上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

要求$ 10,000或更少

提交$ 10,000或更少的案例
  • 如果您提起訴訟的金額為$ 10,000或以下,您只能起訴金錢,您可以向小額索賠法庭提起訴訟。
  • 案件必須通過提交稱為“索賠聲明“和”信息表在小額索賠人辦公室。 小額索賠人辦公室位於510 4th Street,NW,120室的B座大樓。 提起案件的一方稱為原告人。 被告是被起訴的人。 索賠說明是一個文件,解釋了為什麼原告認為被告欠原告人的錢。
  • 小額索賠科法庭位於510 4th Street,NW,119室的B座大樓。
  • 請注意,所有申請費用必須以現金,認證支票,信用卡(美國運通卡,發現卡,Visa卡或萬事達卡)或匯款單支付,付給:DC高級法院書記員。“(只有DC Bar的會員可以通過個人支票支付申請費用,酒吧會員應在個人支票上附上他們的酒吧號碼)。

重要信息:
原始聲明書必須具有原告人和被告人的姓名和地址。

在提交案件時,每個被告的原始索賠單都需要一份。

索賠說明必須簡單而完整的陳述為什麼原告起訴被告,並應給出對索賠重要的任何日期和地點。

原告還必須包括對索賠重要的任何合同,期票或其他文件的副本。

所有原告人必須簽署聲明書,包括原告人,並提供其地址和電話號碼(簽名必須手寫,原告不能使用橡皮圖章作為簽名)。

如果索賠聲明未經公證,您必須向小額索賠人員辦公室提供圖片身份證件,以便辦理文員證明文件。

我的案件可以由陪審團聽取嗎?

任何一方都可以請求陪審團審理案件。 請求必須以書面形式簽字。 書面請求必須在第一個法庭日期前向小額索賠人員辦公室提交。 法院可以根據當事人的要求延長提出陪審要求的請求的時間。 如果被告要求陪審團審判,則必須在第一審判日期之前或之前提交要求陪審團審理案件的經過驗證的答复。 “被證實的答案”是被告在文書或公證人面前宣誓的答案。 陪審團要求作出後,小額索償科將不再收到該案。 該案將被分配給高等法院民事司的副法官。 然而,在陪審團要求案件中,所有文件必須向小額索賠人員辦公室提交。 陪審團要求提交時,案件類型將發生變化。 例如,案例編號01 SC2 0003將更改為01 SCJ 0003。 提交陪審團需求的費用為$ 75,除非法官放棄了費用。

我需要一個律師來幫助我的小索賠案件嗎?

小額債權科比法院的其他分支機構不太正式。 程序簡單,費用保持在較低水平,所以大多數人不需要律師代表他們的小額訴訟案件。 你必須是18年齡才能提交案件。 未滿十歲的人或無能的人只能通過“代表或下一個朋友”起訴。 “無能的人”是法官認為不能為自己做出法律決定的人。 “代表或下一個朋友”是為未成年子女或不稱職人士的人。 在小額債權科提出索賠的企業必須有律師。

我需要提出答案嗎?

在大多數小額索賠案件中,被告無須提出書面答复,認罪或其他抗辯。 相反,被告可以告訴法官為什麼不同意原告人在法庭上起訴的部分或全部款項。

備註
小額索賠科的文員不能提供法律意見,但可以協助你處理程序問題和個案信息。

聯繫我們
民事司

審判長: 提問。 勞拉·科德羅
副主審法官: 提問。 安東尼·愛潑斯坦
導向器: Pamela Hunter(代理)

法院大樓B
510 4th Street NW,
華盛頓,直流20001

獲取路線
營業時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

星期六:
9:00到12中午

週三:
6:30 pm到8:00 pm(只有小額索賠和業主與租戶)

可以在Moultrie Courthouse大廳的宵夜提交文件中填寫。

分行電話號碼

民事訴訟處
(202) 879-1133

業主與租戶分行
(202) 879-4879

小額索償科:
(202) 879-1120

法庭支援部門:
(202) 879-1750

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Requesting $10,000 or Less

Filing a Case for $10,000 or Less
  • You can file a lawsuit in Small Claims Court if the amount of money you are suing for is $10,000 or less and you are only suing for money.
  • Cases must be filed by submitting forms called 'Statement of Claim' and 'Information Sheet' in the Small Claims Clerk's Office. The Small Claims Clerk's Office is located in Court Building B, 510 4th Street, NW, Room 120. The party who files the case is called the plaintiff. The defendant is the person who is being sued. The statement of claim is a document that explains why the plaintiff believes the defendant owes the plaintiff money.
  • The Small Claims Branch Courtroom is located in Court Building B, 510 4th Street, NW, Room 119.
  • Please note that all filing fees must be paid by cash, certified check, credit card (America Express, Discover, Visa or MasterCard) or money order, made payable to: Clerk, DC Superior Court." (Only members of the DC Bar may pay filing fees by personal check. Bar members should include their bar number on the personal check).

 

Important Information:
The original Statement of Claim must have the name(s) and address(es) of the plaintiff(s) and defendant(s).

One copy of the original Statement of Claim for each defendant is required when filing a case.

The statement of claim must have a simple but complete statement of why the plaintiff is suing the defendant and should give any dates and places that are important to the claim.

The plaintiff must also include a copy of any contract, promissory note, or other document that is important to the claim.

All plaintiffs must sign the statement of claim, including pro se plaintiffs, and give their address and telephone number (Signatures must be handwritten, a plaintiff cannot use a rubber stamp as a signature).

If the statement of claim is not notarized, you must bring picture identification to the Small Claims Clerk's Office to have the statement of claim verified by a clerk.

 

Can my case be heard by a jury?

Any party can make a request to have their case heard by a jury. The request must be in writing and signed. The written request must be filed with the Small Claims Clerk’s Office before the first court date. The Court may extend the time to file the request for a jury demand upon request by the party. If the defendant wants to request a jury trial, a verified answer requesting the case to be heard by a jury must be filed on or before the first court date. A “verified answer” is an answer that the defendant has sworn to in front of a clerk or notary public. After a jury demand is made, the case will no longer be heard in the Small Claims Branch. The case will be assigned to an Associate Judge in the Civil Division of Superior Court. In jury demand cases, however, all documents must be filed with the Small Claims Clerk’s Office. The case type will change when a jury demand is filed. For example, case number 01 SC2 0003 will change to 01 SCJ 0003. There is a $75 fee for filing a jury demand, unless the fee is waived by the judge.

Do I need a lawyer to help me with my small claims case?

The Small Claims Branch is less formal than other branches of the Court. The procedures are simple and costs kept low so that most people do not need a lawyer to represent them in their small claims case. You must be 18 years old to file a case. Someone who is under the age of 18 or an incompetent person can only sue through a "representative or next of friend". An “incompetent person” is someone who a judge believes cannot make legal decisions for him or herself. A “representative or next of friend” is a person acting for the minor child or incompetent person. A business that files a claim in the Small Claims Branch must have a lawyer.

Do I need to file an answer?

In most small claims cases, defendants are not required to file an answer, plea, or other defense(s) in writing. Instead, defendants can just tell the judge why they disagree that they owe some or all of the money the plaintiff is suing for when they are in court.

Note
The clerks in the Small Claims Branch cannot give legal advice, but can assist you with procedural questions and case information.

Contact
Civil Division

Presiding Judge: J. Ramsey Johnson
Deputy Presiding Judge: Laura A. Cordero
Director: Zabrina W. Dempson, Esq.

Court Building B
510 4th Street NW,
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Saturdays:
9:00 a.m. to 12 noon

Wednesdays:
6:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. (only Small Claims, and Landlord & Tenant)

Filings can be made in the after-hours filing box in the lobby of the Moultrie Courthouse.

Branch Telephone Numbers

Civil Actions Branch:
(202) 879-1133

Landlord and Tenant Branch:
(202) 879-4879

Small Claims and Conciliation Branch:
(202) 879-1120

Quality Review Branch:
(202) 879-1750