上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院
語言訪問服務

哥倫比亞特區法院致力於確保以下人員訴諸司法:

  • 英語口語、閱讀或理解能力有限的個人
  • 失聰或聽障人士

語言訪問一直是法院的首要任務。 我們了解語言訪問會導致有意義地訪問司法程序和法院服務。

通過法庭口譯服務辦公室 (OCIS),法庭免費向法庭使用者提供全方位的語言協助服務。 服務包括:

  • 法庭訴訟和活動的口譯服務
  • 法庭表格、命令、通知、傳票和信息材料的翻譯
  • 法院網站上的信息和 移動應用程序 多種語言
  • 整個法院的英語和西班牙語標牌
  • 在公共服務櫃檯提供幫助的雙語(西班牙語)員工

在典型的非大流行年,法院為平均 50 場口譯活動提供超過 6,000 種語言的語言服務。 70% 的語言協助請求來自講西班牙語的法院用戶。 其他經常要求的語言包括美國手語、阿姆哈拉語、法語、阿拉伯語、韓語、提格里尼亞語、越南語和普通話。 所有法庭口譯員和筆譯員都符合我們的嚴格標準,包括認證和完成強制性培訓。

為確保司法官員和法院工作人員了解他們的責任,以確保我們服務的不同人群能夠使用語言,所有員工都需要進行語言使用培訓。

OCIS CY 2021 統計數據

OCIS 口譯員申請表

請盡可能提前填寫下面的 OCIS 聯繫表,最好是在您希望口譯員出席的聽證會前四 (4) 週。 OCIS 必須提前收到通知,以確保口譯員的可用性。

語言訪問反饋/投訴

非英語使用者的語言訪問是 DC 法院的一個重要優先事項。 出於這個原因,DC 法院感謝您抽出寶貴時間就我們的表現以及您在與口譯員合作或嘗試以您的語言獲得法院服務時可能遇到的任何問題或困難提供反饋。

聯繫日期
你是代理律師嗎?
對於公眾

你是否需要翻譯員?

如果您的英語能力有限或失聰或有聽力障礙,法院將在您的庭審中免費為您提供口譯員。

您可以通過以下方式要求法庭提供口譯員:

 

請閱讀這份文件 這裡 有關如何與口譯員合作的重要提示。 提供西班牙語版本 這裡, 並且有阿姆哈拉語版本 這裡.

如果您希望私下保留口譯員的服務,您會找到一份口譯員的禮貌名單 這裡. 請直接聯繫口譯員,詢問他們的可用性、費率和資格。

你需要翻譯嗎?

如果您想要從法院收到的法院命令或其他文件的翻譯件,請詢問您案件中的法官或法官分庭。 法院將免費提供翻譯。

請注意,所有案件提交,包括但不限於投訴、請願和動議,都必須以英文提交。 法院不會提供案件文件的翻譯。 法院或法院網頁上提供的非英語版本的官方法院表格僅供無法閱讀英文表格的人使用。

如果您在填寫法庭表格時需要幫助,您可以在我們的自助中心之一獲得幫助,或者,如果您符合條件,可以在所列的民事法律服務提供者之一獲得免費幫助 這裡. 西班牙語版本是 這裡 阿姆哈拉語版本可用 這裡. 如果您希望私下保留翻譯人員的服務,您將找到一份免費的翻譯人員名單 這裡. 請直接聯繫翻譯人員,詢問他們的可用性、費率和資格。

您需要幫助與法院工作人員溝通嗎?

當您接近公共服務櫃檯時,您可以指向一張 I Speak 卡,告知法庭書記您的語言偏好。 然後,法庭書記員將呼叫電話口譯員協助溝通。 您可能會看到 I Speak 卡 這裡 並下載它,如果你願意。 如果您是聾啞人,ASL 口譯員將親自或遠程協助您。 如果需要,也可以使用輔助技術。

如果您會說西班牙語,您也很可能能夠在公共服務櫃檯與西班牙語雙語職員交談。 您會在法庭上看到雙語西班牙語和英語標誌,引導您參觀大樓。

如果您會說西班牙語並有資格獲得法院指定的律師,您將被指定一名會說西班牙語的律師代表您。 如果您說不同的語言或失聰,您的法庭指定律師可以通過 Web Voucher System 保留口譯員的服務。

語言訪問對 DC 法院很重要。 您可以通過訪問提供有關語言服務的反饋 https://www.dccourts.gov/services/language-access-services#language-access

請注意,OCIS 不安排實時字幕或 CART 服務,也不提供助聽設備。 要安排這些服務,請參閱頁面底部的聯繫信息。

律師

您的客戶需要口譯員嗎?

請求口譯員

法庭口譯服務辦公室 (OCIS) 維護一個由經過認證和合格的自由職業口譯員組成的口譯員登記處,免費為所有訴訟和法庭活動提供口譯服務。

請在您知道您的當事人或證人需要口譯員後儘快提交您的口譯請求,並儘可能在您的審判或聽證會之前提交,以確保口譯員的可用性。 單擊此鏈接請求口譯員:
https://www.dccourts.gov/services/information-and-resources/interpreting-services/request-interpreter-form

如果您是私人律師並希望保留翻譯服務以進行律師/客戶諮詢,您可以參考 DC 法院翻譯登記處的禮貌出版物 這裡. 請直接聯繫口譯員以詢問可用性、費率和資格

與口譯員一起工作

法庭口譯員是語言專家,經過培訓可以將一種語言(例如英語)翻譯成另一種語言(例如西班牙語)的語言等效口譯。 法庭口譯員只為法庭工作; 他們不是案件的當事人; 他們對案件的結果沒有任何興趣; 他們在所有事情上都保持中立。 請參見 這裡 口譯員禮儀和與口譯員一起工作的注意事項。

請注意,OCIS 不提供證據材料的翻譯或轉錄服務。 這包括解釋記錄中的音頻或視頻記錄。 請參見 這裡 對於 OCIS 關於音頻和視頻記錄的解釋政策。

其他資源

如果您是希望參加 OCIS 西班牙律師小組考試的 CJA 或 CCAN 律師,或者您只是想在法庭上提高您的西班牙語技能,您可以在此處找到練習材料。 請發送電子郵件至 口譯 [在] dcsc.gov 有關其他學習材料的建議。

請注意,OCIS 不安排實時字幕或 CART 服務,也不提供助聽設備。 要安排這些服務,請參閱頁面底部的聯繫信息。

哥倫比亞特區法院的口譯員

DC 法院建立了一個口譯員登記處,由經過認證和合格的自由法庭口譯員組成,可根據需要簽訂合同。

  • 作為認證口譯員加入, 看到這個頁面 了解您需要遵循的要求和步驟,才能在 DC 法院口譯員登記處添加為認證口譯員。
  • 對於不存在法院口譯員考試的語言,希望在哥倫比亞特區法院工作的口譯員可以在哥倫比亞特區法院口譯員登記處註冊為合格的口譯員。 要成為合格的口譯員, 看到這個頁面 了解您需要遵循的要求和步驟,才能在口譯員註冊表中添加為合格的口譯員。
  • 所有希望在法院工作並加入口譯員登記處的口譯員還必須觀看視頻演示並通過關於口譯員道德守則的測驗。
  • 作為加入口譯員登記處的最後一步,所有口譯員都必須在哥倫比亞特區法院完成新口譯員培訓班。
  • 為了留在口譯員登記處,口譯員應每兩年完成 12 小時的繼續教育課程。

OCIS 根據需要聘請自由譯員。 OCIS 盡可能優先考慮經過認證的自由譯員。 表現出專業精神、穿著職業裝準時到達並遵守《口譯員道德準則》的口譯員也將被優先考慮。

為滿足法院的迫切需要,將根據具體情況制定例外情況。

在註冊表上更改狀態

如果合格的口譯員滿足被視為認證口譯員的要求,該口譯員在 DC 法院口譯員登記處的身份將更改為認證口譯員。

其他語言信息

 

DC法院信息手冊翻譯:

職稱 下載PDF
信息手冊:阿姆哈拉語 下載
信息手冊:阿拉伯語 下載
信息手冊:中文 下載
信息手冊:英文 下載
信息手冊:法語 下載
信息手冊:韓文 下載
信息手冊:西班牙語 下載
信息手冊:斯瓦希里語 下載
信息手冊:越南語 下載
阿姆哈拉語認證考試

哥倫比亞特區法院的法庭口譯服務辦公室每年 XNUMX 月提供阿姆哈拉語法庭口譯員認證考試,以認證阿姆哈拉語口譯員。

資格要求

為了符合參加阿姆哈拉語法院口譯員認證考試的資格,首先必須要求候選人完成以下步驟, 為了:

  1. 通過由 DC 法院和其他周邊司法管轄區提供的全國州法院中心書面英語法庭口譯員考試。 筆試內容包括 a) 對書面英語詞彙和習語的理解,b) 常見的法庭相關情況和詞彙,以及 c) 道德行為和職業操守的知識。
     
  2. 通過英語和/或阿姆哈拉語的口語能力面試 (OPI)。 候選人將被允許以英語和/或阿姆哈拉語參加 OPI 除非 他們通過了筆試。 OPI 衡量候選人說英語和/或阿姆哈拉語的能力,而不是口譯能力。 這是與面試官以英語和/或阿姆哈拉語進行的一對一電話交談。
 

考試內容

要通過阿姆哈拉語法庭口譯員認證考試,口譯員必須掌握相當於受過高等教育的母語人士的英語和阿姆哈拉語,並對兩種語言的法律概念有透徹的理解。 口譯員還必須能夠準確、完整和迅速地傳達信息。

考試測試法庭上最常用的三種解釋模式:即場翻譯,連續傳譯和同時傳譯。

視覺翻譯: 要求考生在將英語大聲翻譯為阿姆哈拉語時閱讀英語書面文件,並在以英語大聲翻譯時閱讀阿姆哈拉奇書面文件。 每個文檔的長度約為225個字。 每個文檔給候選人6分鐘的時間,以便他們對其內容進行審查並在進行記錄時進行視線翻譯。 這是一個定時練習。 分配的總時間:12分鐘(每個文檔6分鐘)。 指示時間不算在這12分鐘之內。

連續解釋: 候選人聽錄音質的人正在問一個說阿姆哈拉語的證人。 候選人在錄音時必須將英語問題大聲翻譯成阿姆哈拉語,而證人的回答則從阿姆哈拉語翻譯成英語。 問題和答案的長度從一個單詞到最多50個單詞不等。 考生在考試的這一部分中最多可以請求兩(2)次重複。 這是一個定時練習。 分配的總時間:從錄製開始算起,包括重複在內的22分鐘。

同聲傳譯: 候選人聽英語錄製的律師對陪審團或法官的開幕詞或閉幕辯論。 該段落以每分鐘120個單詞的速度記錄,長度約為900個單詞。 語音持續大約7到10分鐘,沒有停止。 候選人通過耳機收聽時,會在錄音的同時將所有陳述大聲地解釋為阿姆哈拉語。 此部分總共需要大約12分鐘的時間,包括說明和設備準備。

考試日期和註冊

阿姆哈拉語法庭口譯員認證考試通常安排在每年六月。

聯繫我們
法庭解釋辦公室
服務項目

卡里瑪·阿祖茲
(202) 879-4828

500印第安納大道西北
Suite 4100
華盛頓,直流20001

地址
實時字幕

OCIS 不安排實時字幕或“CART”服務。 相反,請聯繫:

克利夫頓格蘭迪
(202) 879-1016

輔助聽力裝置

您可以通過以下方式之一獲取助聽設備:

諾瑪湯普森或克利夫頓格蘭迪
(202) 879-1016

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts
Language Access Services

The District of Columbia Courts are committed to ensuring access to justice for:

  • Individuals with a limited ability to speak, read, or understand English
  • Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing

Language access is and has long been a top priority of the Courts. We understand that language access results in meaningful access to the judicial process and court services.

Through the Office of Court Interpreting Services (OCIS), the Courts provide a full range of language assistance services at no cost to the court user. Services include:

  • Interpretation services for court proceedings and events
  • Translations of court forms, orders, notices, summonses, and informational material
  • Information on the Courts' website and mobile app in multiple languages
  • Signage in English and Spanish throughout the courthouse
  • Bilingual (Spanish-speaking) employees who are available at public service counters to help

In a typical, non-pandemic year, the Courts provides language services in over 50 languages for an average of 6,000 interpretation events. 70% of all language assistance requests are from Spanish-speaking court users. Other frequently requested languages include American Sign Language, Amharic, French, Arabic, Korean, Tigrinya, Vietnamese, and Mandarin. All court interpreters and translators satisfy our strict standards, which include certification and the completion of mandatory training.

To ensure that judicial officers and court staff know their responsibilities to ensure language access for the diverse population we serve, language access training is required for all employees.

OCIS CY 2021 statistics

OCIS Interpreter Request Form

Please fill out the OCIS contact form below as far in advance as possible, preferably four (4) weeks before the hearing that you wish to have the interpreter attend. It is important that OCIS receive advance notice to ensure the availability of the interpreter.

Language Access Feedback/Complaint

Language access for non-English speakers is an important priority at the DC Courts. For this reason, the DC Courts appreciate your time in providing feedback on what we are doing well and about any problems or difficulties you may have encountered while working with an interpreter or trying to access court services in your language.

Date of contact
Are you represented by an attorney?*
For the Public

Do you need an interpreter?

If you have limited English skills or are deaf or hard-of-hearing, the Courts will provide an interpreter at no cost for you in your court hearing.

You can ask the Courts for an interpreter by:

  • Informing the clerk’s office in the division in which your case is pending or
  • Completing an interpreter request form online at
    https://www.dccourts.gov/services/information-and-resources/interpreting-services/request-interpreter-form

    You may request an interpreter for yourself, another party to the case, or for a witness who will testify in your case.

    Make sure to request an interpreter as soon as you know you need an interpreter and as far in advance of your trial or hearing as possible to ensure the availability of an interpreter.

 

Please read this document here for important tips on how to work with an interpreter. A Spanish version is available here, and an Amharic version is available here.

If you wish to privately retain the services of an interpreter, you will find a courtesy list of interpreters here. Please contact the interpreter directly to inquire about their availability, rates, and qualifications.

Do you need a translation?

If you would like a translation of a court order or other document you received from the Courts, ask the judge or judge’s chambers in your case. The Courts will provide the translation free of charge.

Please note that all case filings including but not limited to complaints, petitions, and motions, must be filed in English. The Courts will not provide translations of case filings. Official court forms that are available at the courthouse or on the Courts' webpage in languages other than English are to be used only as guides for people who cannot read the English-language forms.

If you need help filling out a court form, you may receive assistance at one of our self-help centers, or, if you qualify, free assistance at one of the civil legal service providers listed here. The Spanish version is here and the Amharic version is available here. If you wish to privately retain the services of a translator, you will find a courtesy list of translators here. Please contact the translator directly to inquire about their availability, rates, and qualifications.

Do you need help communicating with Court staff?

When you approach a public service counter, you can point to an I Speak Card to inform the court clerk of your language preference. The court clerk will then call a telephonic interpreter to assist with communication. You may see the I Speak Card here and download it if you wish. If you are deaf, an ASL interpreter will assist you in person or remotely. Assistive technology is also available if needed.

If you are Spanish-speaking, you will also very likely be able to speak with a Spanish bilingual clerk at the public service counters. You will see bilingual Spanish and English signs court-wide to guide you around the building.

If you speak Spanish and qualify for a court appointed attorney, you will be appointed a Spanish speaking attorney to represent you. If you speak a different language or you are deaf, your court appointed attorney can retain the services of an interpreter through the Web Voucher System.

Language access is important to the DC Courts. You can provide feedback on language services by visiting https://www.dccourts.gov/services/language-access-services#language-access

Please note that OCIS does not schedule real-time captioning, or CART, services, nor does it provide assistive listening devices. To arrange for those services, please see the contact information at the bottom of the page.

For Attorneys

Does your client need an interpreter?

Request an Interpreter

The Office of Court Interpreting Services (OCIS) maintains an Interpreter Registry of freelance certified and qualified interpreters to provide interpretation services for all proceedings and court events at no charge.

Please submit your request for an interpreter as soon as you know your client or witness needs an interpreter and as far in advance of your trial or hearing as possible to ensure the availability of the interpreter. Click here to request an interpreter.

If you are a private attorney and wish to retain the services of an interpreter for attorney/client consultations, you may refer to the courtesy publication of the DC Courts Interpreter Registry here. Please contact the interpreter directly to inquire about availability, rates, and qualifications

Working with an Interpreter

Court interpreters are language experts and trained to render linguistically equivalent interpretation from one language such as English into another language such as Spanish. Court interpreters work solely for the Courts; they are not parties to a case; they do not have any interest in the outcome of the case; and they remain neutral in all matters. Please see here for Interpreter Etiquette & the Do’s and Don’ts of Working with an Interpreter.

Please note that OCIS does not provide translation or transcription services of evidentiary materials. This includes interpreting audio or video recordings on the record. Please see here for the OCIS Policy on Interpretation of Audio and Video Recordings.

Additional Resources

If you are a CJA or CCAN attorney who wishes to take the OCIS Spanish Attorney Panel test, or if you simply wish to improve your Spanish language skills in court, you may find practice materials here. Please email the interpreters [at] dcsc.gov for suggestions on additional study materials.

Please note that OCIS does not schedule real-time captioning, or CART, services, nor does it provide assistive listening devices. To arrange for those services, please see the contact information at the bottom of the page.

Interpreters at DC Courts

The DC Courts have established an Interpreter Registry comprised of certified and qualified freelance court interpreters for contract on an as-needed basis.

  • To join as a certified interpreter, see this page for the requirements and steps you’ll need to follow to be added as a certified interpreter on the DC Courts Interpreter Registry.
  • For languages in which a court interpreter examination does not exist, interpreters who wish to work at the DC Courts may be registered as a qualified interpreter on the DC Courts Interpreter Registry. To join as a qualified interpreter, see this page for the requirements and steps you’ll need to follow to be added as a qualified interpreter on the Interpreter Registry.
  • All interpreters who wish to work at the Courts and gain inclusion on the Interpreter Registry are also required to watch a video presentation and pass a quiz on the Interpreter Code of Ethics.
  • As a final step to join the Interpreter Registry, all interpreters must complete an Orientation Workshop for New Interpreters in the DC Courts.
  • To remain on the Interpreter Registry, interpreters shall complete 12 hours of Continuing Education courses bi-annually.

OCIS hires freelance interpreters on an as-needed basis. OCIS gives priority to certified freelance interpreters whenever possible. Interpreters who demonstrate professionalism, arrive on time for their assignments in professional attire, and abide by the Interpreter Code of Ethics will also be given priority.

To cover an immediate need of the Courts, exceptions are made on a case-by-case basis.

Changing Status on the Registry

If a qualified interpreter fulfills the requirements to be deemed a certified interpreter, the interpreter’s status on the DC Courts Interpreter Registry will be changed to certified.

Information in Other Languages

 

DC Courts Information Brochure Translations:

Title Download PDF
Information Brochure: Amharic Download
Information Brochure: Arabic Download
Information Brochure: Chinese Download
Information Brochure: English Download
Information Brochure: French Download
Information Brochure: Korean Download
Information Brochure: Spanish Download
Information Brochure: Swahili Download
Information Brochure: Vietnamese Download
Amharic Certification Exam

The Office of Court Interpreting Services of the District of Columbia Courts offers the Amharic court interpreter certification exam to certify Amharic interpreters in June annually.

Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible to take the Amharic court interpreter certification exam, candidates are first required to complete the following steps, in order:

  1. Pass the National Center for State Courts written English court interpreter exam, which is offered by the DC Courts and other surrounding jurisdictions. The written examination covers a) comprehension of written English vocabulary and idioms, b) common court-related situations and vocabulary, and c) knowledge of ethical behavior and professional conduct.
     
  2. Pass an Oral Proficiency Interview (OPI) in English and/or Amharic. Candidates will be permitted to take the OPI in English and/or Amharic only if they pass the written exam. The OPI measures how well the candidate speaks English and/or Amharic, not interpreting ability. It is a one-on-one telephonic conversation with an interviewer conducted in English and/or Amharic.
 

Exam Description

To pass the Amharic court interpreter certification exam, interpreters must possess a mastery of English and Amharic equivalent to a highly educated native speaker and have a thorough understanding of legal concepts in both languages. Interpreters must also be able to convey messages accurately, completely, and promptly.

The exam tests for the three modes of interpretation most commonly used in court: Sight Translation, Consecutive Interpretation, and Simultaneous Interpretation.

Sight Translation: The candidate is asked to read a document written in English, while interpreting it aloud into Amharic, and to read a document written in Amharic, while interpreting it aloud in English. Each document is approximately 225 words in length. The candidate is given 6 minutes per document to review the content and perform the sight translation while being recorded. This is a timed exercise. Total time allotted: 12 minutes (6 min. per document). Time for instructions is not counted as part of the 12 minutes.

Consecutive Interpretation: The candidate listens to a recording of an English-speaking attorney who is questioning an Amharic-speaking witness. The candidate must interpret aloud the English questions into Amharic and the witness’s answers from Amharic into English while being recorded. The questions and answers are of various lengths ranging from one word to a maximum of 50 words. A candidate may request a maximum of two (2) repetitions during this portion of the exam. This is a timed exercise. Total time allotted: 22 minutes, including repetitions, from the time the recording begins.

Simultaneous Interpretation: The candidate listens to a recording in English of an attorney’s opening statement or closing argument to a jury or judge. This passage is recorded at a speed of 120 words per minute and is approximately 900 words in length. The speech continues for about 7 to 10 minutes without stopping. While listening through headphones, the candidate simultaneously interprets aloud all statements into Amharic while being recorded. This segment takes about 12 minutes all together, including instructions and equipment preparation.

Exam Dates and Registration

The Amharic court interpreter certification exam is normally scheduled each June.

Contact
Office of Court Interpreting
Services

Karima Azzouz
(202) 879-4828

500 Indiana Ave NW
Suite 4100
Washington, DC 20001

Get Directions
Real-time Captioning

The OCIS does not schedule real-time captioning, or "CART", services. Instead, please contact:

Clifton Grandy
(202) 879-1016

Assistive Listening Devices

You can obtain assistive listening devices by contacting one of the following:

Norma Thompson or Clifton Grandy
(202) 879-1016