上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

兒童虐待和忽視律師

一般信息

哥倫比亞特區高等法院家事法庭的一個分支。 CCAN辦公室備有可供預約虐待和忽視案件的合格律師名單。 辦公室還處理在新的和持續的情況下任命律師的命令。 CCAN辦公室向代表兒童,父母和看守者的律師提供初步和持續的培訓,以處理虐待和忽視兒童案件。 辦事處篩選成人當事人,以獲得法院指定的律師的資格,並協助有關虐兒和忽視個案的法律和社會工作問題的律師。

CCAN辦公室的工作人員包括一名分局長,一名律師,一名社會工作者和兩名副書記員。 文書工作人員處理案件分配處理,財務資格和查詢。 分支機構負責人和社會工作者為法院任命的虐待和忽視兒童案件的律師提供培訓和支持。 此外,CCAN辦公室還為律師分發了一份包含法律,培訓和社會工作更新的簡報。

高等法院依照行政命令03-07,採用了規範執業兒童虐待和忽視地區律師執業情況的實務標準。 這些標准在以下文件中:

PDF名稱 下載PDF
CCAN律師執業標準 下載

除了與CCA培訓的法院指定的律師合作,CCAN辦公室還與兒童法律中心合作,該中心與法院達成協議,為一些兒童和看守者提供虐待和忽視兒童的代理權。 兒童法律中心設有律師,擔任訴訟監護人。 該組織還招募和培訓無償律師,代表正在考慮對受忽視的兒童徵收,監護或合法監護的照顧者。 他們的網站可以在那裡找到 www.childrenslawcenter.org

CCAN從業者

法定離職是法庭規定的分居權利,離婚人士的權利和義務,但沒有離婚。 雙方仍然結婚,不能再婚。 配偶可以通常以與離婚相同的方式申請合法分居,並包括對子女撫養,贍養費,子女撫養和財產分配的要求。 對於那些想要避免假定的離婚污名的人,誰強烈的宗教反對離婚或希望挽救婚姻,合法分居是一個明顯的解決辦法。 隨著更多的州允許無故障離婚,使用分離協議和非正式分離,法律分離很少使用。

CCAN和特殊教育律師做什麼?

CCAN律師代表貧窮的父母,並為家庭法庭虐待和忽視兒童案件的兒童作為訴訟監護人。 虐待和忽視虐待和少年犯罪的特殊教育律師代表了這些案件的兒童的教育決策者。

如何成為CCAN,GAL,特殊教育,PINS,少年犯罪,心理健康或精神康復小組有資格獲得法院任命的律師?

目前,家事法庭並不接受有權成為DC家庭法院的CCAN,GAL,特殊教育,PINS,少年犯罪,心理健康或心理適應能力任職的律師的申請。 下一個定期的應用期將在2019中進行。 如果法院決定在2019之前接受任何小組的申請,我們將在本網站上更新此信息。

有沒有關於CCAN律師執業的其他信息?

更多信息,請參閱“虐兒與忽視律師執業標準”,“特殊教育律師事務委員會實務標準”,“忽視訴訟程序中的家具代理計劃”以及CJA和CCAN費用表。

家庭法庭虐待和忽視兒童案件的安排程序是什麼?

請參閱“排除虐待和忽視聽證程序”和“72小時計劃表”。

CCAN律師如何註冊幾天可以接受法院約會?

CCAN / GAL小組律師在網上註冊了幾天,他們將可以接受案件。 在10:10和8:30之間的每個月的5th(或下一個工作日,如果00th是一個週末或假期),在線註冊。 律師在可以訪問的註冊網站上建立受密碼保護的帳戶 這裡。

聯絡我們
家庭法院

審判長: 提問。 卡爾·道爾頓
副主審法官: 提問。 彼得·克拉薩默
導向器: Avrom D. Sickel,Esq。
副主任: 托尼·戈爾

莫爾特法院
500 Indiana Avenue NW,
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30時至5:00時

電話號碼

(202) 879-1212

兒童虐待律師
忽視(CCAN)辦公室

(202) 879-1406

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Counsel for Child Abuse and Neglect

General Information

The Counsel for Child Abuse and Neglect (CCAN) Office is a branch of the Family Court of the District of Columbia Superior Court. The CCAN Office maintains a list of qualified attorneys who are available for appointment in child abuse and neglect cases. The office also processes the orders appointing counsel in both new and ongoing cases. The CCAN Office provides initial and ongoing training to attorneys who represent children, parents, and caretakers in child abuse and neglect cases. The Office screens adult parties for financial eligibility for court appointed attorneys and assists attorneys who have legal and social work questions regarding child abuse and neglect cases.

The CCAN Office staff consists of a Branch Chief, who is an attorney, a social worker, and two deputy clerks. The clerical staff handles case assignment processing, financial eligibility, and inquiries. The Branch Chief and social worker provide training and support to court appointed attorneys in child abuse and neglect cases. In addition, the CCAN Office distributes a newsletter with legal, training, and social work updates for attorneys.

The Superior Court has adopted Practice Standards which regulate the performance of attorneys practicing in the child abuse and neglect area pursuant to Administrative Order 03-07. Those standards are in the following document:

CCAN Attorney Practice Standards Download

In addition to working with the CCAN trained court appointed attorneys, the CCAN Office also works with the Children’s Law Center which has an agreement with the court to provide representation for some children and caretakers in child abuse and neglect cases. Children's Law Center has staff attorneys who act as guardians ad litem. This organization also recruits and trains pro bono attorneys to represent caretakers who are considering seeking adoption, guardianship, or legal custody of a neglected child. Their website can be found at www.childrenslawcenter.org

CCAN Practitioner

Legal Separation is a court-decreed right to live apart, with the rights and obligations of divorced persons, but without divorce. The parties are still married and cannot remarry. A spouse may petition for a legal separation usually on the same basis as for a divorce, and include requests for child custody, alimony, child support and division of property. For people who want to avoid the supposed stigma of divorce, who hold strong religious objections to divorce or who hope to save a marriage, legal separation is an apparent solution. With more states allowing no-fault divorce, the use of separation agreements and informal separation, legal separation is rarely used.

What do CCAN and Special Education attorneys do?

CCAN attorneys represent indigent parents and act as guardians ad litem for children who are the subject of child abuse and neglect cases in Family Court. Special education attorneys appointed in child abuse and neglect and juvenile delinquency cases represent the education decision makers of the children who are the subjects of these cases.

How do I become a CCAN, GAL, Special Education, PINS, Juvenile Delinquency, Mental Health or Mental Habilitation Panel attorneys eligible for court appointments?

At this time the Family Court is not accepting applications from attorneys interested in becoming eligible for CCAN, GAL, Special Education, PINS, Juvenile Delinquency, Mental Health, or Mental Habilitation appointments in D.C. Family Court. The next regularly scheduled application period will take place in 2019. If the court decides to accept applications for any of the panels before 2019 we will update this information on this website.

Is there any additional information I can read about CCAN attorney practice?

Additional information can be found in the Child Abuse and Neglect Attorney Practice Standards, the Special Education Attorney Panel Practice Standards, the Plan for Furnishing Representation in Neglect Proceedings, and the CJA and CCAN Fee Schedule.

What are the scheduling procedures for Family Court child abuse and neglect cases?

Please see the Procedures for the Scheduling of Child Abuse and Neglect Hearings and the 72 Hour Scheduling Chart.

How do CCAN attorneys sign up for days they will be available to accept court appointments?

CCAN/GAL Panel attorneys sign up online for days they will be available to accept cases. The online signup takes place on the 10th of each month (or next business day if the 10th is a weekend or holiday) between 8:30 and 5:00. Attorneys establish a password protected account on the signup website which can be accessed here.

Contact
Family Court

Presiding Judge: Hon. Carol Dalton
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Peter Krauthamer
Director: Avrom D. Sickel, Esq.
Deputy Director: Toni F. Gore

Moultrie Courthouse
500 Indiana Avenue NW,
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday:
8:30 am to 5:00 pm

Telephone Numbers

(202) 879-1212

Counsel for Child Abuse and
Neglect (CCAN) Office

(202) 879-1406