上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院
首席法官羅伯特·莫林
首席法官羅伯特·莫林

首席法官羅伯特·莫林被任命為新西蘭哥倫比亞特區的高等法院。 六月六號,他被任命為四年任首席法官,他的任期從十月份1996,2016開始。

首席法官莫林畢業於馬薩諸塞大學,獲得1974社會學學位。 他獲得了1977天主教大學法學院的法律學位。 法學院畢業後,Morin首席法官加入了Furey,Doolan&Abell律師事務所,主要從事民事和刑事訴訟。 在1980,他接受了華盛頓特區法律學生法庭學生刑事處臨床主管職位。在1982,首席法官莫林協助在格魯吉亞亞特蘭大南部人權中心設立和工作。 該中心的設立是為了提供被指控為首都案件或死刑判決的貧困人員的代理人,並培訓律師提供這種代表權。

在新西蘭,首席法官莫林回到了華盛頓大都會地區,接受了馬里蘭州公設辯護人辦公室的職務,代理被告在該州的首例死刑案件中。

從1986到1996的任職期間,Morin首席法官是位於華盛頓特區的Fisher,Morin&Hansen律師事務所的合夥人,他專門從事嚴重的刑事和死刑案件的辯護。

自1986以來,首席法官莫林曾在喬治敦法律中心擔任法律兼職教授,負責教資證和資本處罰。

自從加入法院以來,莫林首席法官曾擔任法院各種委員會,包括刑事司法法和家事法庭小組委員會,CJA計劃執行委員會,刑事訴訟諮詢委員會和高等法院規則委員會。 他曾在刑事司,民事法庭和家事法庭任職。 從2010到2015結束,他擔任刑事司法副庭長,然後擔任主審法官。

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts
chief-judge-morin.png
Chief Judge Robert E. Morin

Chief Judge Robert E. Morin was appointed to the Superior Court of the District of Columbia in 1996. In June 2016, he was designated for a four-year term as Chief Judge, beginning his term on October 1, 2016.

Chief Judge Morin graduated from the University of Massachusetts with a degree in Sociology in 1974. He received his law degree from Catholic University Law School in 1977. After graduating from law school, Chief Judge Morin joined the law firm of Furey, Doolan & Abell, where he focused primarily on civil and criminal litigation. In 1980, he accepted a position as a Clinical Supervisor in the Criminal Division of the DC Law Students in Court Program in Washington, DC In 1982, Chief Judge Morin assisted in establishing and worked at the Southern Center for Human Rights in Atlanta, Georgia. The Center was established to provide representation of indigent persons charged in capital cases or under a sentence of death, and to train lawyers to provide such representation.

In 1984, Chief Judge Morin returned to the Washington Metropolitan area and accepted a position with the Office of the Public Defender for the State of Maryland to undertake representation of defendants in the lead death penalty cases in that state.

From 1986 until his investiture in 1996, Chief Judge Morin was a partner in the law firm of Fisher, Morin & Hansen, located in Washington, DC where he specialized in the area of the defense of serious criminal and death penalty cases.

Since 1986, Chief Judge Morin has served as an Adjunct Professor of Law at the Georgetown Law Center, teaching Evidence and Capital Punishment.

Since joining the Court, Chief Judge Morin has served on a variety of committees of the Court including the Criminal Justice Act and Family Court Panel Committees, the CJA Plan Implementation Committee, the Criminal Rules Advisory Committee, and the Superior Court Rules Committee. He has served in the Criminal Division, Civil Divisions and Family Court. From 2010 through the end of 2015, he served as Deputy Presiding Judge and then Presiding Judge of the Criminal Division.