上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

離婚

申請離婚

如果您或您的配偶在法庭提交離婚文件之日前六個月內,您或您的配偶已經是DC居民,您可以提出離婚申請。 你結婚什麼都沒關係 只有你們中的一個人必須符合DC居民的要求。 離婚案只能要求贍養費和分配婚姻財產。 如果您不在離婚案件中要求他們,您將失去獲得贍養費和分配婚姻財產的機會。

人們可能會在離婚案件中提出請求兒童監護權和子女撫養權。 您還可以在離婚案件的單獨案件中要求兒童監護和/或兒童撫養。 在某些情況下,可以在哥倫比亞特區提交離婚,但是必須在另一個州提交兒童撫養和/或兒童撫養費。 DC有兩個離婚理由

如果分居是相互和自願的(換句話說,如果你和你的配偶同意分開),或沒有同居的分離至少一年,如果你們中的一個不同意分離離婚,那麼所需的分離期是一年。

提取法律分離

法定離職是法庭規定的分居權利,離婚人士的權利和義務,但沒有離婚。 雙方仍然結婚,不能再婚。 配偶可以通常以與離婚相同的方式申請合法分居,並包括對子女撫養,贍養費,子女撫養和財產分配的要求。 對於那些想要避免假定的離婚污名的人,誰強烈的宗教反對離婚或希望挽救婚姻,合法分居是一個明顯的解決辦法。 隨著更多的州允許無故障離婚,使用分離協議和非正式分離,法律分離很少使用。

相互和自願分離

這個理由與上述絕對離婚的理由是一樣的。 但是,在提起合法的分居案件之前,沒有分離所需的最短時間。 連續分離一年這個理由與上述絕對離婚的理由是一樣的。 附加信息您可以通過訪問高級法院的JM 570室的家事法庭自助中心,獲得有關離婚或合法分居的其他信息,並收到幫助填寫必要的法庭文件提交離婚或法律隔離。

E-備案
法院在線系統查看的公共信息反映了民事,刑事,家庭暴力和稅務案件,大型遺產和小型遺產的遺囑案件,免責聲明,重大訴訟,遺囑和外國遺產訴訟的案卷。
E-備案
在線搜索案例
法院在線系統查看的公共信息反映了民事,刑事,家庭暴力和稅務案件,大型遺產和小型遺產的遺囑案件,免責聲明,重大訴訟,遺囑和外國遺產訴訟的案卷。
在線搜索案例
聯絡我們
家庭法院

審判長: 提問。 費拉爾
副主審法官: 提問。 阿爾弗雷德·歐文小

莫爾特法院
500 Indiana Avenue NW,
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

電話號碼

導向器: Avrom D. Sickel,Esq。
(202) 879-1633

副主任: 托尼·戈爾
(202) 879-1633

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Divorce

Filing for Divorce

You can file for divorce in DC if either you or your spouse has been a resident of DC for six months before the date you file the divorce papers with the court. It does not matter where you are married. Only one of you has to meet the DC residency requirement. One can only ask for alimony and distribution of marital property in your divorce case. You will lose your opportunity to obtain alimony and distribution of marital property if you do not ask for them in your divorce case.

One may include requests for child custody and child support in a divorce case. You also can ask for child custody and/or child support in a separate case from the divorce case. In some instances a divorce can be filed in the District of Columbia but child custody and/or child support must be filed in another state. There are two grounds for divorce in DC

Separation without cohabitation for at least six months, if the separation is mutual and voluntary (in other words, if you and your spouse agree to separate), OR Separation without cohabitation for at least one year, if one of you does not agree to the separation and divorce, then the required separation period is one year.

Filing for Legal Separation

Legal Separation is a court-decreed right to live apart, with the rights and obligations of divorced persons, but without divorce. The parties are still married and cannot remarry. A spouse may petition for a legal separation usually on the same basis as for a divorce, and include requests for child custody, alimony, child support and division of property. For people who want to avoid the supposed stigma of divorce, who hold strong religious objections to divorce or who hope to save a marriage, legal separation is an apparent solution. With more states allowing no-fault divorce, the use of separation agreements and informal separation, legal separation is rarely used.

Mutual and Voluntary Separation

This ground is the same as the ground for absolute divorce described above. However,there is no minimum time period required for the separation prior to filing the legal separation case. Continuous Separation for One Year This ground is the same as the ground for absolute divorce described above. Additional information You can obtain additional information concerning divorce or legal separation and receive help completing the necessary court papers to file a divorce or legal separation by visiting the Family Court Self Help Center, Room JM 570 of the Superior Court.

E-filing
The public information viewed on the Court Cases Online system reflects the docket entries in civil, criminal, criminal domestic violence and tax cases, probate cases for large estates and small estates, disclaimers of interest, major litigation, wills and foreign estate proceedings.
Search Cases Online
The public information viewed on the Court Cases Online system reflects the docket entries in civil, criminal, criminal domestic violence and tax cases, probate cases for large estates and small estates, disclaimers of interest, major litigation, wills and foreign estate proceedings.
Contact
Family Court

Presiding Judge: Hon. Gerald I. Fisher
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Alfred S. Irving Jr.

Moultrie Courthouse
500 Indiana Avenue NW,
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Telephone Numbers

Director: Avrom D. Sickel, Esq.
(202) 879-1633

Deputy Director: Toni F. Gore
(202) 879-1633