上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

常見問題(FAQ)

任何人都可以審查心理適應症病例法庭檔案?

心理適應症病例是保密的。 所有聽證會都向公眾開放。 只有有關各方才能看到案件檔案。

如果我已經承諾,任何人都可以檢查我的心理健康狀況?

是。 心理健康案件不保密,對公眾開放審查。 任何人都可以要求查看記錄中的任何案例文件。

如何為智力殘疾的家庭成員提供協助?

精神病康復案件是由智慧殘疾人士的承諾書提出並由智力殘疾人的家長或監護人或人類服務部的代表支持“請願人的誓章”。

我如何為智障人士提供幫助?

您可以聯繫位於華盛頓特區250的20024 E Street SW的殘疾服務部(DDS)。 可以通過(202)730-1700或在線獲取DDS http://dds.dc.gov.

我應該如何開始為需要心理健康支持的人提供幫助?

如果一個親人或者你所生活的人需要幫助一個精神健康問題,那麼這個人可能會被帶到社區心理健康中心。 醫生會檢查個體,並確定該人是否對自我和/或其他人顯示為精神病和危險。 醫生會決定是否需要緊急住院治療。

哥倫比亞特區是否有社區精神保健中心?


您可以聯絡心理健康部門的入院中心,網址為:
DC心理健康服務部35 K街NE華盛頓特區20001 202-442-4202
您也可致電哥倫比亞特區24小時心理健康熱線:1-888-7WE幫助或1-888-793-4357
心理健康部門在精神保健機構被釋放後,可以幫助個人繼續得到支持。

如果我無法讓精神病人去醫生接受檢查或治療,是否有其他選擇?

如果您沒有成功將精神病患者送到醫生進行檢查和治療,而您是該人的父母,配偶或法定監護人,則可以向中央進場中心(Moultrie Courthouse,房間)提交請願書DC高級法院的家庭法院,540 Indiana Ave.,NW 500,(20001)202-879的JM-1212)。

是否有其他地方可以為需要心理健康支持的人提供額外幫助?

“一個人從精神衛生機構獲得釋放後,個人可能需要持續的支持,請聯繫您當地的社區心理健康中心了解更多信息。

如果社區精神健康中心的醫生確定該人可能患有精神疾病會怎樣?

如果醫生認定該人患有精神病,需要住院治療,該人可能被送往聖伊麗莎白病院。 在聖伊麗莎白醫院,精神科醫生會檢查他們,並檢討社區心理健康中心的住院要求。 如果聖伊麗莎白醫院的醫生認定該人患有精神疾病症狀,並可能會傷害自己和/或其他人,該人將被非自願住院治療一段時間。

如果需要心理健康支持的人同意尋求幫助怎麼辦?


個人可以自願將自己接納到精神衛生機構進行治療。 要入住私人醫院,該人必須有保險或有能力支付證據。 哥倫比亞特區的公眾(即無成本)心理健康醫院是:
聖伊麗莎白醫院1100阿拉巴馬大學,SE華盛頓特區20032 202-562-4000
個人必須由醫生進行評估,醫生將決定是否該人被入院。 設置評估呼叫約會(202)673-9319。

對於需要心理健康支持的人,在緊急情況下該怎麼辦?

如果發生緊急情況,精神病患者拒絕前往社區心理健康中心,您可以撥打202-673-9319的綜合精神病急診計劃(CPEP),該計劃每天開放24小時。 CPEP位於華盛頓州SEWashington的1905 E St.南社區精神衛生中心。

什麼時候可以得到一名似乎患有精神病的家庭成員的幫助?

根據直屬法律,在一個人能夠承擔和/或被迫接受治療之前,由於精神疾病,該人必須被發現是對自我和/或其他人的精神病和危險的。

什麼時候由於精神病而被認為對自身和/或其他人構成危險?

“自我危險”是指如果該人無法照顧自己,或有可能無意中將自己置於危險之中,或有可能遭受傷害。 “對他人的危險”是指如果該人可能有意或無意地對他人執行某些行為或行為,並且此類行為或行為可能是暴力或非暴力行為。 請注意,吸毒成癮和酒精中毒不符合精神疾病的資格。

這些社區精神保健中心位於哪裡?

“有一些中心,辦公時間因中心而異,請務必在到達中心之前打電話:東北社區心理健康中心35 K街NE華盛頓特區20001 202-442-4215西北社區心理健康中心1125 Spring Road NW華盛頓特區20010 202-576-6512多文化中心1250 U Street,NW華盛頓特區20009 202-673-2058“

我去哪裡提交請願書?

家庭法院的中央入口中心位於哥倫比亞特區法院大樓約翰馬歇爾級別的東翼,500 Indiana Avenue NW,JM-520室,華盛頓特區20001。 小時為8:30上午至5 pm電話:202-879-1212。 申請申請只能提交給需要心理健康支持的人。 從8月3,2018開始,對智障人士不會有新的民事承諾。

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Can anyone review a mental habilitation case court file?

No. Mental habilitation cases are confidential. All hearings are closed to the public. Only the parties involved may see the case file.

Can anyone review my mental health case if I have been committed?

Yes. Mental health cases are not confidential and are open to the public for review. Anyone can request to see any case files on record.

How do I get assistance for a family member who is intellectually disabled?

Mental Habilitation cases are initiated with the filing of a "Petition for Commitment of an Intellectually Disabled Person" and supporting "Affidavit of Petitioner" by a parent or guardian of the intellectually disabled person or by a representative of the Department of Human Services.

How do I get assistance for a person with an intellectual disability?

You can contact the Department of Disability Services (DDS), which is located 250 E Street SW, Washington, DC 20024. The DDS can be reached at (202) 730-1700 or online at http://dds.dc.gov.

How should I begin the process of getting help for a person needing mental health support?

If a loved one or someone you live with needs help for a mental health problem, the person may go or be taken to a community mental health center. A doctor will examine the individual and determine if the person appears mentally ill and dangerous to self and/or others. The doctor will decide whether emergency hospitalization is needed.

Is there a community mental health center located in the District of Columbia?


You can contact the DC Department of Mental Health’s intake center at:
DC Department of Mental Health Mental Health Services Division 35 K Street NE Washington, DC 20001 202-442-4202
You may also call the District of Columbia’s 24-hour Mental Health Hotline: 1-888-7WE HELP or 1-888-793-4357
The Department of Mental Health may be able to help an individual with continuing support after they have been released from a mental health facility.

Is there an alternative if I have been unable to get the mentally ill person to a doctor for an examination or treatment?

If you have been unsuccessful in getting a mentally ill person to a doctor for examination and treatment and you are a parent, spouse, or legal guardian of that person, you may file a petition to commit in the Central Intake Center (Moultrie Courthouse, room JM-540) of the DC Superior Court’s Family Court, 500 Indiana Ave., NW 20001, (202) 879-1212.

Is there some other place to receive additional assistance for a person needing mental health support?

"After a person has been released from a mental health facility, the individual may need continuing support. Contact your local community mental health center for more information.

What happens if the doctor at the community mental health center determines the person may have a mental illness?

If the doctor determines that the person is mentally ill and needs be hospitalized, the person may be transported to St. Elizabeths Hospital. At St. Elizabeths Hospital, a psychiatrist will examine them and review the community mental health center's request for hospitalization. If the doctor at St. Elizabeths Hospital determines that the person has symptoms of a mental illness and is likely to injure himself or herself and/or others, the individual will be involuntarily hospitalized for a period set by the DC Law.

What if the person needing mental health support agrees to seek help?


An individual may voluntarily admit him- or herself to a mental health facility for treatment. To be admitted to a private hospital, the person must have insurance or evidence of ability to pay. The public (i.e., no cost) mental health hospital in the District of Columbia is:
St. Elizabeths Hospital 1100 Alabama Ave., SE Washington, DC 20032 202-562-4000
An individual must be evaluated by a doctor who will determine if the person should be admitted. To set up an appointment for evaluation call (202) 673-9319.

What should I do in an emergency situation regarding a person needing mental health support?

In the event there is an immediate emergency, and the mentally ill person is refusing to go to a community mental health center, you can call the Comprehensive Psychiatric Emergency Program (CPEP) at 202-673-9319, which is open 24 hours a day. CPEP is located at the South Community Mental Health Center, 1905 E St., SEWashington, DC.

When can I get assistance for a family member who appears to be mentally ill?

Under DC law, before a person can be committed and/or forced to accept treatment, the person must be found to be mentally ill and dangerous to self and/or others because of the mental illness.

When is a person considered a danger to self and/or others as a result of the mental illness?

"Danger to self" means if that person is not able to care for him- or herself or is likely to inadvertently place him- or herself in a position of danger or is likely to suffer harm. "Danger to others" means if the person is likely to perform some act or acts either intentionally or unintentionally to others and such act or acts may be either violent or nonviolent. Please note that drug addiction and alcoholism do not qualify as a mental illness.

Where are these community mental health centers located?

"There are a number of centers. The office hours vary from center to center. Be sure to telephone before going to the center: Northeast Community Mental Health Center 35 K Street NE Washington, DC 20001 202-442-4215 Northwest Community Mental Health Center 1125 Spring Road NW Washington, DC 20010 202-576-6512 Multi-Cultural Center 1250 U Street, NW Washington, DC 20009 202-673-2058"

Where do I go to file a petition to commit?

The Central Intake Center of the Family Court is located on the East Wing of the John Marshall level of the District of Columbia Courthouse, 500 Indiana Avenue NW, Room JM-520, Washington, DC 20001. Hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Phone: 202-879-1212. Petitions to Commit can only be filed for a person needing mental health supports. Effective August 3, 2018, there will be no new civil commitments for people with an intellectual disability.