上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

如果你沒有律師

向DC上訴法院(DCCA)提出上訴是您案件的新舉措。 DCCA審查初審法院或機構決定審判法院或代理機構是否犯了錯誤。 一般來說,DCCA關注的是審判法官或代理機構是否正確適用了法律。 DCCA通常接受初審法院或機構對事實的判斷和對誰相信的判斷。 DCCA不接受在審判或機構程序中未記錄的證據或文件。

上訴有三個基本階段:

在這些步驟中,您必須遵循 特區上訴法院規則.

由於上訴的特殊性,對於尋求上訴審查的個人來說,由律師代表特別有用。

點擊這裡 詳細了解您可以提出上訴的案件類型以及如何提出上訴。

誰可能有資格獲得法院指定的律師資格

在某些情況下,當事人有資格獲得法院指定的律師資格:
  • 在刑事案件中:
    • 如果被告:(1)先前被確定為有資格在高等法院擔任法院指定的律師,(2)沒有由保留律師代理,並且(3)正在對重罪提起上訴,則被告將自動被任命為上訴律師。輕罪定罪,在審判前拘留被告的命令,緩刑或假釋的撤銷或引渡命令。
    • 如果被告未在高等法院完成收入資格審查並尋求對上述(3)所述的任何事項提出上訴,則被告可以完成動議,要求以形式上的貧困來請求任命律師。 此外,法院可以決定在其他刑事案件中為收入合格的被告指定律師,例如拒絕重新判決的動議或來自抵押品攻擊的上訴(DCCode§11-2601)。
  • 在某些家庭案件中:
    • 被發現拖欠或需要監督的少年將被法院自動指定為上訴律師。
    • 在忽視或終止父母權利案件時被任命為高等法院法律顧問的一方(兒童,父母,監護人或監護人)將自動被任命為上訴律師。 如果該當事人未被任命為高級法院的法律顧問,該當事人可以完成一項動議,要求在形式上擔保請求任命上訴律師(DCCode§16-2304)。

尋找法律代表

如果您沒有資格獲得法院指定的律師,請參閱以下資源以尋求法律代表。

在線資源:Columbia District Bar在其網站上提供了有用的信息,包括如何找到律師,律師如何向其服務收費以及法律服務組織,這些組織可以免費或僅收取最低費用提供代理。 點擊這裡 有關與律師合作的更多信息。

電話資源:DC Bar Pro Bono中心有一個法律信息幫助熱線,每週X天,每週7天,每天24小時提供服務,其中記錄了有關30法律主題的消息,並包括其他有關尋找律師的可用信息來源。 法律信息幫助熱線的電話號碼是 202-626 3499。

可能提供法律幫助的組織

LawHelp.org/DC是DC Bar Pro Bono Center的公共服務,提供有關哥倫比亞特區法律資源的信息。 有關上訴資源的信息, 點擊這裡..

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A LAWYER

An appeal to the DC Court of Appeals (DCCA) is a new step in your case. The DCCA reviews what the trial court or agency decided to determine whether the trial court or agency made a mistake. Generally, the DCCA focuses on whether the trial judge or agency correctly applied the law. The DCCA usually accepts the trial court’s or agency’s findings of fact and determinations about who to believe. The DCCA does not accept evidence or documents that were not put into the record at the trial or agency proceedings.

An Appeal has three basic stages:

During these steps, you must follow the DC Court of Appeals Rules.

Because of the special nature of an appeal, it is particularly helpful for individuals seeking appellate review to be represented by a lawyer.

Click here to learn more about the types of cases you can appeal and how to start an appeal.

 

Who may qualify for court-appointed counsel

Parties in certain cases qualify for court- appointed counsel:
  • In criminal cases:
    • A defendant will automatically be appointed counsel on appeal if the defendant: (1) was previously determined to be eligible for court-appointed counsel in Superior Court, (2) is not represented by retained counsel, and (3) is appealing a felony and misdemeanor conviction, an order detaining a defendant prior to trial, the revocation of probation or parole, or an order of extradition.
    • If a defendant did not complete income eligibility screening in Superior Court and seeks to appeal any of the matters described in (3) above, the defendant may complete a motion to proceed in forma pauperis to request the appointment of counsel. In addition, the court may decide to appoint counsel to income eligible defendants in other criminal matters, such as a denial of a motion to re-sentence or an appeal from a collateral attack (DC Code §11-2601).
  • In certain family cases:
    • A juvenile who has been found delinquent or in need of supervision will be automatically appointed counsel on appeal by the court.
    • A party (a child, parent, guardian, or custodian) who was appointed counsel in Superior Court in a neglect or termination of parental rights case will be automatically appointed counsel on appeal. If the party was not appointed counsel in Superior Court, the party may complete a motion to proceed in forma pauperis to request appointment of counsel on appeal (DC Code §16-2304).

Finding legal representation

If you are not eligible for court-appointed counsel, see resources below for finding legal representation.

Online resources: The District of Columbia Bar has helpful information on its website about how to find a lawyer, how lawyers might charge for their services, and legal services organizations that may provide representation for free or only a minimal fee. Click here for more information about working with a lawyer. 

Telephone resources: The DC Bar Pro Bono Center has a Legal Information Help Line, available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, which features recorded messages on 30 legal topics and includes references to other available sources of information on finding a lawyer. The telephone number for the Legal Information Help Line is 202-626-3499.

Organizations that may provide legal help

LawHelp.org/DC, a public service of the DC Bar Pro Bono Center, provides information on legal resources in the District of Columbia. For information on appeals resources, click here.