上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

外國訴訟法(FEP)

一般信息

一個房產在其他地方開放的人如何開立房地產來處理房地產的資產?

對於在12月31之後死亡的人,1980,在哥倫比亞特區外居住但在死亡時擁有哥倫比亞特區的資產,在另一個司法管轄區指定個人代表的人必須提交開立外國房地產訴訟所需的文件。在哥倫比亞特區之前,該人有權收集和分發位於哥倫比亞特區的任何資產。 由於哥倫比亞特區沒有開放主要產業,該產業被稱為外國房地產訴訟(FEP),在華盛頓特區沒有任命個人代表,也沒有簽發任何行政信函。 提交外國房地產訴訟程序由DC Code,secs規定。 20-341到20-344(2001編輯)和 高等法院,遺傳司司法規則427。 可能會發現哥倫比亞特區代碼 查看更多.

開設外商投資項目

在哥倫比亞特區開設外國房地產法律程序需要以下項目。 提交的文件必須表明,在外國房地產開業之前,該代理人目前在另一個管轄區任命。

  1. 如果在美國開設了遺產,則在其他司法管轄區提交的文件副本,包括請願書,根據28美國法典認證的遺囑(如有),委任順序和管理書,sec 。 1738。 這種認證通常被稱為“三重密封”或“示例”副本。 認證副本是不可接受的。

    如果遺產在另一個國家開放,則需要同樣的文件,並且必須按照高級法院,民事法規44(a)(2)的規定進行認證,該規定要求將被稱為apostille的證明貼上或附加到文檔。 對於“海牙公約廢除外國公共文件合法化規定”的國家,由使徒證明的外國文件有權獲得認可,無需進一步的認證。

  2. 一名委任代理人接受流程表格的服務,並附有每位個人代表的原始簽名和位於哥倫比亞特區的代理人的原始簽名。

  3. 兩位外籍個人代表任命通知書及債權人通知書,每位個人代表的原始簽名。 該表格上的信息必須與三密封副本上的信息完全一致。 例如,如果在其他司法管轄區的死者名字不包括中間的初始名稱,則中間的初始內容不應包括在此表格中。 請注意,文件管理員必須選擇將發布通知的兩個出版物。 一個人必須是每日的法律出版物(目前,“華盛頓每日華盛頓記者報”是哥倫比亞特區唯一的出版物),哥倫比亞特區必須是一個普遍流通的報紙。

  4. 支付給“登記冊”的支票或匯票,或以25.00為單位的現金。

提交文件

上述項目將由遺傳公司法律部門的成員審查。 如果文件被接受並提交申請費用,則文件管理員還可以要求提供費用為1.00的初步證書。 初步證明書證明已經提交了認證文件,外國房地產開業。 遺囑執行部門在接受文件通知後,將發送“外國人代表任用通知書”給文件管理員選定的兩本出版物。 這些出版物將直接向文件管理人員匯報。 該通知在兩份出版物中連續三週出版一次。 在向遺傳部提交出版證明之前,文件管理員負責檢查出版物的證明,以確保出版物按照指示進行。

如果沒有提出索賠,根據要求和支付10.00費用,遺囑認證處將在通知中規定的六個月期限後發出最終證書(也稱為“無證明書”),向遺傳部提交原始出版證明。 DC資產通常在六個月通知期到期後不能被移除或轉移,出具證明已經提交,除非已發布債券,否則取得了最終證書。 DC代碼,秒 20-343規定了六個月期限之前轉讓資產的特殊要求。

資源
聯絡我們
遺傳司

審判長: 老公小阿爾弗雷德·歐文
副主審法官: 提問。 瑪麗莎·德莫
遺囑登記冊: 妮可·史蒂文生
副遺囑登記冊: 

法院大樓A
515 Fifth Street,NW,三樓
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

電話號碼

202-879-9460

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Foreign Estates Proceedings (FEP)

General Information

How do I open an estate to handle assets in DC for a person whose primary estate is open elsewhere?

For people who died after December 31, 1980, domiciled outside the District of Columbia but owning assets in the District of Columbia at the time of death, the person appointed personal representative in the other jurisdiction must file the documents required to open a foreign estate proceeding in the District of Columbia before that person will have authority to collect and distribute any of the assets located in the District of Columbia. Because the primary estate is not being opened in the District of Columbia, the estate is called a foreign estate proceeding (FEP), no personal representative is appointed in DC, and no letters of administration are issued. The filing of a foreign estate proceeding is governed by DC Code, secs. 20-341 through 20-344 (2001 ed.) and Superior Court, Probate Division Rule 427. The District of Columbia Code may be found here.

Items needed to Open a Foreign Estate Proceeding

The following items are required to open a foreign estate proceeding in the District of Columbia. The documents submitted must show that the personal representative is currently appointed in another jurisdiction before a foreign estate can be opened.

  1. If the estate has been opened in the United States, copies of the documents filed in the other jurisdiction, including the petition, the will (if any), the order of appointment, and letters of administration, authenticated pursuant to 28 US Code, sec. 1738. Such authentication is commonly referred to as a "triple-sealed" or "exemplified" copy. Certified copies are not acceptable.

    If the estate has been opened in another country, the same documents are required and must be authenticated in accordance with the provisions of Superior Court, Civil Division Rule 44(a)(2), which requires that a certificate known as an apostille be affixed or attached to the document. For countries belonging to the Hague Convention Abolishing the Requirement of Legalization for Foreign Public Documents, foreign documents certified by an apostille are entitled to recognition without further authentication.

  2. One Appointment of Agent to Accept Service of Process form with the original signature of each personal representative and an original signature of the agent located in the District of Columbia.

  3. Two Notice of Appointment of Foreign Personal Representative and Notice to Creditors forms with the original signature of each personal representative. The information on this form must match the information on the triple-sealed copies exactly. For example, if the decedent's name in the other jurisdiction did not include a middle initial, the middle initial should not be included on this form. Note that the filer must choose the two publications in which the notice will be published. One must be a daily legal publication (currently, the Daily Washington Law Reporter is the only such publication in the District of Columbia), and one must be a newspaper of general circulation in the District of Columbia.

  4. A check or money order payable to "Register of Wills" or cash in the amount of $25.00.

Filing the Documents

The items listed above will be reviewed by a member of the Probate Division’s Legal Branch. If the documents are accepted for filing and the filing fee is paid, the filer can also request a Preliminary Certificate, which costs $1.00. The Preliminary Certificate verifies that the authenticated papers have been filed and a foreign estate has been opened. When the documents are accepted for filing, the Probate Division will send the Notice of Appointment of Foreign Personal Representative to the two publications chosen by the filer. The publications will bill the filer directly. The notice is published concurrently once a week for three consecutive weeks in the two publications. The filer is responsible for checking the proofs of publication before they are filed with the Probate Division to ensure that the publication occurred as directed.

If no claims are filed, upon request and the payment of a $10.00 fee, the Probate Division will issue a Final Certificate (also known as a "Certificate of No Claims") after the six-month period set forth in the notice and the filing of the original proofs of publication with the Probate Division. DC assets ordinarily cannot be removed or transferred until after the six-month notice period has expired, the proofs of publication have been filed, and a Final Certificate has been obtained unless bond has been posted. DC Code, sec. 20-343 sets forth special requirements for transferring assets before the six-month period has expired.

Contact
Probate Division

Presiding Judge: Hon. Gerald I. Fisher
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Alfred S. Irving Jr.
Register of Wills: Anne Meister
Deputy Register of Wills: Nicole Stevens

Court Building A
515 Fifth Street, NW, Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Mondays-Friday:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Telephone Numbers

202-879-9460