上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

信託(TRP)

一般信息

以最簡單的形式,當財產由一個人或實體持有以造福另一個人或其他人時,就會產生信任。 遺囑認證部門提交了各種與信託有關的行為。 最常見的是委任繼任人,替代人或額外的受託人,請求建立補充(或特殊)需求信託的請願書,以及修改,改革或終止信託的投訴。 信託訴訟很複雜。 如果需要開立信託程序,建議您徵求律師的意見。

提交請願書

任何繼任人,替代人或額外的受託人的請願書,當信託文書的條款沒有提供這種任命的機制,並且託管人的空缺已經發生(可能是由於受託人的死亡或因為受託人需要辭職)或需要額外的受託人。 高等法院,遺傳司司法規則202(c) 管理這種請願書和州,應通知各方和所有受影響的人。 這些被定義為服務的受託人,當前的收入受益人,以及所有收入受益人在提出申請之日之後都將收到信託資產的任何當時生活的殘疾人。 當提出這種請願書時,書面同意通常會附加在加速處理時間上。 由於這些請願僅用於一個目的/交易/事件,這些情況在作出關於請願的決定之後關閉,除非法院要求或命令,因為情況,

修改,改革,解釋或終止信託或要求移交受託人需要根據 高等法院,遺傳司司法規則208。 在新的“大訴訟”(LIT)案件類型中,投訴已經被提出,但是如果尚不存在基礎的信託訴訟,並且這兩個訴訟程序將在案件跟踪系統中相關聯。

申請為個人建立補充(或特殊)需要的信託被提交獲得法院批准的信託,這些信託將保留65年齡以下的有資格獲得經過經濟狀況考核的政府福利(如醫療補助)的資產。 作為信託受益人的人必須按照聯邦法律(42 USC。1396P(d)(4))的規定禁用,信託必須是不可撤銷的。 提交此類請願書時,應附上建議的信託的副本和建立信託的訂單。 這些請願書通常是為了聽證而設。

申請為個人建立補充(或特殊)需要的信託被提交獲得法院批准的信託,這些信託將保留65年齡以下的有資格獲得經過經濟狀況考核的政府福利(如醫療補助)的資產。 作為信託受益人的人必須按照聯邦法律(42 USC。1396P(d)(4))的規定禁用,信託必須是不可撤銷的。 提交此類請願書時,應附上建議的信託的副本和建立信託的訂單。 這些請願書通常是為了聽證而設。

回顧

法院審查信託批准,並考慮是否應添加以下任何不包括的規定:

(1)當信託受益人死亡時,可以回報醫療補助金收到的價值的條款,
(2)受託人的債券,
(3)監督法院的信託,包括遵守所規定的投資標準 高等法院,遺傳司司法規則5 並提交庫存和年度賬目,
(4)提交非居民委託書(如果受託人不是DC居民),
(5)哥倫比亞特區年度會計服務,
(6)在哥倫比亞特區終止信託通知的服務和/或
(7)根據規定 高等法院,遺傳司司法規則308 管理受託人的賠償。

如果建立特殊或補充需求信託的請願書在由法院批准的干預程序中提交,則由遺傳部門開立單獨的信託程序,兩個訴訟程序在案件跟踪系統中相關聯。 還可以提出申請,將資金轉入集體的特殊需求信託,與個人信託的要求不同。
信託程序由DC Code(秒)決定。 19-1301.01等 哥倫比亞特區的代碼可能在 請點擊這裡,。 高等法院,遺產司規則201至213和民事規則304也適用。 可能會發現遺囑分類規則 請點擊這裡,.

資源
聯絡我們
遺傳司

審判長: 老公埃里克·克里斯蒂安(Erik Christian)
副主審法官: 提問。 勞拉·科德羅
遺囑登記冊: 妮可·史蒂文生
副遺囑登記冊: 

法院大樓A
515 Fifth Street,NW,三樓
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

電話號碼

202-879-9460

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Trusts (TRP)

General Information

In its simplest form, a trust is created when property is held by one person or entity for the benefit of another or others. A variety of trust-related actions are filed in the Probate Division. The most common are petitions for appointment of a successor, substitute, or additional Trustee, petitions to establish a supplemental (or special) needs trust, and complaints to modify, reform, or terminate a trust. Trust proceedings are complicated. It is recommended that you seek advice of counsel if a trust proceeding needs to be opened.

Filing a Petition

Petitions for appointment of a successor, substitute, or additional Trustee are filed when the terms of the trust instrument do not provide a mechanism for such an appointment and either a vacancy in the trusteeship has occurred (perhaps because of death of the Trustee or because a Trustee needs to resign) or an additional Trustee is desired. Superior Court, Probate Division Rule 202(c) governs such petitions and states that notice shall be given to parties and all affected persons. These are defined to be the serving Trustee(s), the present income beneficiaries, and any then-living remaindermen who would receive trust assets if all income beneficiaries died on the date of the filing of the petition. When such petitions are filed, written consents are often attached to speed processing time. Because these petitions are for one purpose/transaction/event only, these cases close after a decision is made regarding the petition unless supervision is requested or ordered by the Court because of the circumstances,

Modifying, reforming, construing, or terminating a trust or asking for the removal of a Trustee requires the filing of a complaint in accordance with Superior Court, Probate Division Rule 208. Complaints are docketed in the new Major Litigation (LIT) case type, but an underlying trust proceeding will be opened if one does not already exist and the two proceedings will be linked in the case tracking system.

Petitions to establish supplemental (or special) needs trusts for an individual are filed to obtain Court approval of trusts that will preserve assets for persons under the age of 65 who are entitled to receive means-tested government benefits, such as Medicaid. The person who will be the trust beneficiary must be disabled as defined by federal law (42 USC. 1396p(d)(4)), and the trust must be irrevocable. When such petitions are filed, a copy of the proposed trust and an order establishing trust should be attached. These petitions are usually set for a hearing.

Petitions to establish supplemental (or special) needs trusts for an individual are filed to obtain Court approval of trusts that will preserve assets for persons under the age of 65 who are entitled to receive means-tested government benefits, such as Medicaid. The person who will be the trust beneficiary must be disabled as defined by federal law (42 USC. 1396p(d)(4)), and the trust must be irrevocable. When such petitions are filed, a copy of the proposed trust and an order establishing trust should be attached. These petitions are usually set for a hearing.

Review

The Court reviews the trust for approval and considers whether any of the following provisions that are not included should be added:

(1) A provision that pays back the value of benefits received from Medicaid when the trust beneficiary dies,
(2) A bond for the Trustee,
(3) Supervision of the trust by the Court, including compliance with investment standards set forth in Superior Court, Probate Division Rule 5 and the filing of an inventory and annual accounts,
(4) The filing of a non-resident power of attorney (if the Trustee is not a DC resident),
(5) Service of annual accounts on the District of Columbia,
(6) Service of a notice of termination of the trust on the District of Columbia, and/or
(7) A provision in accordance with Superior Court, Probate Division Rule 308 governing compensation for the Trustee.

If a petition to establish a special or supplemental needs trust is filed in an intervention proceeding and granted by the Court, a separate trust proceeding is opened by the Probate Division, and the two proceedings are linked in the case tracking system. Petitions can also be filed to transfer funds into a pooled special needs trust, which has different requirements from those of an individual trust.
Trust proceedings are governed by DC Code, secs. 19-1301.01 et seq. The District of Columbia Code may be found at here. Superior Court, Probate Division Rules 201 through 213 and Civil Rule 304 also apply. The Probate Division Rules may be found here.

Contact
Probate Division

Presiding Judge: Hon. Gerald I. Fisher
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Alfred S. Irving Jr.
Register of Wills: Anne Meister
Deputy Register of Wills: Nicole Stevens

Court Building A
515 Fifth Street, NW, Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Mondays-Friday:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Telephone Numbers

202-879-9460