上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

外國或州外病例醫療記錄傳票

在外國或州外案件中的醫療記錄傳票將在Chambers-in-Chambers(JIC)中進行審查。 哥倫比亞特區法律禁止法官在某些法定例外情況下發布醫療記錄傳票,但未發現醫療記錄的主題已經同意或放棄同意其發布(DCCode§14-307)。 不能根據外國司法管轄區的訴訟性質來承認同意或放棄同意。

醫療記錄的傳票將持續大約十四(14)天,以允許另一方提出異議。 申請人應表明醫療記錄的主題已被通知未決的傳票申請。 在此之後,JIC法官將審查所有提交的文件,並就傳票的發布做出決定。 在確定生產或沉積日期時,應考慮此時間範圍。

如果符合法定例外情況之一,法官可以發出傳票,及時通知DC的傳票待決申請的醫療記錄,並且沒有收到異議,或者提交的文件清楚地表明醫療記錄是案件中的重要證據,並且醫療記錄的主題同意在適當的時候發布(即最近和相關的HIPAA發布表格)。

如果提出異議,將在JIC中設置顯示原因聽證。

為加快處理速度,提交材料應明確指出:

  • 如果受試者要求自己的醫療記錄;
  • 請求方的當前聯繫信息,包括電話號碼和電子郵件地址;
  • 醫療記錄的主題已被通知未決的傳票申請;
  • 如果已獲得醫療記錄主題的同意。 如果獲得同意 申請提交,可以按照規則提交praecipe並發送禮貌副本 JICOffice [在] dcsc.gov.

根據民事規則45(a)(1)(A)(iii),傳票的生產地點 必須在DC 除非雙方同意另一個地點。 如果傳票上註明的生產地不在DC,並且沒有跡象表明當事人已經同意另一個地點,則傳票可能會被拒絕。

除非在提交申請時向JIC提交預付費預先處理的信封,否則不會退回原始隨附文件。 如果JIC文員在提交申請時知道此請求,則在傳票被拒絕或被拒絕後,可以提取原始隨附文件。

聯絡我們
法官法庭辦公室

莫爾特法院
500 Indiana Avenue,NW
房間4103
四樓

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

 

例外
所有政府假期

辦公室號碼

(202)879 - 1450

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Subpoenas for Medical Records in Foreign or Out-of-State Cases

Subpoenas for Medical Records, in foreign or out-of-state cases, are reviewed in Judge-in-Chambers (JIC). District of Columbia law prohibits judges from issuing a subpoena for medical records, outside of certain statutory exceptions, without a finding that the subject of the medical records has consented or waived consent to its release (DC Code § 14-307). Consent or waiver of consent cannot be assumed from the nature of the suit in the foreign jurisdiction.

Subpoenas for Medical Records will be held for approximately fourteen (14) days to allow the other party to file opposition. Applicants should indicate that the subject of the medical records has been notified of the pending subpoena application. After that time, the JIC judge will review all submitted documentation and make a determination regarding the issuance of the subpoena. Consideration of this timeframe should be given when setting dates of production or deposition.

The judge may issue a subpoena if one of the statutory exceptions is met, timely notice to the subject of the medical records of the pending application for subpoena in DC is clear and no objection has been received, or the documents submitted clearly show that the medical records are material evidence in the case and that the subject of the medical records consents for them to be released in due course (i.e. recent and relevant HIPAA release forms).

If an objection is filed, a Show Cause Hearing will be set in JIC.

To expedite processing, submissions should clearly indicate:

  • If the subject is requesting their own medical records;
  • Current contact information for the requesting party including phone number and email addresses;
  • That the subject of the medical records has been notified of the pending subpoena application;
  • If consent from the subject of the medical records has been obtained. If consent is obtained after the application is filed, a praecipe may be filed in accordance with the rules and a courtesy copy sent to JICOffice [at] dcsc.gov.

Per Civil Rule 45(a)(1)(A)(iii), the place of production for subpoenas must be in DC unless both parties agree to another location. If the place of production noted on the subpoena form is not in DC, and there is no indication that the parties have agreed to an alternative location, the subpoena may be denied.

Original accompanying documents will not be returned unless a pre-paid, pre-addressed envelope is submitted to JIC at the time of filing. Original accompanying documents may be picked up after a subpoena has been granted or denied if the JIC clerks are aware of this request at the time of filing.

Contact
Judge-in-Chambers Office

Moultrie Courthouse
500 Indiana Avenue, NW
Room 4103
Fourth floor

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Mondays-Fridays:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

 

Exceptions
All government holidays

Office Number

(202) 879 - 1450