上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

兒童指導診所

兒童指導診所

兒童指導診所是哥倫比亞特區高等法院家庭法院社會服務處的一個分支機構。 它旨在滿足法院及其工作人員的需求,以提供全面的臨床和法醫心理評估。 還提供個人和團體心理治療,以及實證研究和諮詢。

哥倫比亞特區是許多民族和文化多樣化的家園。 該市少年司法系統中的大多數青年來自經濟上處於不利地位和資源貧乏的社區。 許多青年及其家人在其一生中經歷過多次創傷經歷。 兒童指導診所為具有不同身份,背景,需求和能力的個人提供服務,包括:LGBTQ +,非英語青年,共同發生行為健康障礙的個人,耳聾/聽力障礙者以及身體殘疾者。 因此,我們的員工和受訓人員有特殊和獨特的機會進行文化知情評估,並為在社區和安全環境中出現一系列認知,情感和人際關係問題的青少年提供服務。

兒童指導診所還為博士前心理學學生提供臨床培訓,包括為期一年的全日制APA認證實習計劃,以及博士課程外部評估和心理治療培訓。 單擊此處以了解有關CGC實習計劃的更多信息. 單擊此處以了解有關CGC實習計劃的更多信息.

服務項目
法院命令法醫/心理健康評估
  • 普通電池(心理)
  • 心理教育
  • 能否經受審判
  • 放棄米蘭達權利的能力
  • 神經心理學
  • 暴力風險
  • 性犯罪者
  • 豁免少年司法管轄權評估
治療服務
  • 個人和團體治療
  • 憤怒管理
  • 能力素養課程
  • 少年性犯罪者治療
多學科諮詢和預防服務
  • 專業/轉移法院
    • 少年行為轉移計劃(JBDP)
    • 希望法院
  • 兒童商業性剝削(CSEC)MDT和特別工作組
夥伴:
  • 家事法庭法官
  • 行為健康系(DBH)
  • 總檢察長辦公室(OAG)
  • 防衛吧
  • 兒童和家庭服務局(CFSA)
  • 衛生服務部(DHS)
  • 青少年康復服務處(DYRS)
過去和現在的研究
  • 開展了性交易評估審查(STAR),經過實證驗證的篩查用於識別面臨CSEC風險的青年
  • 非洲裔美國人在少年司法系統中的衡量差異
  • 為非洲裔美國人參與少年司法制度製定措施的製定
  • 評估心理健康法庭和其他緩刑計劃的效力
  • 評估少年司法人口中的刻板印象威脅和種族身份態度
  • 少年司法人口的人口和社會心理因素
  • 流行病學研究
診所工作人員
卡塔拉沃特金斯 - 法律博士
卡塔拉沃特金斯 - 法律博士

卡塔拉沃特金斯 - 法律博士 是兒童指導診所的代理首席心理學家和有執照的心理學家。 她在霍華德大學獲得了諮詢心理學博士學位,並持有馬里蘭大學與創傷和酷刑倖存者合作的研究生證書。 Watkins-Laws 博士在法醫、學校、門診醫院和社區環境中工作了超過 15 年。 Watkins-Laws 博士在勞倫斯霍爾青年服務中心完成了她的博士前實習,這是位於伊利諾伊州芝加哥市庫克縣的一個住院治療中心。 她為華盛頓特區的兒童、青少年和成人提供心理治療、評估和諮詢。 她曾在多個專業會議上發表演講,並撰寫和合著了多篇科學文章,包括在 NSHA Dialog、The Journal of Negro Education 和 Psychology、Public Policy 和 Law 上發表的文章。 在 DC 法院,Watkins-Laws 博士是多機構少年專門法院利益相關者委員會的成員。 她與少年司法辦公室和司法局共同撰寫了授予 DC 法院社會服務部的多項聯邦贈款。 Watkins-Laws 博士還是 DC 法院性交易評估審查 (STAR) 驗證研究的合著者,STAR 是一種篩查工具,用於確定法院涉案青年遭受兒童性剝削的風險。
 

詹妮弗·克里斯特曼,心理學博士,ABPP
詹妮弗·克里斯特曼,心理學博士,ABPP

詹妮弗·克里斯特曼,心理學博士,ABPP 是兒童指導診所的監督心理學家。 她還擔任診所的實習和實習培訓主任。 Christman 博士是美國專業心理學委員會 (ABPP) 認證的法醫心理學家和獲得許可的臨床心理學家。 她作為法醫評估員的經驗涵蓋了從東海岸的城市和農村法院系統到中西部的監獄系統、州機構、政府承包商和私人診所。 她專門從事青少年豁免/轉移、性心理和暴力風險評估、父母健康和成人民事能力以及美國退伍軍人的 IME。 Christman 博士是美國法醫心理學學會的研究員,曾就法醫主題在當地、地區和國家進行過演講。 她曾出現在《今日心理學》和《法醫心理學家》播客中。
 

Mitchell Hugonnet 博士
Mitchell Hugonnet 博士

Mitchell Hugonnet 博士 是兒童指導診所的監督心理學家。 Hugonnet 博士在各種環境中實踐法醫心理學超過 25 年。 他是有執照的心理學家和認證的性犯罪者治療提供者 (CSOTP)。 他在聖伊麗莎白醫院法醫住院部完成了 APA 認可的實習和住院醫師培訓。 後來他回到聖伊麗莎白擔任審前小組主任長達 14 年。 Hugonnet 博士在兒童指導診所擔任監督法醫心理學家 18 年,並擔任實習培訓主任 9 年。 Hugonnet 博士是性虐待侵犯所有人 (SAVE) 治療計劃的創建者和持續推動者,該計劃針對因性犯罪而被裁定的青少年。 SAVE 是華盛頓特區的第一個青少年性犯罪治療項目,直到最近,它還是該地區唯一的此類項目。 Hugonnet 博士還是能力獲得培訓 (CAT) 計劃的創建者和持續推動者,該計劃為被發現無法勝任審判的青少年提供能力補救。 Hugonnet 博士曾在多所大學任教,並在眾多城市、州和聯邦法院案件中提供法醫專家證人證詞。 他曾在《人物》雜誌、《紐約時報》和《華盛頓郵報》以及電視節目《與騰龍·霍爾一起犯罪》和《與保拉·扎恩一起案件》中出現。
 

馬拉奇理查森博士
馬拉奇理查森博士

馬拉奇理查森博士 是兒童指導診所的監督心理學家,在那裡他提供治療、心理評估和監督服務。 他在法醫評估、精神病理學、青少年發展和創傷暴露方面具有特殊的專業知識。 理查森博士畢業於莫爾豪斯學院和弗吉尼亞大學庫裡教育學院,熱衷於為服務不足的社區提供服務,並與參與司法系統的青年合作。 他曾為包括華盛頓法院和弗吉尼亞州夏洛茨維爾的藍岭拘留中心在內的各種法醫機構的青少年提供評估和治療服務。 除了他的臨床經驗外,Richardson 博士還利用他在青年指導、身份發展和暴力暴露領域的研究經驗,為青少年客戶提供了對當前問題的詳細而明智的理解。 在他的工作範圍內,理查森博士致力於提供服務,考慮影響青年司法系統的概念化、治療和結果的文化和背景因素。
 

Daniuska R. Ruiz女士
Daniuska R. Ruiz女士

Daniuska R. Ruiz女士來自多米尼加共和國,27 年前搬到馬里蘭州。 她於 2006 年獲得了喬治王子社區學院的副學士學位。在過去的 17 年裡,她一直是華盛頓高等法院的副書記。 在加入 DC Courts 之前,Ruiz 女士曾擔任喬治王子縣公立學校的家庭聯絡員、馬里蘭州 Silver Spring 一家律師事務所的雙語法律助理以及針對低收入家庭的醫療健康保險計劃的辦公室經理。天主教慈善機構 DC。


 

特麗·斯特里克蘭女士

特麗·斯特里克蘭女士過去六年在兒童指導診所擔任副文員,是芝加哥本地人,於 2012 年 XNUMX 月搬到華盛頓特區。她的專業背景主要是在法律領域,最近在一家公司管理文字處理人員。國際律師事務所。 華盛頓高等法院的兒童指導診所是她第一次涉足政府工作,她希望自己能很好地服務。 她和她結婚十年的丈夫住在馬里蘭州的一個小鎮上。



 

珍妮弗·斯諾女士
珍妮弗·斯諾女士

珍妮弗·斯諾女士 是兒童指導診所的精神病住院治療機構 (PRTF) 協調員。 她是明尼蘇達人,大約 15 年前搬到馬里蘭州。 在過去的 14 年裡,她一直在哥倫比亞特區高等法院的法院社會服務部擔任緩刑官。 在受僱於華盛頓特區法院之前,她曾在明尼蘇達州擔任緩刑官,然後於 2001 年被聘為南達科他州地區的美國緩刑官。詹妮弗與她的丈夫和他們的兩個兒子住在馬里蘭州.

研究實驗室

住在兒童指導診所的研究實驗室致力於促進兒童和青少年法醫實踐中的心理科學。

診所的服務主要集中在心理健康檢查和評估,以幫助涉及法院的青少年的治療法學。 DCSC服務於主要是非洲裔美國人的少年人口。 大多數DCSC青年還居住在受暴力程度高,高中畢業率低和家庭收入水平低的華盛頓特區。

鑑於許多心理測量未在不同群體上得到驗證,類似於DCSC服務的那些,CGC研究實驗室的主要目標之一是檢查診所用於DCSC人群的心理評估測量的可靠性和有效性。 診所還關注與心理評估相關的因素,例如刻板印象威脅,這可能會降低評估分數的有效性。 另一個重點領域是開發旨在與DCSC人群和其他類似人群一起使用的評估工具。

此外,該研究實驗室旨在研究法醫問題中的心理社會變量,包括種族身份態度和陳規定型觀念對參與少年司法系統的非裔美國青少年的心理篩查和評估工具的影響。 研究實驗室還研究了女性和男性逮捕率之間的地方和國家趨同,以及如何將收斂與心理健康狀況的差異聯繫起來。

刊物

出版的製造商

安德烈塔(Andretta,JR),沃特金斯(Watkins),KM,巴恩斯(Barnes),緬因州&伍德蘭(MH)(2016)。 謹慎識別對兒童的商業性剝削(CSEC)受害者和個性化干預措施:實踐科學。 心理學,公共政策與法律,第22卷,第260-270頁。

安德烈塔(Andretta,JR),沃雷爾(Worrell),FC,拉米雷斯(Ramirez),上午,巴恩斯(Barnes),緬因州(Odom,T.)和伍德蘭(MH)(2016)。 非洲裔美國少年法院受訪者情緒困擾及其對治療法學的影響的路徑模型。 文化多樣性與少數民族心理學》,第22卷,第341-349頁。 doi:10.1037 / cdp0000053

安德烈塔(Andretta,JR),拉米雷斯(Ramirez),上午,巴恩斯(Barnes),緬因州,奧多姆(Odom),T。 參與少年司法系統的非洲裔美國青少年的父母安全感。 家庭心理學雜誌,2015,29-884。 doi:894 / fam10.1037

安德烈塔(Andretta,JR),沃雷爾(Worrell),FC,拉米雷斯(Ramirez),上午,巴恩斯(Barnes),緬因州(Odom),T。 柱頭啟動對非洲裔美國青少年法醫篩查的影響。 心理諮詢師,2015,43-1162。 doi:1189 / 10.1177

Ramirez,AM,Andretta,JR,Barnes,ME和Woodland,MH(2015)。 少年精神衛生法院的累犯和精神病症狀結果。 少年和家庭法院雜誌,66,31-46。 doi:10.1111 / jfcj.12025

Worrell,FC,Andretta,JR和Woodland,MH(2014)。 涉及青少年司法系統的非洲裔美國青少年的跨種族認同量表(CRIS)得分和資料。 心理諮詢雜誌,61,570-580。 doi:10.1037 / cou0000041

伍德蘭(MH),安德烈塔(Andretta),JR,摩爾(Moore),JA(JA),貝內特(Bennett),蒙大拿州(MT),沃雷爾(FC)和巴恩斯(ME)(2014)。 在法醫環境中非裔美國男性的MACI得分:我們是否在衡量我們認為自己在衡量的東西? 法醫學心理學雜誌,第14卷,第418-437頁。 doi:10.1080 / 15228932.2014.973773

Andretta,JR,湯普森,AD,Ramirez,AM,Kelly,J.,Barnes,M.E,&Woodland,MH(2014)。 有關Conners綜合行為評估量表-自我報告得分的非裔美國人與青少年法庭接觸的心理計量學研究。 法醫學心理學雜誌,第14卷,第1-23頁。 doi:10.1080 / 15228932.2014.863051

安德烈塔(Andretta,JR),伍德蘭(Woodland),MH,拉米雷斯(Ramirez),AM和巴恩斯(Barnes),ME(2013)。 在與青少年法庭接觸的非裔青少年中,ADHD症狀頻率和ADHD症狀計數聚類。 法醫精神病學雜誌,24,570-593。 doi:10.1080 / 14789949.2013.823218

安德烈塔(Andretta,JR),奧多姆(Odom),T。巴克斯代爾(Barksdale),F。巴恩斯(Barnes),緬因州(M)拉米雷斯(Ramirez)和伍德蘭(MH)(2014)。 審查緩刑官員的管理策略和態度。 法醫社會工作雜誌,第4卷,第150-166頁。 doi:10.1080 / 1936928X.2014.958644

兒童指導診所和博士心理學實習

概述:
兒童指導診所(CGC)的實習計劃提供評估和治療方面的培訓,主要側重於評估。 CGC為博士心理學課程的研究生提供全年和夏季實習課程。 CGC已成為臨床培訓場所超過20年。 我們由五名獲得許可的臨床心理學家組成,包括法醫心理學和神經心理學方面的專家,他們具有大量的評估,治療和研究經驗。 還有兩名副秘書,他們通過安排約會,完成報告並幫助我們的青年和家人感到受歡迎和舒適來協助臨床人員和受訓人員。

CGC是特區高級法院社會服務部的一個部門。 法院社會服務司的任務是協助法院進行司法工作,並為參與法院工作的青年提供服務。 CGC通過各種診斷和治療過程為青少年提供臨床和法醫評估,以及個人和團體治療。 這些臨床服務有助於法院在少年案件處理過程中做出決定。 由CGC服務的青年通常在12歲到18歲之間,其中許多人來自服務不足的社區,並且有過學習困難,家庭衝突和遭受創傷的歷史。 青少年面臨的指控通常包括毆打,擁有武器,未經授權使用車輛,濫用或擁有毒品,逃學,失控,盜竊或搶劫。 父母/監護人的參與對於所提供的所有臨床服務都是必要的。

CGC的實習機會為學生提供了提高臨床評估和綜合報告撰寫技能的機會。 這也是學生增強心理治療技能和臨床面試技巧,並獲得法醫經驗的機會。

評定:
CGC實習計劃的主要重點是心理評估。 實習生對參與法庭的青年進行全面的心理教育和心理評估,包括智力,學術,適應性,性格,社會情感和/或診斷措施,以及臨床訪談,附帶訪談和法庭文件審查。 所有評估均由法官下達法院命令。 在這些評估過程中收集的數據將集成到學生編寫的綜合評估報告中。 將這些報告提供給參與青年案件的法院人員(例如,緩刑官,辯護律師),以幫助法院更好地理解青年的心理社會功能,將青年的不良行為置於其生活和發展水平的背景下,建議適當的放置和乾預措施,並協助制定治療計劃。

該實習機會為學生提供了提高臨床評估技能的機會。 因此,期望學生在對客戶和相關附帶信息的臨床和診斷面試中具有透徹的工作知識和技能。 學生還應該精通心理測試,評分,測試數據解釋和報告撰寫(包括建議)。 標準的心理測驗包括:WISC-V,WAIS-IV,WJ-IV,PAI-A,BASC-3和Conners CBRS。 學生還將有機會學習和利用更廣泛的評估手段。

心理治療:
實習生為青少年提供個人和/或團體治療服務。 面對面治療服務是在法院場所進行的,其中可能包括CGC或提供課後節目安排的法院附屬辦公室之一。 由於我們的客戶是未成年人,因此在學校放學後的周一至週四進行現場治療,時間為周一至週四4:00至8:00 pm,其中7:00 pm為最後預約時間。 在正常工作時間(上午8:30至下午5:00)通過電話或視頻聊天進行虛擬,遠程和/或遠程醫療治療。

實習生和實習生還參加了每週四下午的每週2小時的教學研討會。 研討會通常由CGC員工或外部專家主持的為時1小時的研討會,然後是XNUMX個小時的小組監督或學生案例演示。 在輪流的基礎上,學生提出一個案例進行探索和討論,並從教職員工和學生同事那裡得到反饋。 在整個培訓和監督期間,學生會跟踪治療案例,以監控客戶的持續動態和縱向進展。

預計學生將成功地完成心理治療的基礎課程,並且獲得的課程應包括有關道德和多元文化考慮的材料。 學生應具有維護進度/過程說明和其他相關文檔的經驗。

準則和要求:
要求在CGC實習的學生必須是已獲得美國心理學會(APA)認可,認可資格或臨時認可的臨床或諮詢心理學博士學位課程的高級博士研究生。 預計一年制的實習生將被安排在一個學年中學習不少於八個月。 培訓年通常從1月30日到XNUMX月XNUMX日進行,儘管結束日期有一定的靈活性,確切的時間範圍可以與CGC培訓人員協商。 一年級學生必須參加為期數天的迎新活動,通常在XNUMX月的最後一周或XNUMX月的第一周進行。 夏季實習學生通常在XNUMX月至XNUMX月在CGC進行培訓。 夏季實習的開始日期和結束日期具有靈活性,確切的時間範圍可以與CGC的培訓人員協商。 暑期學生必須參加為期一天的迎新活動,該活動通常在XNUMX月中旬舉行。

職責:
預計學生每週將花費不少於16個小時來履行有關CGC的職責。 在現場花費的確切時間可以根據學生上學和安排的時間而有所不同。 每周有一些時間花在編寫評估報告上,這可以在家裡進行。 學生可以期望完成評估並每隔一到兩週報告一次,儘管每週評估的具體次數將由學生,其主管或法院的需求來確定。

監督:
將為學生分配一名有執照的心理學家的個人主管。 學生的指導者將指導工作,並每週提供一對一的反饋。 要求學生在監督期間概念化評估案例,並為治療課程提供臨床進度說明。 在周四的研討會期間,學生還可以接受小組指導。 此外,每個法院指定的站點都有一個站點主管。 現場主管是法院社會服務部的成員,並提供行政協助,後勤指導和指導。 現場主管將負責確保服務交付符合法院規則。

學生的個人指導者將使用學生的學校課程發送的表格或CGC自己的表格完成對學生的定期書面評估。 一些學校可能會同時要求兩種形式。 CGC表格的副本將被記錄下來,以備將來參考。 CGC和DC最高法院保留因表現不佳而罷免任何學生的權利。

學生將獲得以下方面的監督經驗:(a)臨床評估技術,(b)通過一系列評估工具擴展知識和經驗,(c)撰寫綜合報告,(d)提高對文化多樣性及其在臨床過程中的作用的認識, (e)提供具有文化敏感性的臨床服務;(f)與客戶建立和維持融洽的治療關係;(g)在治療工具,理論和技術方面發展知識和技能;(h)適應專業行為和能力以滿足不同需求(接受采訪,危機干預等),(i)道德規範和決策,(j)深入了解自己的臨床身份以及行為對客戶的影響,以及(k)擴大有關有效評估的最新文獻知識以及治療技巧,理論和實施。

職業操守:
所有學生均應遵守APA心理學家道德原則和行為守則,保持道德和專業行為。 學生應熟悉APA法醫心理學專業指南。 學生將遵守法院制定的指導方針。 在法院入職培訓期間,學生將獲得有關這些標準的信息。 此外,所有臨床材料將仍然是診所和DC最高法院的財產。

申請程序:
要申請實習職位,請發送當前的履歷,一份介紹您的興趣的介紹信,兩份負責您迄今為止培訓和/或熟悉您的臨床技能的人員的推薦信,一份經過修訂的評估報告(包括多種評估工具;最好是青少年評估工具),以及經過編輯的治療概念化報告或臨床進展說明,通過電子郵件發送給CGC的副秘書Terri Strickland女士,地址為 特里·斯特里克蘭 [在] dcsc.gov 和Daniuska Ruiz女士 達尼烏斯卡·魯伊斯 [在] dcsc.gov以及培訓協調員Jennifer Christman博士在 詹妮弗·克里斯特曼·培訓 [在] dcsc.gov.

截止日期:
申請將於XNUMX月的第一個星期五的非營業時間在ClGC上提出。 有關採訪的決定很快就會出現。 審查申請後,將決定是否向申請人提供面試機會。 在結束面試後,CGC將做出有關實習機會的最終決定。 如上所述,所有學生都必須參加入學介紹會。 培訓日期將盡快提供。 請據此計劃。

當學生接受外部職位邀請時,將向學生髮送DC法院申請書以完成該申請,其中包括《犯罪記錄請求表》。 申請應立即退回CGC的副書記處,地址為 特里·斯特里克蘭 [在] dcsc.gov達尼烏斯卡·魯伊斯 [在] dcsc.gov,然後復制 詹妮弗·克里斯特曼·培訓 [在] dcsc.gov。 它將轉發給華盛頓特區法院的人力資源部。 未通過此項背景調查的學生將無法在CGC進行培訓。

聯繫我們
家事法庭社會服務部

法院大樓B
510 4th Street,NW,三樓
華盛頓,直流20001

一般信息
(202) 508-1900

獲取路線
開放時間

週一至週五:
8:30到5:00 pm

電話號碼

導向器: 特里奧多姆
202-508-1900
terri.odom [在] dcsc.gov

副主任
預防:
(代理)雪莉亞·羅伯森-亞當斯
202-508-1872

助理副主任
預防犯罪:
(代理)馬克·傑克遜
202-879-4786

副總監二,前和二
後監督:
(代理)羅納德·杜布里
202-508-1902

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Child Guidance Clinic

Child Guidance Clinic

The Child Guidance Clinic is a branch within Family Court Social Services Division of the Superior Court of the District of Columbia. It is designed to meet both the needs of the Court and its staff for the purposes of providing comprehensive clinical and forensic psychological evaluations. Individual and group psychotherapy is also provided, as well as empirical research and consultation.

The District of Columbia is home to many ethnic groups and culturally diverse individuals. The majority of the youth represented in the city’s juvenile justice system are from economically disadvantaged and under-resourced communities. Many of the youth and their families have been exposed to multiple traumatic experiences over the course of their lives. The Child Guidance Clinic serves individuals with varying identities, backgrounds, needs and abilities to include: LGBTQ+, non-English speaking youth, individuals with co-occurring behavioral health disorders, individuals who are deaf/hard of hearing, and individuals who are physically disabled. As a result, our staff and trainees have exceptional and unique opportunities to conduct culturally-informed assessments and provide services to youth that present with an array of cognitive, emotional and interpersonal problems in both community and secure settings.

The Child Guidance Clinic also offers clinical training for pre-doctoral psychology students to include a one-year, full-time APA accredited internship program, and training in assessment and psychotherapy for externs in doctoral programs. Click here to learn more about the CGC externship program. Click here to learn more about the CGC internship program.

Services
Court Ordered Forensic/Mental Health Evaluations
  • General Battery (Psychological)
  • Psychoeducational
  • Competency to Stand Trial
  • Competency to Waive Miranda Rights
  • Neuropsychological
  • Violence Risk
  • Sex Offender
  • Waiver of Juvenile Jurisdiction Evaluation
Therapy Services
  • Individuals and Group Therapy
  • Anger Management
  • Competency Attainment Classes
  • Juvenile Sex Offender Treatment
Multidisciplinary Consultation and Prevention Services
  • Specialty/Diversion Courts
    • Juvenile Behavioral Diversion Program (JBDP)
    • H.O.P.E. Court
  • Commercial Sexual Exploitation of Children (CSEC) MDT and Task Force
Partners:
  • Family Court Judges
  • Department of Behavioral Health (DBH)
  • Office of the Attorney General (OAG)
  • Defense Bar
  • Child and Family Service Agency (CFSA)
  • Department of Health Services (DHS)
  • Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services (DYRS)
Past and Current Research
  • Developed of Sex Trafficking Assessment Review (STAR), empirically validated screening took to identify youth at risk for CSEC
  • Measurement variance of African-Americans in the juvenile justice system
  • Construct development of measures for African-American involved in the juvenile justice system
  • Evaluation of the efficacy of mental health court and other probation programming
  • Evaluation of stereotype threat and racial identity attitudes in the juvenile justice population
  • Demographic and psychosocial factors in the juvenile justice population
  • Epidemiological studies
Clinic Staff
Coming soon.
Research Lab

The research laboratory housed in the Child Guidance Clinic is dedicated to the advancement of psychological science in child and adolescent forensic practice.

The Clinic’s services are primarily focused on mental health screening and assessment to aid therapeutic jurisprudence for Court-involved juveniles. DCSC serves a juvenile population that is predominantly African-American. The majority of DCSC youth also reside in areas of Washington, DC affected by high levels of violence, low rates of high school graduation, and low levels of household income.

Given that many psychological measures are not validated on diverse groups, similar to those served by DCSC, one of the primary goals of the CGC Research Lab is to examine the reliability and validity of psychological assessment measures used by the Clinic for the DCSC population. The Clinic has also focused on factors associated with psychological assessments, such as stereotype threat, that might diminish the validity of assessment scores. Another area of focus has been the development of assessment tools intended for use with the DCSC population, and other similar populations.

Furthermore, the research lab aims to examine psychosocial variables in forensic issues, including the effects of racial identity attitudes and stereotypes on psychological screening and assessment tools among African American adolescents involved in the juvenile justice system. The research lab also studies local and national convergence between female and male arrest rates, and how convergence may be associated with differences in mental health statuses.

Publications

PUBLISHED MANSUCRIPTS

Andretta, J.R., Watkins, K.M., Barnes, M.E., & Woodland, M.H. (2016). Towards the discreet identification of commercial sexual exploitation of children (CSEC) victims and individualized interventions: Science to practice. Psychology, Public Policy, and Law, 22, 260-270.

Andretta, J. R., Worrell, F. C., Ramirez, A.M., Barnes, M.E., Odom, T., & Woodland, M. H. (2016). A pathway model for emotional distress and implications for therapeutic jurisprudence in African American juvenile court respondents. Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology, 22, 341-349. doi: 10.1037/cdp0000053

Andretta, J.R., Ramirez, A.M., Barnes, M.E., Odom, T., Roberson-Adams, S., & Woodland, M.H. (2015). Perceived parental security profiles in African American adolescents involved in the juvenile justice system. Journal of Family Psychology, 29, 884-894. doi: 10.1037/fam0000105

Andretta, J.R., Worrell, F.C., Ramirez, A.M., Barnes, M.E., Odom, T., Brim, S., & Woodland, M.H. (2015). The effects of stigma priming on forensic screening in African American youth. The Counseling Psychologist, 43, 1162-1189. doi: 10.1177/0011000015611963

Ramirez, A.M., Andretta, J. R., Barnes, M. E., & Woodland, M. H. (2015). Recidivism and psychiatric symptom outcomes in a juvenile mental health court. Juvenile and Family Court Journal, 66, 31-46. doi: 10.1111/jfcj.12025

Worrell, F.C., Andretta, J.R., & Woodland, M.H. (2014). Cross Racial Identity Scale (CRIS) scores and profiles in African American adolescents involved with the juvenile justice system. Journal of Counseling Psychology, 61, 570-580. doi: 10.1037/cou0000041

Woodland, M.H., Andretta, J. R., Moore, J. A., Bennett, M. T., Worrell, F. C., & Barnes, M. E. (2014). MACI scores of African-American males in a forensic setting: Are we measuring what we think we are measuring? Journal of Forensic Psychology Practice, 14, 418-437. doi: 10.1080/15228932.2014.973773

Andretta, J. R., Thompson, A. D., Ramirez, A. M., Kelly, J., Barnes, M. E, & Woodland, M. H. (2014). A study on the psychometric properties of Conners Comprehensive Behavior Rating Scales-Self Report scores in African-Americans with juvenile court contact. Journal of Forensic Psychology Practice, 14, 1-23. doi: 10.1080/15228932.2014.863051

Andretta, J. R., Woodland, M. H., Ramirez, A. M., & Barnes, M. E. (2013). ADHD symptom frequency and ADHD symptom count clustering in African-American adolescents with juvenile court contact. Journal of Forensic Psychiatry and Psychology, 24, 570-593. doi: 10.1080/14789949.2013.823218

Andretta, J.R., Odom, T., Barksdale, F., Barnes, M.E., Ramirez, A.M., & Woodland, M.H. (2014). An examination of management strategies and attitudes among probation officers. Journal of Forensic Social Work, 4, 150-166. doi: 10.1080/1936928X.2014.958644

Child Guidance Clinic and Doctoral Psychology Externship

OVERVIEW:
The Child Guidance Clinic (CGC) has an externship program that offers training in both assessment and therapy, with a primary focus on assessment. The CGC has full-year and summer practicum placements for graduate students enrolled in doctoral psychology programs. The CGC has been a clinical training site for over 20 years. We are a staff of five licensed clinical psychologists, including specialists in forensic psychology and neuropsychology, with a multitude of assessment, therapy, and research experience. There are also two deputy clerks who assist the clinical staff and trainees by scheduling appointments, finalizing reports, and helping our youth and families feel welcome and comfortable.

The CGC is a unit within the DC Superior Court’s Social Services Division. The mission of the Court Social Services Division (CSSD) is to assist the Court in the administration of justice and serve court-involved youth. The CGC provides clinical and forensic evaluations, and individual and group treatment for youth through various diagnostic and treatment processes. These clinical services assist the Court in making decisions in the juvenile case process. The youth served by the CGC typically range from age 12 to age 18. Many of them come from underserved communities and have histories of academic difficulties, family conflict, and exposure to trauma. Charges faced by the youth most often include assault, possession of a weapon, unauthorized use of a vehicle, substance use or possession, truancy, runaway, theft, or robbery. Parent/guardian involvement is necessary for all clinical services provided.

An externship placement with the CGC is an opportunity for students to sharpen their clinical assessment and integrative report writing skills. It is also an opportunity for students to enhance their psychotherapy skills and clinical interviewing techniques, and gain experience in a forensic setting.

ASSESSMENT:
The primary focus of the CGC’s externship program is psychological assessment. Practicum students perform comprehensive psychoeducational and psychological evaluations of court-involved youth, which include intellectual, academic, adaptive, personality, socioemotional, and/or diagnostic measures, as well as clinical interviews, collateral interviews, and court document review. All evaluations are court-ordered by a judge. The data gathered during these evaluations are integrated into a comprehensive evaluation report written by the student. These reports are given to court personnel involved in the youth’s case (e.g., probation officer, defense attorney) in order to assist the Court with better understanding the youth’s psychosocial functioning, placing the youth’s misbehavior within the context of his or her life and developmental level, recommending appropriate placement and interventions, and assisting with treatment planning.

This placement is an opportunity for students to sharpen their clinical assessment skills. Therefore, students are expected to possess thorough working knowledge and skills in clinical and diagnostic interviewing of clients and relevant collateral informants. Students should also be proficient in psychological testing, scoring, interpretation of test data, and report writing, which includes recommendations. Standard psychological tests include: WISC-V, WAIS-IV, WJ-IV, PAI-A, BASC-3, and Conners CBRS. Students will also have the opportunity to learn and utilize a broader array of assessment measures.

PSYCHOTHERAPY:
Practicum students provide individual and/or group therapy services to the youth. In-person treatment services are conducted on court premises, which may include the CGC or one of the Court’s satellite offices offering after-school programming. As our clients are juveniles, on-site therapy takes place after school Monday through Thursday between 4:00 to 8:00 pm, with 7:00 pm being the last appointment time. Virtual, remote, and/or telehealth therapy is conducted via phone or video chat during normal business hours (8:30 am to 5:00 pm).

Externs and interns also participate in a weekly 2-hour didactic seminar on Thursday afternoons. Seminars typically consist of a 1-hour workshop facilitated by a CGC staffmember or external specialist, followed by one hour of group supervision or student case presentations. On a rotating basis, students present an individual case for exploration and discussion and receive feedback from staff and student colleagues. Students follow therapy cases throughout their training and supervision tenure to monitor ongoing dynamics and longitudinal progress of clients.

Students are expected to have successfully taken basic courses in psychotherapy and acquired curricula should include materials on ethics and multicultural considerations. Students should have experience with maintaining progress/process notes and other relevant documentation.

GUIDELINES AND REQUIREMENTS:
Students in placement at the CGC are required to be advanced doctoral students enrolled in an American Psychological Association (APA) accredited, accreditation-eligible, or provisionally accredited doctoral program in clinical or counseling psychology. Full-year practicum students are expected to remain in placement for one academic year and no less than eight months. The training year typically runs from August 1 through June 30, though there is flexibility regarding end dates and the exact time frame may be negotiated with CGC training faculty. Full-year students are required to attend a multi-day orientation event which typically takes place during the last week of July or first week of August. Summer practicum students typically train at the CGC from June to August. There is flexibility regarding start and end dates for summer externs and the exact time frame may be negotiated with CGC training faculty. Summer students are required to attend a one-day orientation event which typically takes place in mid-May.

RESPONSIBILITIES:
Students are expected to spend no less than 16 hours weekly attending to their duties regarding the CGC. The exact number of hours spent on site can vary according to the criteria of the students’ school and scheduling. Some of the weekly hours are spent writing evaluation reports, which can take place at home. Students can expect to complete an evaluation and report every one to two weeks, though the specific number of evaluations per week will be determined by the student, his or her supervisor, and the needs of the Court.

SUPERVISION:
Students will be assigned an individual supervisor who is a licensed psychologist. The student’s supervisor will direct the work and provide one-on-one feedback on a weekly basis. Students will be expected to conceptualize assessment cases during supervision and provide clinical progress notes for therapy sessions. Students are also able to receive group supervision during Thursday seminar. In addition, each Court-designated site has a site supervisor. Site supervisors are members of the Court Social Services Division and provide administrative assistance, logistical guidance, and mentorship. Site supervisors will be responsible for ensuring that service delivery is in compliance with Court rules.

The student’s individual supervisor will complete periodic written evaluations of the student, using forms either sent by the student’s school program or the CGC’s own forms. Some schools may request both forms. A copy of the CGC’s form will be kept on record for future reference. The CGC and the DC Superior Court reserve the right to remove any student for substandard performance.

Students will receive supervised experience in: (a) clinical assessment techniques, (b) expanding knowledge and experience with an array of assessment tools, (c) integrative report writing, (d) increasing awareness of cultural diversity and its role in clinical processes, (e) providing culturally sensitive clinical services, (f) establishing and maintaining rapport and therapeutic relationships with clients, (g) developing knowledge and skill in therapy tools, theories, and techniques, (h) adapting professional behavior and competence to meet different needs (intake interviewing, crisis intervention, etc), (i) ethical practice and decision-making, (j) developing insights into one’s own clinical identity and the impact of one’s behavior upon clients and (k) expanding knowledge of current literature regarding effective assessment and therapy skills, theories, and implementation.

PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT:
All students are expected to maintain ethical and professional conduct in accordance with APA Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct. Students should be familiar with the APA Specialty Guidelines for Forensic Psychology. Students will adhere to the guidelines set forth by the Court. Students will receive information about these standards during Orientation at the Court. Additionally, all clinical materials will remain the property of the Clinic and the DC Superior Court.

APPLICATION PROCEDURES:
To apply for an externship placement, please send a current curriculum vitae (CV), a letter of introduction stating your interest, two letters of recommendation from persons responsible for your training to date and/or familiar with your clinical skills, a redacted evaluation report (including multiple assessment instruments; preferably of a juvenile), and a redacted therapy conceptualization report or clinical progress note, via email to the CGC’s Deputy Clerks Ms. Terri Strickland at Terri.Strickland [at] dcsc.gov and Ms. Daniuska Ruiz at Daniuska.Ruiz [at] dcsc.gov, as well as the training coordinator Dr. Jennifer Christman at Jennifer.Christman.Training [at] dcsc.gov.

DEADLINES:
Applications are due at the ClGC by close of business on the first Friday in February. Decisions made about interviews shortly follow. After applications are reviewed, a decision will be made whether or not an interview offer will be extended to the applicant. The ultimate decision regarding an externship offer will be made by the CGC after completion of interviews. As noted, attending orientation events is mandatory for all students. Dates for orientation will be provided as soon available. Please plan accordingly.

When a student accepts an externship position offer, the student will then be sent a DC Court Application to complete which includes a Criminal History Request form. The application should be returned immediately to the CGC’s deputy clerks at Terri.Strickland [at] dcsc.gov and Daniuska.Ruiz [at] dcsc.gov, and copying Jennifer.Christman.Training [at] dcsc.gov. It will be forwarded to the DC Courts’ Human Resources Division. Students who do not pass this background check will not be able to train at the CGC.

Contact
Family Court Social Services Division

Court Building B
510 4th Street, NW, Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001

General Information
(202) 508-1900

Get Directions
Hours of Operation

Mondays-Friday:
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Telephone Numbers

Director: Terri Odom
202-508-1900
terri.odom [at] dcsc.gov

Deputy Director
Prevention:
(Acting) Shelia Roberson-Adams
202-508-1872

Assistant Deputy Director Intake &
Delinquency Prevention:
(Acting) Mark Jackson
202-879-4786

Associate Deputy Director Region II, Pre and
Post Supervision:
(Acting) Ronald Dubrey
202-508-1902