精神疾病的資格。

啟動精神病患者的承諾過程?
如果您希望啟動此過程,您是父母或監護人,您可以將此情況提交給DC高級法院的家庭法院的中央進場中心。 要求治療的人必須由醫生檢查,以確定該人是否患有精神疾病,並在提出呈請之前對自身和/或其他人造成危害。

獲得智障人士的幫助?
您可以通過以下方式聯繫殘疾人服務部: 250 E Street SW,華盛頓特區20024; (202)730-1700; 或在線: http://dds.dc.gov。 請注意,有效的8月3,2018,對智障人士不會有新的民事承諾。

聯絡我們
家庭法院

審判長: 提問。 彼得·克拉薩默
副主審法官: 提問。 珍妮佛·迪托羅
導向器: Avrom D. Sickel,Esq。
副主任: 托尼·戈爾

莫爾特法院
500 Indiana Avenue NW,
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30時至5:00時

電話號碼
(202) 879-1212

 

科長: Heather M. Greigg
(202) 879-1040

心理適應訓練計劃:
(202) 879-0201

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Mental Health and Mental Habilitation

Mental Health matters are those relating to the hospitalization and continued treatment of people found (by a judge) to be in need of mental health services. Mental Habilitation matters are those relating to people with an intellectual disability.

How do I...

get assistance for a family member who appears to have a mental illness?
If a loved one or someone you live with needs help for a mental health problem, the person may go, or be taken to, a community mental health center. You may also contact the District of Columbia's 24-hour Mental Health Hotline: 1-888-7 WE HELP/ 1-888-793-4357 or the Mobile Crisis Center at 202/673-9300. A doctor will examine the individual and determine if the person appears mentally ill and dangerous to self and/or others. The doctor will decide whether emergency hospitalization is needed. Under DC law, before a person can be committed and/or forced to accept treatment, the person must be found to be mentally ill and dangerous to self and/or others because of the mental illness.

determine if someone could be considered a danger to self and/or others as a result of the mental illness?
“Danger to self” means that the person is not able to care for him-or herself or is likely to inadvertently place him or herself in a position of danger or are likely to suffer harm. "Danger to others" means that the person is likely to perform some act or acts either intentionally or unintentionally to others and such act or acts may be either violent or nonviolent. Please note that drug addiction and alcoholism do not qualify as a mental illness.

initiate the commitment process for a person with mental illness?
If you desire to initiate the process and you are a parent or guardian, you can file the petition yourself in the Central Intake Center of the DC Superior Court’s Family Court. The person for whom treatment is sought must be examined by a doctor to determine if the person suffers from a mental illness and presents a danger to self and/or others prior to the filing of the petition.

get assistance for a person with an intellectual disability?
You may contact the Department of Disability Services at: 250 E Street SW, Washington DC 20024; (202) 730-1700; or online at: http://dds.dc.gov. Please note that, effective August 3, 2018, there will be no new civil commitments for people with an intellectual disability.

Resources
Contact
Family Court

Presiding Judge: Hon. Carol Dalton
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Peter Krauthamer
Director: Avrom D. Sickel, Esq.
Deputy Director: Toni F. Gore

Moultrie Courthouse
500 Indiana Avenue NW,
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday:
8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Telephone Numbers
(202) 879-1212

 

Branch Chief: Heather M. Greigg
(202) 879-1040

Mental Habilitation Advocate Program:
(202) 879-0201