上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

干預程序(INT / IDD)

如何對無行為能力的成年人負責?

對於生活在哥倫比亞特區的成年人18或更年長的干預程序開放,無行為能力,需要醫療保健,生活質量或安置決定或財務或其他資產的處理方面的協助。

一般信息
向哥倫比亞特區高等法院的遺傳分部提出訴訟,要求任命一名無行為能力的人的監護人或保護人或與無行為能力的人有關的保護令。

預約前的程序
請願人承擔責任,證明根據明確而令人信服的證據,哥倫比亞特區法律界定的請願主體無行為能力。 “無行為能力”的人在DC Code,sec。 作為成年人21-2011(11),18或更年長的年齡,“其接收和評估信息或溝通決策的能力受到損害,使得他或她缺乏管理他或她的全部或部分內容的能力財政資源或滿足他或她的身體健康,安全,適應訓練或治療需求的所有或一些基本要求,無需法院協助或任命監護人或保管人。 請願人可以通過在提交請願書後安排的聽證會上向醫院附上醫療證據或向法院提供醫療證據或證詞來證明喪失工作能力。 除非法院認定這個問題是無行為能力的,否則不得委任監護人或監護人,因此,呈請人應提供盡可能多的喪失工作能力的證據。

當提出一般訴訟請求時,遺囑認證處的法律部門將對其進行審查,以確保提交所有必要的文件,並提交文件符合最低法律規定。 當申請被接受申請時,約一個月後的聆訊日期。 然後,請願書轉交給法官 任命律師為該主題 如果請願人要求, 任命考官,訴訟監護人和/或訪客.

律師以及任命的任何審查員,訪問者或訴訟監護人通常會盡快訪問該議題,以準備聽證會。 受理人必須在聽證會前至少14天親自送達請願人以外的其他成年人的初次聆訊和呈請通知。 必須在聆訊前幾天向法院提交至少5的服務誓章。

請願人必須在呈請人出庭的情況下出示呈請人提出的任何證人,並提出題為“事實證明,法律和秩序結論”的表格。 該主題的律師將出現,通常與主題。 如果任命一名訪問員,審查員或訴訟監護人,該人也必須出席聽證會。 法庭會聽取所提供的證據,並通常會在聆訊中決定是否委任監護人或保管人,該人將是誰,是否需要債券,如果是,則為債券的數額。 法院可以限製或限制被指定的人的權力。 例如,病房的出售往往受到限制,以便保管人不得沒有授權銷售的法院命令就可以出售。

需要開展干預案件的項目
開展干預措施所需的形式包括:

一般訴訟申請
訂購委任律師,考官,訪客和/或監護人廣告Litem
初步聽證通知書
初步聆訊通知書
個人識別信息(表格26)
財務帳戶信息(27表)


如果要求保管人或保護令,有“45.00”的申請費應付給“遺囑登記冊”。

緊急訴訟和特別救濟
在危及生命的情況或涉及緊急醫療護理的情況下,請願人可以要求任命一名緊急監護人,他們可以服務於21天,或任命一名臨時保健監護人,他們可以在90天服務。 給予緊急救濟的標準較高,受試者的喪失工作能力應由兩名專業人員進行認證,其中一名專業人員必須在認證前的1日檢查該科目。 看到 DC代碼,秒 21-2204。 要求任命緊急監護人或臨時保健監護人的形式是a 臨時衛士任用請願書.

在涉及經濟虐待的情況下,如果提出委任監護人或保管人的請願書,請願人可以在初次聽證會前要求臨時救濟。 由於臨時救濟的標準較高,所以這些請求應附有支持財權濫用指控的細節。 如果要求臨時救濟,必須附上臨時救濟請求書。
 

預約後的程序
預約後,保管人員必須在60天內提交庫存和保護性計劃,並在任用周年日期的30天內提交年度帳戶。 監護人必須在任命的90天內提交監護計劃,並從任命週年日起每六個月提交監護人報告。 如果監護人或保管人需要更多的時間來提交他或她應該提交的內容,可以提出動議請求更多的時間。

監護人的權力列在DC Code,sec。 21-2047,也列出了監護人沒有的一些權力。 保管人的權力列在DC Code,sec。 21-2070。 如果監護人或監護人需要做一些他或她沒有權力的事情,可以提出請願書委任,要求法院許可或指示。

資源庫
聯繫我們
遺傳司

審判長: 老公埃里克·克里斯蒂安(Erik Christian)
副主審法官: 提問。 勞拉·科德羅
遺囑登記冊: 妮可·史蒂文生
副遺囑登記冊: 

法院大樓A
515 Fifth Street,NW,三樓
華盛頓,直流20001

地址
開放時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

電話號碼

202-879-9460

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Intervention Proceedings (INT/IDD)

How do I become responsible for an incapacitated adult?

Intervention proceedings are opened for adults 18 or older who live in the District of Columbia, are incapacitated, and need assistance with health care, quality of life, or placement decisions or the handling of finances or other assets.

General Information
Petitions to open an intervention proceeding, seeking the appointment of a guardian or conservator of an incapacitated person or for a protective order relating to an incapacitated person, are filed in the Probate Division of the District of Columbia Superior Court.

Procedures before Appointment
The petitioner bears the burden of proving that the subject of the petition is incapacitated as defined by the law in the District of Columbia by clear and convincing evidence. An "incapacitated" person is defined in DC Code, sec. 21-2011(11), as an adult, age 18 or older, "whose ability to receive and evaluate information or to communicate decisions is impaired to such an extent that he or she lacks the capacity to manage all or some of his or her financial resources or to meet all or some essential requirements for his or her physical health, safety, habilitation, or therapeutic needs without court-ordered assistance or the appointment of a guardian or conservator." The petitioner can prove incapacity by attaching medical evidence to the petition or presenting medical evidence or testimony in Court at the hearing that will be scheduled after the petition is filed. Unless the subject is found by the Court to be incapacitated, no guardian or conservator will be appointed, so a petitioner should provide as much proof of incapacity as possible.

When the petition for a general proceeding is filed, it is reviewed by the Probate Division’s Legal Branch to ensure that all of the necessary documents have been submitted and that the filings comply with minimum legal requirements. When the petition is accepted for filing, a hearing date is scheduled for approximately one month later. The petition is then transmitted to a judge for appointment of counsel for the subject and, if the petitioner has so requested, appointment of an examiner, a guardian ad litem, and/or a visitor.

Counsel and any examiner, visitor, or guardian ad litem appointed for the subject will usually visit the subject as quickly as possible to prepare for the hearing. The subject must be personally served with the notice of initial hearing and petition by an adult other than the petitioner at least 14 days before the hearing. An affidavit of service must be filed at Court at least 5 days before the hearing.

The petitioner must appear at the hearing with any witnesses that the petitioner wishes to present and should bring the form titled Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order. Counsel for the subject will appear, usually with the subject. If a visitor, examiner, or guardian ad litem has been appointed, that person must also appear at the hearing. The Court will hear the evidence presented and ordinarily will decide at the hearing whether a guardian or conservator will be appointed, who that person will be, whether bond is required, and, if so, the amount of the bond. The Court may limit, or restrict, the powers of the person appointed. For example, sale of a ward’s home is often restricted so that the conservator cannot sell it without a Court order authorizing the sale.

Items Needed to Open an Intervention Case
The forms needed to open an intervention proceeding include the following:

Petition for a General Proceeding
Order Appointing Counsel, Examiner, Visitor and/or Guardian ad Litem
Notice of Initial Hearing for Subject
Notice of Initial Hearing for Parties
Personal Identification Information (Form 26)
Financial Account Information (Form 27)


There is a filing fee of $45.00 payable to "Register of Wills" if a conservator or protective order is requested.

Emergency Proceedings and Special Relief
In life-threatening situations or situations involving emergency medical care, a petitioner can request appointment of an emergency guardian, who may serve for 21 days, or appointment of a temporary, health care guardian, who may serve for as long as 90 days. The standard for granting emergency relief is higher, and the incapacity of the subject should be certified by two professionals, one of whom must have examined the subject within 1 day preceding the certification. See DC Code, sec. 21-2204. The form needed to request appointment of either an emergency guardian or a temporary, health care guardian is a Petition for Appointment of Temporary Guardian.

In situations involving financial abuse, if a petition for appointment of a guardian or conservator is being filed, the petitioner can request temporary relief before the initial hearing. Because the standard for granting temporary relief is higher, such requests should be accompanied by details that support the allegation of financial abuse. The Order Regarding Temporary Relief Request must be attached if temporary relief is requested.
 

Procedures after Appointment
After appointment, a conservator must file an Inventory and Conservatorship Plan within 60 days and an annual Account within 30 days of the anniversary date of appointment. A guardian must file a Guardianship Plan within 90 days of appointment and a Report of Guardian every six months from the anniversary date of appointment. If a guardian or conservator needs more time to file something that he or she is supposed to file, a motion can be filed to request more time.

The powers of a guardian are listed in DC Code, sec. 21-2047, which also lists some powers that a guardian does not have. The powers of a conservator are listed in DC Code, sec. 21-2070. If a guardian or conservator needs to do something that he or she does not have the power to do, a Petition Post Appointment can be filed to ask the Court for permission or instructions.

Contact
Probate Division

Presiding Judge: Hon. Erik Christian
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Laura A. Cordero
Register of Wills: Nicole Stevens
Deputy Register of Wills: 

Court Building A
515 Fifth Street, NW, Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Telephone Numbers

202-879-9460