上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

社區法院和解決問題的法院

刑事司法解決法庭

解決問題的法院將刑事司法和社區合作夥伴及相應的資源結合起來,對犯罪和安全問題作出反應,讓被告人負責,解決被告的需要和犯罪行為的根本原因,提高社區生活質量,執行司法。 在解決問題的法庭中,每個人都可以在幫助解決問題方面發揮作用 - 不僅僅是法官,檢察官和辯護律師,還有社會服務機構,政府機構,社區組織,企業,信仰社區,個人居民和被告/罪犯。 通過這些夥伴關係,解決問題的法庭更有效地應對犯罪行為,並製定解決方案,改善社區,受害者和被告/罪犯本身的成果。

計劃目標

  • 提高直流社區的生活質素,包括減少再犯罪活動
  • 通過將他們連接到治療和社會服務來解決罪犯的需求
  • 增加公眾對法院制度的信任和信心
  • 增加罪犯責任,包括執行社區服務
  • 簡化案例處理
  • 降低刑事司法費用
  • 建立夥伴關係,解決鄰里問題
交通法院

Moultrie法院 - 在2013結束時,刑事部門將其三個DC /交通法院重新設計為以七個MPD地區和其他警察機構為中心的社區法院為基礎的模式。 在調整過程中,每個法庭對其所負責的警區進行引用,以及在這些地區被告被捕的“DC輕罪”指控引起的任何審判。 直接的輕罪包括擁有一個開放的酒精飲料,氾濫,無秩序的行為,在公共場合喝酒。 犯罪交通違法行為包括DWI,OWI,DUI,無許可證,未註冊車輛,暫停營業,魯莽駕駛。 被拘留在細胞塊中的DC /交通被告可以等待審訊,可以面談以確定社會服務需求,並提交轉介到必要的服務。 在某些情況下,在DC /交通法庭有案件的被告可能有機會在DC中“補救”和/或執行社區服務,這可能導致檢察官要求將案件駁回。 被告的轉移機會資格由律政司決定。

心理健康社區法院

Moultrie法院,法庭211,MHCC旨在整合社區資源,以滿足法院系統中精神病患者的獨特需求。 資格 - 參與MHCC是完全自願的。 MHCC參與者必須具有法律和臨床資格。 美國檢察官辦公室通過審查當前和過去的法律曆史來篩選合法資格的費用。 MHCC合法資格排除了家庭暴力事件,暴力重罪或槍支罪名。 直流預審監督機構(PSA)屏蔽了該人員的臨床資格。 臨床資格被定義為嚴重精神健康診斷如精神分裂症或雙極性,要求被告獲得PSA專業監督單位的監督。 共同出現濫用藥物的人士可被允許進入MHCC,但必須願意配合藥物檢測和藥物濫用治療建議。 此外,參賽者必須有能力並且不被監禁(中途房屋安置是可以接受的)。 如果維持治療服務的遵守以及法院規定的其他條件,參與者將被允許簽訂轉移協議,為期四個月。 協議成功完成後,參加者將從MHCC畢業,檢方將要求將其刑事指控解除或減免。

職稱 下載PDF
心理健康社區法院程序手冊 資料下載
美國輕罪社區法院

高等法院於十月十九日在河社區法院成立東區。 ERCC的成立是為了更有效地處理輕罪案件,減少警察加班費,並為Anacostia河以東地區服務不足的社區提供額外的資源。 ERCC在Anacostia河以東的第六和第七MPD警察區,判處美國輕罪者不涉及家庭暴力事件,包括毒品佔有,性徵,非法入境,簡易攻擊,二級盜竊,非法傾銷等。 審計和評價小組與幾個機構和組織合作,如審前前顧問機構,法庭服務和監督機構,美國檢察署,高等法院審判律師協會,大都會警察局和刑事司法協調理事會。 作為傳統案件處理的替代方案,有資格的被告被提供機會自願參與ERCC轉移計劃,為被告提供美國輕罪罪行,向社區作出歸還,接受責任,獲得必要的待遇和教育服務,並轉移可能的刑事定罪。 注意:被告的轉移資格是由美國特區檢察官辦公室確定的。

在新南威爾斯州立大學,高等法院委託進行一項研究,以確定ERCC在減少再犯罪活動方面的有效性。 Westat進行的這項研究集中在2010,4,046和2007進入ERCC的2008被告,並審查了在哥倫比亞特區和馬里蘭州成功完成ERCC轉移計劃和被告重新啟動活動的速度,大約在2009月後,處置。 在收到Westat的初步資料之後,DC高級法院首席法官Lee Satterfield重新設計了刑事司法機關的輕罪日曆,以實施社區法庭模式七號大都會警察局(MPD)地區從12一月開始。

藥房

高等法院藥物干預計劃(“毒品法院”)是一個特別法庭,旨在處理涉及物質依賴或上癮被告人涉及非暴力輕罪和重罪罪名的案件。 藥物法庭由預審服務機構管理。 該計劃為參與者提供了一個全面的方法來解決他們的癮或依賴。 毒品法院包括監督,藥物檢測,治療服務,立即制裁和激勵措施。 有關毒品法院的信息,請訪問http://www.psa.gov或致電 (202) 220-5505

聯絡我們
刑事司

審判長: 提問。 朱麗葉·麥肯納
副主審法官: 提問。 丹妮·戴
導向器: 威廉·阿戈斯托

莫爾特法院
500 Indiana Avenue NW,
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

刑事財務處:週一至週五: 8:30到5:30 pm
(所有其他時間,請到C-10安排發行債券 - 債券付款被接受,直到C-10休會當天)

起訴法庭(法庭C10)
星期一,星期三,星期五和星期六:

1:00p.m。

星期二,星期三和星期四
在10:00 am聽到引用,1聽到Lockups:00 pm
假期11:00 am
週日休息

電話/傳真號碼

刑事信息
(202) 879-1373

刑事財務處
(202) 879-1840
(202) 638-5352

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Community Courts and Problem Solving Courts

Criminal Division Problem Solving Courts

Problem-solving courts bring together criminal justice and community partners and corresponding resources to respond to crime and safety issues, hold defendants accountable, address defendants’ needs and the underlying causes of their criminal behavior, improve the quality of life in communities, and administer justice. In problem-solving courts, everyone has a role to play in helping solve problems--not just the judge, prosecutor, and defense attorney, but also social service and government agencies, community organizations, businesses, faith community, individual residents and the defendant/offender. Through these partnerships, problem-solving courts respond more effectively to crime and develop solutions that improve outcomes for the community, victims, and the defendants/offenders themselves.

Program Goals

  • Enhance the quality of life in DC neighborhoods including reducing reoffending activity
  • Address offender needs by linking them to treatment and social services
  • Increase public trust and confidence in the court system
  • Increase offender accountability including performing community service
  • Streamline case processing
  • Reduce criminal justice costs
  • Forge partnerships to solve neighborhood problems
Traffic Courts

Moultrie Courthouse- At the end of 2013, the Criminal Division reconfigured its three DC/Traffic Courts to a community court-based model centered on the seven MPD districts and other police agencies. Under the realignment, each courtroom handles arraignments for those given citations in the police districts it is responsible for, as well as any trials that result from “DC misdemeanor” charges for which defendants are arrested in those districts. DC misdemeanors include possession of an open container of alcohol, panhandling, disorderly conduct, drinking in public. Criminal traffic violations include DWI, OWI, DUI, no permit, unregistered vehicle, operating after suspension, and reckless driving. A DC/Traffic defendant detained in the cell block pending arraignment may be interviewed to identify social service needs and given a referral to necessary services. In some instances, a defendant with a case in a DC/Traffic Court may be given the opportunity to “remedy” and/or perform community service in DC, which could lead to the prosecutor requesting that the case be dismissed. A defendant’s eligibility for a diversion opportunity is determined by the Office of Attorney General.

Mental Health Community Court

Moultrie Courthouse, Courtroom 211, The MHCC seeks to integrate community resources to meet the unique needs of persons with mental illness in the court system. Eligibility – Participation in MHCC is completely voluntary. Participants must be both legally and clinically eligible for MHCC. The US Attorney’s Office screens charges for legal eligibility by reviewing current and past legal histories. MHCC legal eligibility precludes pending domestic violence, violent felonies or gun convictions. The DC Pretrial Supervision Agency (PSA) screens the person for clinical eligibility. Clinical eligibility is defined as having a severe mental health diagnosis such as schizophrenia or bi-polar, and requires that the defendant be approved for supervision under PSA’s Specialized Supervision Unit. Persons with a co-occurring substance abuse disorder may be allowed into MHCC but must be willing to cooperate with drug testing and substance abuse treatment recommendations. In addition, participants must be competent and not incarcerated (halfway house placement is acceptable). If compliance with treatment services is maintained, as well as the other conditions set by the court, participants will be allowed to enter into a diversion agreement for a period of four months. Upon successful completion of the agreement, the participant will graduate from MHCC and the prosecution will request that their criminal charges be dismissed or reduced.

Title Download PDF
Mental Health Community Court Program Brochure Download
US Misdemeanor Community Courts

The Superior Court established the East of the River Community Court (ERCC) in September 2002. The ERCC was established to process misdemeanor cases more efficiently, reduce police overtime, and provide additional resources to the underserved neighborhoods east of the Anacostia River. The ERCC adjudicated US misdemeanor cases not involving domestic violence in the Sixth and Seventh MPD Police Districts east of the Anacostia River, including: drug possession, sexual solicitation, unlawful entry, simple assault, theft in the second degree, and illegal dumping. The ERCC collaborated with several agencies and organizations such as the Pretrial Services Agency, Court Services and Offender Supervision Agency, United States Attorney’s Office, Superior Court Trial Lawyers Association, Metropolitan Police Department, and Criminal Justice Coordinating Council. As an alternative to traditional case processing, eligible defendants were offered an opportunity to voluntarily participate in ERCC diversion programming, providing defendants with US misdemeanor offenses to make restitution to the community, accept responsibility for their behavior, obtain necessary treatment and educational services, and divert a possible criminal conviction. Note: A defendant’s eligibility for a diversion programs is determined by the DC United States’ Attorney’s Office.

In 2010, the DC Superior Court commissioned a study to determine the effectiveness of the ERCC in reducing reoffending activity. The study, conducted by Westat, focused on 4,046 defendants who entered the ERCC in 2007, 2008, and 2009 and examined the rate of successful completion of ERCC diversion programs and defendant reoffending activity in the District of Columbia and Maryland for approximately 12 months post-disposition. After receiving preliminary information from Westat indicating that the ERCC approach and community court model was far more successful than traditional criminal justice responses at reducing reoffending activity, DC Superior Court Chief Judge Lee Satterfield reconfigured the Criminal Division’s misdemeanor calendars to implement the community court model in all seven Metropolitan Police Department (MPD) districts beginning in January 2012.

Drug Court

The Superior Court Drug Intervention Program (“Drug Court”) is a special court designed to handle cases involving substance dependant or addicted defendants with non violent misdemeanor and felony charges. The Drug Court is managed by the Pretrial Services Agency. The program offers participants a comprehensive approach to address their addiction or dependency. Drug Court includes supervision, drug testing, treatment services, and immediate sanctions and incentives. For information regarding the Drug Court go to http://www.psa.gov or call (202) 220-5505

Contact
Criminal Division

Presiding Judge: Hon. Juliet McKenna
Deputy Presiding Judge: Hon. Danya Dayson
Director: William Agosto

Moultrie Courthouse
500 Indiana Avenue NW,
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Mondays-Fridays:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Criminal Finance Office: Mondays-Fridays: 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
(All other hours, go to C-10 to arrange to post a bond – bond payments are accepted until C-10 adjourns for the day)

Arraignment Court (Courtroom C10)
Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays:

1:00p.m.

Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays
Citations are heard at 10:00 am and Lockups are heard at 1:00 pm
Holidays 11:00 am
Sundays closed

Telephone / Fax Numbers

Criminal Information
(202) 879-1373

Criminal Finance Office
(202) 879-1840
(202) 638-5352