上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院
多元化、公平、包容和平等就業

多樣性標題圖片

我們的多元化、公平、包容和平等就業努力的目標是使 DC 法院成為每個人工作的好地方。

多樣性 包括人們不同的所有方式,它包括使一個人或群體與另一個不同的所有不同特徵。 它包羅萬象,承認每個人和每個群體都是應受到重視的多樣性的一部分。 廣義的定義不僅包括種族、民族和性別——當使用“多樣性”一詞時最常想到的群體——還包括年齡、國籍、宗教、殘疾、性取向、社會經濟地位、教育、婚姻地位、語言和外貌。 它還涉及不同的思想、觀點和價值觀。

參考:加州大學伯克利分校公平、包容和多元化中心,“術語表”(34 年戰略計劃第 2009 頁)。

種族平等 是一個消​​除種族差異和改善每個人結果的過程。 這是通過優先考慮有色人種生活中可衡量的變化來改變政策、實踐、系統和結構的有意和持續的實踐。

參考: www.raceforward.org

公平 指公平正義,區別於平等:平等意味著向所有人提供相同的東西,公平意味著承認我們並非都從同一個地方開始,必須承認和調整不平衡。 這個過程正在進行中,要求我們識別和克服由偏見或系統結構引起的有意和無意的障礙。

參考:全國大學和雇主協會

包含: 以共享權力的方式真實地將傳統上被排除在外的個人和/或群體納入流程、活動和決策/政策制定。
參考:開源領導策略

所屬: 歸屬感意味著每個人都受到對待,感覺自己是更大社區的正式成員,並且可以茁壯成長。

參考:哈佛多樣性、包容性和歸屬感術語表

進一步了解 在水底采捕業協會(UHA)的領導下, 平等就業機會 政策.

平等就業機會

哥倫比亞特區法院的政策是為所有人提供平等的就業機會; 禁止基於種族、膚色、宗教、性別、年齡、殘疾、國籍、婚姻狀況、個人外貌、性取向、家庭責任、入學、政治派別、收入來源或居住地或營業地的就業歧視; 並通過建立和維護關於員工就業、發展、晉升和待遇方面的人事政策和做法的平權行動計劃,促進充分實現平等就業機會。

任何認為自己因種族、膚色、宗教、性別、年齡、殘疾、國籍、婚姻狀況、個人外表、性取向、家庭責任、入學、政治派別、收入來源和居住地或營業地,可向法院提出申訴 蒂芙尼·亞當斯-摩爾 [在] dccsystem.gov 網站 (平等就業機會官員).

有關平等就業機會政策的更多詳細信息,請參見 人事政策 400 哥倫比亞特區法院綜合人事政策。 如需更多信息,請致電 (202) 879-1010 聯繫 EEO 辦公室。

種族平等倡議:平等正義就是我們

在過去的幾年裡,種族平等和平等訴諸司法的需求以意想不到的方式和特殊情況成為我們社會的前沿。“DC 法院的 RACE 標誌”

在審查了哥倫比亞特區法院公平和准入常設委員會提交的全面種族平等提案後, 司法行政聯合委員會 推出了 種族平等倡議 制定全面的戰略和後續步驟,以通過種族平等的視角評估我們的流程、政策和程序。

種族平等是關於縮小種族鴻溝,使種族不是潛力、機會、機會或平等的預測指標。 種族不平等不會自行消失。 有意識的、有意識的策略和工具對於解決我們控制範圍內的問題是必要的。 在全國范圍內,州法院正在與社區合作,以消除結構性種族主義並加速為所有人創造更公平的未來。

我們致力於加緊努力,解決我們司法系統中的不平等問題,並進行必要的系統性變革,以確保所有人都能平等獲得司法救助。

我們的方法

種族平等倡議包括四管齊下的方法,包括:

  • 擴大我們在種族平等方面的教育和培訓。
  • 聘請種族平等顧問通過種族平等的視角對我們在華盛頓特區法院的運營進行全面檢查; 包括在我們的流程和程序中進行系統的數據收集和分析,以及對我們現有的員工(包括司法人員)的招聘和僱傭實踐進行評估。 選定的顧問是國家法院中心 (NCSC)。
  • 衡量是否有興趣建立外部利益相關者和機構合作夥伴聯盟,以根據需要在華盛頓刑事和民事司法系統中實施變革。
  • 建立一個諮詢委員會來規劃和促進內部努力、計劃、會議和戰略,以促進和加強法院內的種族平等文化。 委員會的章程和成員名單在這裡。

後續步驟:外部利益相關者參與

我們的首席法官已邀請外部利益相關者和法院參與者在華盛頓法院種族平等調查中提供反饋。 該調查是 DC 法院和 國家法院國家中心,檢查法院系統中的種族差異並確定促進種族平等的改革。

國家法院中心目前正在管理這項調查。 調查回復將幫助法院領導層了解未來的政策和程序,以及對告知法院種族平等做法至關重要的經驗。

觀看下面的視頻,了解有關調查的更多信息以及種族平等倡議的未來。

更多信息

平等正義就是我們
我們的方法
我們的行動
我們的觀眾參與度
我們的訊息
國家法院中心種族正義藍圖

了解隱性偏見的影響

根據我們的憲法,每個人都應該得到公正的審判。 在每次陪審團審判中,DC 高等法院的目標是尋找陪審員公平地裁決他們面前的案件,不帶偏見或偏見。 這段視頻討論了什麼是隱性或無意識的偏見,以及為什麼我們都應該將偏見排除在法庭之外。

該視頻在審判開始前向陪審員展示。 未經高等法院書面同意,不得轉播或以其他方式使用。 如果您有任何疑問或想申請使用視頻的許可,請聯繫 claire.huber(at)dccsystem.gov。

查看我們所有的信息視頻。

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts
Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Equal Employment

Diversity header image

The goal of our Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Equal Employment efforts is to make the DC Courts a Great Place to Work for everyone.

Diversity includes all the ways in which people differ, and it encompasses all the different characteristics that make one individual or group different from another. It is all-inclusive and recognizes everyone and every group as part of the diversity that should be valued. A broad definition includes not only race, ethnicity, and gender—the groups that most often come to mind when the term "diversity" is used—but also age, national origin, religion, disability, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, education, marital status, language, and physical appearance. It also involves different ideas, perspectives, and values.

Reference: UC Berkeley Center for Equity, Inclusion and Diversity, “Glossary of Terms” (page 34 in 2009 Strategic Plan).

Racial equity is a process of eliminating racial disparities and improving outcomes for everyone. It is the intentional and continual practice of changing policies, practices, systems, and structures by prioritizing measurable change in the lives of people of color.

Reference: www.raceforward.org

Equity refers to fairness and justice and is distinguished from equality: Whereas equality means providing the same to all, equity means recognizing that we do not all start from the same place and must acknowledge and make adjustments to imbalances. The process is ongoing, requiring us to identify and overcome intentional and unintentional barriers arising from bias or systemic structures.

Reference: National Association of Colleges and Employers

Inclusion: Authentically bringing traditionally excluded individuals and/or groups into processes, activities, and decision/policy making in a way that shares power.
Reference: Open Source Leadership Strategies

Belonging: Belonging means that everyone is treated and feels like a full member of the larger community and can thrive.

Reference: Harvard Glossary of Diversity, Inclusion and Belonging Terms

Learn more about our Equal Employment Opportunity policy.

Equal Employment Opportunity

It is District of Columbia Courts policy to provide equal employment opportunities for all persons; to prohibit discrimination in employment on account of race, color, religion, sex, age, disability, national origin, marital status, personal appearance, sexual orientation, family responsibility, matriculation, political affiliation, source of income, or place of residence or business; and to promote the full realization of equal employment opportunity by establishing and maintaining an affirmative action program with respect to personnel policies and practices in the employment, development, advancement, and treatment of employees.

Any employee who believes he/she has been discriminated against based on race, color, religion, sex, age, disability, national origin, marital status, personal appearance, sexual orientation, family responsibility, matriculation, political affiliation, source of income, and place of residence or business, may file a complaint with the Courts' Tiffany.Adams-Moore [at] dccsystem.gov (Equal Employment Opportunity Officer).

Further details regarding the Equal Employment Opportunity policy are in Personnel Policy 400 of the District of Columbia Courts Comprehensive Personnel Policies. For more information, contact the EEO Office at (202) 879-1010.

Racial Equity Initiative: Equal Justice is Who We Are

The past few years have brought the need for racial equity and equal access to justice to the forefront of our society in unexpected ways and under extraordinary circumstances."RACE Logo for DC Courts"

Following the review of a comprehensive racial equity proposal submitted by the District of Columbia Courts' Standing Committee on Fairness and Access, the Joint Committee on Judicial Administration has launched the Racial Equity Initiative to establish a comprehensive strategy and next steps to assess our processes, policies and procedures through a racial equity lens.

Racial equity is about closing the racial divide so that race is not a predictor of potential, opportunity, access or equality. Racial inequity will not go away on its own. Intentional, mindful strategies and tools are necessary to fix what is within our control. Across the country, state courts are working in partnership with communities to dismantle structural racism and accelerate a more equitable future for all.

We're committed to intensifying efforts to address inequities in our justice system, and to make the systemic changes required to ensure that equal access to justice is a reality for all.

Our Approach

The Racial Equity Initiative consists of a four-pronged approach, including:

  • Expanding our education and training on racial equity.
  • Hiring a racial equity consultant to conduct an overall examination of our operations throughout the D.C. Courts through a racial equity lens; including systematic data collection and analysis across our processes and procedures and an evaluation of our existing hiring and employment practices for staff, including judicial staff. The consultant selected is the National Center for State Courts (NCSC).
  • Gauging interest in establishing a coalition of outside stakeholders and agency partners to implement changes across the D.C. criminal and civil justice system as needed.
  • Establishing an advisory committee to plan and facilitate internal efforts, programs, meetings and strategies to promote and enhance a culture of racial equity within the Courts. The committee's charter and list of members is here.

Next Steps: External Stakeholder Engagement

Our chief judges have invited external stakeholders and court participants to provide feedback in a survey on racial equity in the DC Courts. This survey is part of an initiative, conducted by the DC Courts and the National Center for State Courts, to examine racial disparities in the court system and identify reforms to promote racial equity.

The National Center for State Courts is currently administering the survey. The survey responses will help inform Courts leadership about future policies and procedures, and experiences that are vital to informing the Courts' racial equity practices.

See the below video to learn more about the survey and what lies ahead for the Racial Equity Initiative.

More Information

Equal Justice is Who We Are
Our Approach
Our Actions
Our Audience Engagement
Our Messages
National Center for State Courts' Blueprint for Racial Justice

Understanding the Effects of Implicit Bias

Under our Constitution, everyone deserves a fair trial. It is the DC Superior Court's goal in every jury trial to find jurors who will decide the case before them fairly, without prejudice or bias. This video discusses what implicit or unconscious bias is, and why we should all keep biases out of the courtroom.

This video is shown to jurors before a trial begins. It may not be rebroadcast or otherwise used without the Superior Court's written consent. If you have questions or want to request permission to use the video, please contact claire.huber(at)dccsystem.gov.

See all our informational videos.