上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

未成年人監護權(GDN)

我如何為未成年人的遺產設立監護權?

未成年人監護權(GDN)對於生活在哥倫比亞特區的18年齡的兒童開放,並有資格獲得資產

一般信息

為未成年人財產設立監護權的訴訟程序是通過向遺囑登記機構辦公室提交一攬子五份文件開始的:(1)請願書作為未成年人遺產的監護人(2 )(3)同意未成年人的父母(如果他們不同時簽署請願書),(4)提出的命令,並且(5)同意未成年人簽署的監護人,如果未成年人年齡14或更大。 準備提交文件時,請願人(通常是要求被任命為監護人的人),未成年人和記錄的律師(如果有的話)必須出現在助理副遺囑登記處進行簡短採訪。

監護訴訟由哥倫比亞特區21版的2001標題第一章管轄。 高等法院遺傳司司法規則108,221-223和225也適用於監護權。 可能會找到哥倫比亞特區的代碼 請點擊這裡,。 這裡可以找到遺傳分類規則。

請注意,遺囑登記冊及其任何工作人員均不得就任何監護程序提供法律意見。 如果有必要準備或填寫提交監護信的請願書或提交給遺囑認證處的任何其他書狀或文件,請諮詢律師。

資源
聯絡我們
遺傳司

審判長: 老公埃里克·克里斯蒂安(Erik Christian)
副主審法官: 提問。 勞拉·科德羅
遺囑登記冊: 妮可·史蒂文生
副遺囑登記冊: 

法院大樓A
515 Fifth Street,NW,三樓
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

電話號碼

202-879-9460

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Guardianship of Minors Estates (GDN)

How do I establish a guardianship for a minor’s estate?

Guardianship of Minor’s Estates (GDN) are opened for children under the age of 18 who live in the District of Columbia and who are entitled to receive assets

General Information

A proceeding to establish a guardianship for the assets of a minor is begun by the filing of a package of five documents with the Office of the Register of Wills: (1) a petition for appointment as guardian of the estate of the minor, (2) a bond, (3) consents from the minor’s parents (if they do not both sign the petition for appointment), (4) a proposed order, and (5) a consent to the appointment of the guardian signed by the minor if the minor is age 14 or older. When the documents are ready to be filed, the petitioner (ordinarily, the person asking to be appointed as guardian), the minor, and counsel of record, if any, must appear before an Assistant Deputy Register of Wills for a brief interview.

Guardianship proceedings are governed by Chapter I of Title 21 of the 2001 edition of the District of Columbia Code. Superior Court Probate Division Rules 108, 221-223, and 225 also apply to guardianships. The District of Columbia Code may be found here. The Probate Division Rules may be found here.

Please be advised that neither the Register of Wills nor any member of her staff is permitted to give legal advice with respect to any guardianship proceeding. Should help be needed to prepare or complete petitions for letters of guardianship or any other pleadings or papers to be filed in the Probate Division, consult an attorney.

Contact
Probate Division

Presiding Judge: Hon. Gerald I. Fisher
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Alfred S. Irving Jr.
Register of Wills: Anne Meister
Deputy Register of Wills: Nicole Stevens

Court Building A
515 Fifth Street, NW, Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Mondays-Friday:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Telephone Numbers

202-879-9460