上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

干預程序(INT / IDD)

一般信息

對於生活在哥倫比亞特區的成年人18或更年長的干預程序開放,無行為能力,需要醫療保健,生活質量或安置決定或財務或其他資產的處理方面的協助。

請願人承擔責任,證明根據明確而令人信服的證據,哥倫比亞特區法律界定的請願主體無行為能力。 “無行為能力的個人”在DC Code,sec。 21-2011(11)作為成年人(即,18或更早的人),其能夠接收和評估信息或溝通決策的能力受到損害,使得他或她缺乏管理所有或某些他或她的財政資源或滿足他或她的身體健康,安全,適應訓練或治療需求的所有或一些基本要求,無需法院命令的協助或任命監護人或保管人。“請願人可以通過附加證明喪失工作能力聽證會的醫療證據或在法庭上提交醫療證據或證詞,將在大約一個月後提出呈請的日期安排。 除非法院認定這個問題是無行為能力的,否則不得委任監護人或監護人,因此,呈請人應提供盡可能多的喪失工作能力的證據。 這種證明包括醫療記錄和審查員的報告,都可以提交請願書。

需要要求任命監護人和/或保護者的物品

A 一般訴訟申請醫學證據 刑事訴訟陳述, 一個 聽證會通知書, 一個 聽證其他人的通知和一個 訂購委任律師,考官,訪客和/或監護人廣告Litem 必須提交。 任何尋求任命為監護人的人必須提交刑事訴訟聲明。 一個 臨時救濟令 如果要求緊急救濟,可能需要。 如果要求保管人或保護令,可以向“登記冊”支付$ 45.00的申請費,並可以通過支票或匯票支付給“遺囑登記冊”,現金或信用卡(Visa,MasterCard, Discover,美國運通)。

提交請願書

當提出一般訴訟請求時,遺囑認證處的法律部門將對其進行審查,以確保提交所有必要的文件,並提交文件符合最低法律規定。 在提交請願書的當天,約一個月後的聆訊日期。 然後,請願書轉交給法官,委託律師律師,如果請願人已經請求,法院同意,任命審查員,訪客和/或訴訟監護人。 如果要求提供臨時救濟(例如支付緊急情況的賬單或凍結賬戶,以停止處罰該項目的資金),法官將決定是否給予這種救濟並發出適當的命令。 法官簽署的所有命令的複印件將在請願人,其律師,被告和任何其他方面郵寄或eserved。

律師以及任命的任何審查員,訪問者或訴訟監護人通常會盡快訪問該議題,以準備聽證會。 請願人必須在呈請人出庭的情況下出示請願人出席的證人,並提出申請表 事實結論,法治與秩序 如果請願人要求任命,則如果尚未提交,則為“刑事訴訟史”表格。 該主題的律師將出現,通常與主題。 如果任命一名訪問員,審查員或訴訟監護人,該人也必須出席聽證會。 法院會聽取所提供的證據,通常會在聽證會上決定是否委任一名監護人或保管人,該人將是誰,是否需要債券,如果是,則為債權金額。 法院可以限製或限制被指定的人的權力; 例如,出售病房的家庭經常受到限制,所以不能沒有法院命令。 法院還可以擴大權力。任命後,保管人員必須在90天內提交庫存和計劃,並在委任周年日之前或之前加上30天。

在任命後,監護人必須在60日內記錄大都會警察局進行的犯罪歷史檢查結果以及180日內的FBI指紋背景檢查報告(請參閱 如何獲得您的犯罪背景檢查)。 任何報告中的任何違規行為都將提請法官注意,案件責任採取行動,並將安排聽證會,恕不另行通知。 聽證會可能採取的行動包括移走監護人並任命另一人為繼任監護人。

監護人也必須提交 監護計劃 在任命日期的90天內, 衛報報導 不超過任命週年日的六個月以內。 如果監護人或監護人需要更多時間提交他或她被要求提交的內容,監護人或保管人可以提出動議請求更多的時間。 議案應解釋為何需要更多時間,並估計需要的額外時間。 監護人的權力列在DC Code,sec。 21-2047。 監護人的權力限制列在DC Code,sec。 21-2047.01。 保管人的權力列在DC Code,sec。 21-2070。 如果監護人或監護人需要做一些他或她沒有權力的事情,可以提出請願書的任命,要求法院許可或指示。

其它資源
聯繫我們
遺傳司

審判長: 提問。 Alfred S Irving Jr.
副主審法官: 提問。 瑪麗莎·德莫
遺囑代理登記冊: 妮可·史蒂文生
副遺囑登記冊:

法院大樓A
515 Fifth Street,NW,三樓
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

電話號碼

202-879-9460

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Intervention Proceedings (INT/IDD)

General Information

Intervention proceedings are opened for adults 18 or older who live in the District of Columbia, are incapacitated, and need assistance with health care, quality of life, or placement decisions or the handling of finances or other assets.

The petitioner bears the burden of proving that the subject of the petition is incapacitated as defined by the law in the District of Columbia by clear and convincing evidence. An “incapacitated individual” is defined in DC Code, sec. 21-2011(11), as an adult (i.e., someone who is 18 or older) “whose ability to receive and evaluate information or to communicate decisions is impaired to such an extent that he or she lacks the capacity to manage all or some of his or her financial resources or to meet all or some essential requirements for his or her physical health, safety, habilitation, or therapeutic needs without court-ordered assistance or the appointment of a guardian or conservator.” The petitioner can prove incapacity by attaching medical evidence to the petition or presenting medical evidence or testimony in court at the hearing that will be scheduled the day that the petition is filed and held approximately one month later. Unless the subject is found by the Court to be incapacitated, no guardian or conservator will be appointed, so a petitioner should provide as much proof of incapacity as possible. Such proof includes medical records and examiner’s reports, both of which can be filed with the petition.

Items Needed to Request Appointment of a Guardian and/or Conservator

A Petition for a General Proceeding, medical evidence, a Statement of Criminal History, a Notice of Hearing Pursuant to Subject, a Notice of Hearing Pursuant to Other Persons, and an Order Appointing Counsel, Examiner, Visitor and/or Guardian ad Litem must be filed. A Statement of Criminal History must be filed by any person who is seeking appointment as guardian. An Order Regarding Temporary Relief may be needed if emergency relief is requested. A filing fee of $45.00 payable to “Register of Wills” is required if a conservator or protective order is requested and may be paid by check or money order payable to "Register of Wills," cash, or credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express).

Filing the Petition

When the petition for a general proceeding is filed, it is reviewed by the Probate Division’s Legal Branch to ensure that all of the necessary documents have been submitted and that the filings comply with minimum legal requirements. On the day that the petition is filed, a hearing date is scheduled for approximately one month later. The petition is then transmitted to a judge for appointment of counsel for the ward and, if the petitioner has so requested and the Court concurs, appointment of an examiner, a visitor, and/or a guardian ad litem. If temporary relief has been requested (such as payment of bills of an emergency nature or freezing accounts to stop mishandling of the subject’s funds), the Judge will decide whether to grant such relief and issue an appropriate order. Copies of all orders signed by the Judge will be mailed or eServed on the petitioner, his or her attorney, the subject, and any other parties.

Counsel and any examiner, visitor, or guardian ad litem appointed for the subject will usually visit the subject as quickly as possible to prepare for the hearing. The petitioner must appear at the hearing with any witnesses that the petitioner wishes to present and should bring the form titled Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order and if the petitioner is requesting appointment, the form titled Statement of Criminal History if it has not already been filed. Counsel for the subject will appear, usually with the subject. If a visitor, examiner, or guardian ad litem has been appointed, that person must also appear at the hearing. The Court will hear the evidence presented and ordinarily will decide at the hearing whether to appoint a guardian or conservator, who that person will be, whether bond is required, and, if so, the amount of the bond. The Court may limit or restrict the powers of the person appointed; for example, sale of a ward’s home is often restricted, so cannot occur without Court order. The Court may also expand the powers.After appointment, a conservator must file an Inventory and Plan within 90 days and an annual account on or before the anniversary date of the appointment plus 30 days.

After appointment, a guardian must file the results of a criminal history check conducted by the Metropolitan Police Department within 60 days and an FBI fingerprint background check report within 180 days. Any irregularity in either report will be brought to the attention of the Judge with case responsibility for action and a hearing will be scheduled without further notice. Possible actions at the hearing include removal of the guardian and appointment of another person as successor guardian.

The guardian must also file a Guardianship Plan within 90 days of the date of appointment and a Report of Guardian no less often than every six months from the anniversary date of appointment. If a guardian or conservator needs more time to file something that he or she is required to file, the guardian or conservator can file a motion to request more time. The motion should explain the reason why more time is needed and estimate the additional time required. The powers of a guardian are listed in DC Code, sec. 21-2047. Limitations on the powers of a guardian are listed in DC Code, sec. 21-2047.01. The powers of a conservator are listed in DC Code, sec. 21-2070. If a guardian or conservator needs to do something that he or she does not have the power to do, a petition post appointment can be filed to ask the Court for permission or instructions.

Contact
Probate Division

Presiding Judge: Hon. Gerald I. Fisher
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Alfred S. Irving Jr.
Register of Wills: Anne Meister
Deputy Register of Wills: Nicole Stevens

Court Building A
515 Fifth Street, NW, Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Mondays-Friday:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Telephone Numbers

202-879-9460