上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

小屋(SEB)

一般信息

對於在26,2001四月份以後死亡的人員,總資產為$ 40,000.00以下的資產,*可以開立一個小型房地產訴訟程序,以指定一名個人代理人,支付索賠,並分配房地產資產。 小規模法律程序由法院處理得更快,一般不得超過自提交小型屋村管理申請之日起至最終命令頒布之日起的十個月以下的時間。 遺產部門的法律部門提供小型地產專家協助提供小型屋村。 請收集下列所有項目; 然後將它們帶到NW NXXXNXXX街三樓120室。 如果您有關於本網站沒有回答的小屋的問題,請聯繫實時聊天或致電314-515-5。

*如果該人在7月1,1995和4月26,2001之間死亡,該遺產的價值必須為$ 15,000.00或更少才符合資格作為小房地產。 如果該人在1,1981和6月30 1995之間死亡,則產品的價值必須為$ 10,000或更低。

開設小型物業所需的物品
  • 小屋管理請願書
  • 死者的意志(如果有)和 申請證明書
  • 請願人的照片身份證明
  • 死亡證明
  • 殯eral)for and葬或火葬收據
  • 死者擁有或共同擁有的所有資產的書面清單:
  1. 所有房地產,包括位於哥倫比亞特區以外的房地產,以及死者死亡年度的財產稅評估值。
  2. 銀行和信用社帳戶,股票,債券和退休賬戶的當前聲明。
  3. 汽車標題(優選)或註冊卡,並書面確認車輛的價值。 來自在線來源的關於買賣價值的報價是可以接受的。
  4. 未支付給支票的支票。
  5. 來自哥倫比亞特區無人認領的財產單位(202-442-8181)的信件,價值表示。
  6. 繼承人/親屬的姓名和地址,如果有遺囑,遺囑中指定的所有專業人員的姓名和地址將包括公寓號碼和郵政編碼。
法庭費用:支票或匯票支付給“遺囑登記冊”或現金。 成本取決於資產的價值:
  • $ 0.01 - $ 499.99 .....沒有成本
  • $ 500.00 - $ 2,500.00 ..... $ 15.00
  • $ 2,500.01 - $ 15,000.00 ..... $ 50.00
  • $ 15,000.01 - $ 25,000.00 ..... $ 100.00
  • $ 25,000.01 - $ 40,000.00 ..... $ 150.00

出版費用:支票或支付給報紙的匯票。

提交請願書

小地產專家將審查 小屋管理請願書 正在提交備案,以確保其符合法律。 專家還將確定證明資產和債務的文件是否足夠,在法院可以對請願書採取行動之前是否需要更多的資料,以及是否需要出版。 如果信息不完整,申請將不被接受,並且將被遺失的信息列表返回。

如果遺產的資產(房地產和個人財產)的價值超過$ 1,500.00,除非(1)繼承人是死者的配偶或未成年子女(18年齡以下),否則(2)繼承人為死者的成年子女和遺產的資產均低於$ 11,500.00。

申請被接受後,小地產專員將為法官的簽名作準備。 在大多數情況下,命令將指定一名個人代表。 該命令可能是一個初步命令,指示該通知可能發布給潛在的債權人,或該個人代表的文件 資產核查,或者它可能是一個最終的訂單,指定誰有權接收該產業的資產和每個人將收到多少金額。 該訂單可能包括必須在其中提交額外項目的具體時間段,以及規定如果在指定的時間內沒有提交項目的情況下,小型房地產程序將被解僱。

如果法院的命令要求出版,遺囑認證處將發送 債權人通知書,通知書及未知繼承人通知書 由個人代表選定的一般流通報紙。 出版費用由報紙收取的現行費率確定,並由文件提前支付。 該通知指出,該莊園是以小型莊園管理,宣布該名代理人的姓名,並向債權人和未知的繼承人30日提出對該遺產提出的索賠或反對該個人代表的委任。 通知只發布一次。 該通知是通過註冊或認證的郵件,要求的回執郵寄給所有感興趣的人和已知的債權人。 個人代表必須努力尋找每個債權人。 出版發行和付款後,報紙將發佈出版物證明,該證明書提交給遺傳部司法部的小型房地產專家。

個人代表的角色和職責

個人代表具有重要作用,負責確保收集所有資產,支付所有債務,並按照法院的最終順序指導,立即分配遺產資產。 法庭任命的人常常是死者最親近的親屬之一。 死者的資產必須與個人代表的資產分開進行,而遺產代理人必須保存所有遺產開支和付款的準確記錄。

關閉房地產

法院簽署的最終命令將關閉遺產。 該命令向遺產代理人發出關於收回遺產財產,償還債務以及剩餘的遺產資產分配給繼承人或遺贈人的指示。 法院發布最終命令之後,必須及時發布分配。

賠償金

被委任為小型遺產代理人的律師,包括律師,均無權獲得擔任代理人身份的佣金。 小公司的私人代表律師可以根據DC Code(秒)獲得最高$ 1,000.00。 20-906(a)(3),取決於房地產的大小和優先付款。

其它資源
聯繫我們
遺傳司

審判長: 提問。 Alfred S Irving Jr.
副主審法官: 提問。 瑪麗莎·德莫
遺囑代理登記冊: 妮可·史蒂文生
副遺囑登記冊:

法院大樓A
515 Fifth Street,NW,三樓
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

電話號碼

202-879-9460

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Small Estates (SEB)

General Information

For people who died after April 26, 2001, and had assets with a total value of $40,000.00 or less,* a small estate proceeding may be opened to appoint a personal representative, pay claims, and make distribution of estate assets. Small estate proceedings are handled more quickly by the Court and generally take no more than 120 days from the date of filing of the Petition for Administration of Small Estate to the issuance of the final order. Small estate specialists are available in the Legal Branch of the Probate Division to assist with filing small estates. Please collect all the items listed below; then bring them to Room 314 on the third floor at 515 5th Street, NW, to file. If you have questions about small estates that are not answered on this website, contact Live Chat or call 202-879-9460.

* If the person died between July 1, 1995, and April 26, 2001, the value of the estate must be $15,000.00 or less to qualify as a small estate. If the person died between January 1, 1981, and June 30, 1995, the value of the estate must be $10,000 or less.

Items needed to Open a Small Estate
  1. All real estate, including real estate located outside the District of Columbia, with the property tax assessed value for the year in which the decedent died.
  2. Current statement(s) for bank and credit union accounts, stocks, bonds, and retirement accounts.
  3. Automobile title (preferable) or registration card and written confirmation of the value of the vehicle. A quote from an on-line source regarding trade-in value is acceptable.
  4. Uncashed checks payable to the decedent.
  5. Letter from the District of Columbia Unclaimed Property Unit (202-442-8181) with value stated.
  6. Names and addresses of heirs-at-law/next of kin and if there is a will, the names and addresses for all legatees named in the will including apartment numbers and zip codes.
Court Costs: Check or money order payable to "Register of Wills" or cash. The cost depends on the value of the assets:
  • $0.01 - $499.99.....no cost
  • $500.00 - $2,500.00.....$15.00
  • $2,500.01 - $15,000.00.....$50.00
  • $15,000.01 - $25,000.00.....$100.00
  • $25,000.01 - $40,000.00.....$150.00

Publication Costs: Check or money order payable to the newspaper.

Filing the Petition

The small estate specialist will review the Petition for Administration of Small Estate that is being presented for filing to ensure that it complies with the law. The specialist will also determine whether the documents verifying the assets and debts are sufficient, whether more information is needed before the Court can act on the petition, and whether publication is required. If the information is not complete, the petition will not be accepted for filing and will be returned with a list of the missing information.

Publication is needed if the value of the estate’s assets (real estate and personal property) is more than $1,500.00 unless (1) the heir is the decedent’s spouse or a minor child (under the age of 18) or (2) the heir is the decedent’s adult child and the estate’s assets are under $11,500.00.

After the petition is accepted for filing, the small estate specialist will prepare an order for the judge’s signature. In most cases, the order will appoint a personal representative. The order may be a preliminary order, directing that notice to potential creditors be published or that the personal representative file a Verification of Assets, or it may be a final order, specifying who is entitled to receive the assets of the estate and what amounts each individual will receive. The order may include a specific time period within which additional items must be filed, and a provision stating that the small estate proceeding will be dismissed if the items are not filed within the time period specified.

If publication is required by the Court’s order, the Probate Division will send the Notice of Appointment, Notice to Creditors and Notice to Unknown Heirs form to a newspaper of general circulation selected by the personal representative. The cost of publication is determined by the current rates charged by the newspaper and is paid in advance by the filer. The notice states that the estate is being administered as a small estate, announces the name of the personal representative, and gives creditors and unknown heirs 30 days to file claims against the estate or to object to the appointment of the personal representative. The notice is published only once. The notice is mailed to all interested persons and to known creditors by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested. The personal representative must make diligent efforts to locate each creditor. After the publication occurs and payment is made, the newspaper will issue a proof of publication, which is filed with the small estate specialist in the Legal Branch of the Probate Division.

Role and Duties of the Personal Representative

The personal representative has an important role and is responsible for ensuring that all assets are collected, all debts are paid, and distributions of estate assets are made promptly as the Court directs in its final order. Very often, the person appointed by the Court is one of the closest living relatives of the decedent. The decedent's assets must be held separately from those of the personal representative, and the personal representative must keep accurate records of all estate expenses and payments.

Closing the Estate

A final order signed by the Court will close the estate. The order gives directions to the personal representative concerning the collection of estate property, the payment of debts, and the distribution of the remaining estate assets to heirs or legatees. Distribution must occur promptly after the final order is issued by the Court.

Compensation

Persons, including attorneys, appointed to be personal representatives in small estates are not entitled to be paid a commission for acting as personal representatives. Attorneys for personal representatives in small estates can receive up to $1,000.00 in accordance with DC Code, sec. 20-906(a)(3), depending on the size of the estate and priority payments.

Contact
Probate Division

Presiding Judge: Hon. Gerald I. Fisher
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Alfred S. Irving Jr.
Register of Wills: Anne Meister
Deputy Register of Wills: Nicole Stevens

Court Building A
515 Fifth Street, NW, Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Mondays-Friday:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Telephone Numbers

202-879-9460