上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

業主租客問題常見問題

我需要帶任何東西來提起訴訟嗎?

您應以英文和西班牙文提供“正確和/或離職通知書”的副本,因為除了不支付租金和禁毒案件外,任何理由向租客提出的案件。 (業主可以要求租客在提交不繳租金的情況下通知退房通知,但您不必將其提交法院提起訴訟。

被告如何提供服務,即我們如何通知被告他或她被起訴?

原告人負責向被告提供服務,方式如下:特殊程序服務器 - 至少十八歲的某人,不涉及案件; 或認證或掛號郵件 - 帶有美國郵政局的退貨單; 或一封郵件一般郵件,並附有確認書,供被告人簽字並返回法院。

我需要多少份傳票?

原始傳票(正反面)和每份要送達的被告需要兩份。 原件和兩份副本應在投訴提出之時或在發出別名傳票時出示。

如何驅逐涉嫌出售毒品的租客?

您必須使用正常的業主和租戶驅逐程序。 在提出投訴後兩週內,這種情況就是三個星期。 讓店員知道這是一個“禁毒條例”。

我怎麼可以得到錢判斷?

首先,租客必須親自送達傳票的副本。 如果您在滾動通話時收到違約,請務員向法官發送此案。 請法官給你一筆錢的判斷。 如果你的案件被審判,你贏了,你可以要求法官在審判時作出判決。

如何從法庭登記處發放資金?

您必須在西北大廈510 4th街的業主和租戶文書室提出議案。 B,房間110,華盛頓特區20001。 店員辦公室有一個標準的動議形式。 費用是$ 10

我如何向法庭作出逾期保護令(向法院登記處付款)?

聯繫業主同意逾期付款。 如業主不同意,請向業主和租戶文書處提出議案,作出逾期保護令。 費用是$ 10

我需要多少時間來執行或跟進貨幣判斷?

如果判決未記錄(即未在DC契據記錄中記錄),則您有XNUMX年;如果判決已記錄,則您有XNUMX年。 詢問契約辦公室的DC記錄員中有關記錄金錢判斷的問題。 DC契約記錄員的號碼(位於DC稅收和收入辦公室內)是 (202) 727-5374 or 727-4829。 記錄員辦公室位於華盛頓特區515 NW西北20001 D街。

房東和租客案件在提交後多久聽到?

當您提交投訴時,您將獲得您的法庭日期,通常是關於3-4週的時間。 房東負責確保租客收到訴訟通知。 業主必須使用流程服務器為客戶提供投訴副本。 租客必須至少在7天送達,不得在法庭日期之前送達星期日和法定假日。

我無力支付法庭費用和申請費。 有辦法放棄收費嗎?

您可以在業主和租戶文員辦公室提交申請而不預付費用。 您將被要求提供有關您的收入和費用的信息,法官將審查申請,看看您是否符合資格。

我對我的租客有一個判斷或違約。 如何驅逐租客?

您必須使用法庭程序驅逐租客。 為此,您必須在進入判決或違約後至少四十八小時等待業主和租戶文書局提出恢復原狀令,命令驅逐出租人。 如果您有“違約”,您必須通過向法院提交一份服務人員誓章,將“違約”改為“判決”,證明租客不在軍人或其他政府服務機構的現役。

如果我是租客,我怎麼能讓房東修理我的家?

如果租客通知樓主需要維修,房東不能進行修理,則租戶有幾種選擇。 租客可以通過向民政部門文員辦公室Moultrie法院,5000室提出投訴和傳票,向房東起訴DC房屋違規行為。

有沒有什麼可以做的,阻止我的房東在進入判斷之後驅逐我?

你可以要求法院在業主和租戶書記處提交申請,要求繼續執行歸還協議書。 如果房東提起你的原因是因為你欠租金,你可以通過向房東支付您在付款之日欠的所有租金和法院費用來避免驅逐。 (這包括自房東提起訴訟以來到期的租金)。如果您將帳戶與房東聯繫在一起,房東不能驅逐你,除非他或她提起新的訴訟。

我可以把我的租金交給法院登記處,直到修理為止

如果你的房東在房東和租客法庭上起訴你,你可以要求法院允許你把你的租金交到法院的登記處,直到案件結束,或作為解決案件的協議的一部分。 法院書記官處是一個由法院監督的銀行帳戶,用於租戶進行租金付款(稱為保護性訂單付款)。 如果您在房東和租客法院沒有案件,您不能將您的租金付給法院登記處。

我可以起訴房東造成財產損失嗎?

如果您已經參與業主與租客不繳租金案件,您可以提出反訴,補償或扣款,從房東收取您過去支付的部分或全部租金。或房屋需要修理。 您還可以收取金錢以償還您個人對公寓或房屋的維修費用。

我第一次聽到有關訴訟的信息是當我收到郵件中的恢復原狀(驅逐通知)的時候。 我能做什麼?

如果你不認為你應該被趕走,你可以立即來法庭,並提出申請,要求在業主和租戶文書室執行歸還的執行。 你也可以提出議案,要求法院撤銷判決,以便你可以提出你所提出的防禦。 動議的費用是$ 10。

如果租客錯過保護性訂單付款,該怎麼辦?

您可以向法院提出議案,要求法院對租戶進行管有判決。 動議的費用是$ 10。

在法庭上會發生什麼事?

法官從9:00 am開始,當法官就法庭發生的事情和當事人的權利作出重要的宣布。 在這些公告之後,法庭店員打電話,各方必須回答他們“現在”並說出他們的名字。 租戶出現故障可能會導致違約。 房東出現失敗可能導致解僱。 當雙方出現時,他們可能會通過訂立書面協議來嘗試解決分歧。

什麼是佔有的判斷?

佔有權的判決有權讓房東驅逐租客。

什麼是錢判斷?

如果房東因為租客欠租而要求租客佔有,房東也可以要求租客支付租金和其他應付款項,例如逾期費用。 如果業主提出這樣的要求,他或她正在要求判斷金錢。

目前的判斷利率是多少?

從2年1月2020日開始的日曆季度,判決利率為28%(3302%)(DC Code§28-3302(c))。 根據DC法規§4-XNUMX(b),此稅率不適用於針對哥倫比亞特區或其在其僱用範圍內工作的僱員的判決。 在這種情況下,判決利率仍為XNUMX%。 新利率僅適用於後期判斷。

如果房東沒有按時完成修理,可以做些什麼?

如果您的房東同意作為同意判決協議或和解協議的一部分進行維修,您可以聯繫房東,了解導致延誤的原因,並嘗試制定附加條款。 如果您不能自己解決問題,您可以在維修計劃完成後至少一天到辦公室辦公。 職員會給你一個表格,完成指示業主因缺乏維修而返回法庭。

如果租戶沒有按照法官或訪問和判決官核准的同意判決協議,租房人不能支付房租,房東可以做什麼?

如果租戶沒有按照同意判決協議付款,房東可以向業主和租戶文書室索取終止執行停止的申請。 如果停留被終止,它將使租客被驅逐出境。

如果租戶沒有按照和解協議支付租金,業主可以做什麼?

如果租戶沒有按照和解協議中的付款時間表付款,業主可以向業主和租戶的書記處提出議案,要求法院進行判決,以便房東驅逐出租人。 動議的費用是$ 10。

如果我不符合我同意的付款計劃,該怎麼辦?

你可以聯繫房東,要求延長時間。 如果你不能與房東一起工作,你可以要求法院給你更多的時間。 然而,在大多數情況下,即使你有一個非常好的理由為什麼不能按時付款,大多數情況下,法官不會在付款計劃中更改付款日期。

民事辦公室提出了什麼類型的案件,什麼是申請費?

“民事訴訟適用於金額超過$ 5,000的情況,當事方要求公平救濟(例如臨時禁令令或禁令救濟)的個案則提交給Moultrie法院的5000辦公室民政事務處。新投訴的申請費是$ 120。
臨時限制令$ 160
申請更改名稱$ 60
申請出生證明書$ 60

如果業主不能同意支付租金,修理或其他項目的時候會發生什麼情況呢?

如果您無法與業主達成協議,可以要求受法庭訓練的調解員協助您制定協議。 你也有權在法官面前拿你的案子。 法官不能強迫業主接受房東不同意的付款日期或其他條款。 但是,如果你對房東的要求提出抗辯,可以要求法院進行審判。 但是,如果你沒有任何抗辯,法官可以對你作出判決。

房東和租客法庭何時可以起訴?

凡任何人或公司管有財產但沒有合法權利的,業主或其他人可以向業主和租客提出起訴。 或者由於法律承認的某些其他原因,租戶可能會失去繳納租金,違反租賃,違反房屋法,執行“禁毒條例”的權利。 還可以提起案件,驅趕不具備擁有財產的合法權利的侵入者,擅自佔地者和其他人。

誰可以在業主和租客法院起訴?

只有業主或其他想從其財產中驅逐租客或其他乘客的房東,才可以在業主和租客法院起訴。 試圖驅逐租客或其他乘客的一個或者一個公司,可以向業主和租戶文員辦公室提出管有投訴。 如果房東只想起訴租金或其他損害賠償(但不擁有財產),房東必須向小額債權或民事訴訟部門提起訴訟。 希望起訴業主的租戶必須向小額債權或民事訴訟部門提起訴訟。

為什麼我需要另外支付一筆18.00的第二份恢復令來驅逐租客?

在業主和租客文員辦公室提交恢復令後,美國元帥尚未在適用的75日內驅逐租客,第二次恢復令只需額外支付$ 18.00,美元元帥$ 8.00費用和$ 10為店員。 有關驅逐程序的任何問題必須針對美國元帥。 美國元帥的辦公室位於H. Carl Moultrie法院大樓的C級。 只有房東和租客法官可以預留$ 10店員的費用。

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

Landlord Tenant Matters FAQs

Do I need to bring anything to file the suit?

You should bring a copy of the Notice to Correct and/or Vacate in English and Spanish, for cases brought against tenants for any reason, except non-payment of rent cases and drug haven cases. (A landlord may be required to give a tenant a notice to quit prior to filing a non-payment of rent case, but you are not required to bring it to court to file the lawsuit.

How is service made upon the defendant, i.e. how do we notify the defendant that he or she is being sued?

The plaintiff is responsible for service of process upon the defendant, by the following methods: Special process server-someone at least eighteen years of age and not involved in the case; or Certified or registered mail-with a return receipt from the US Postal Service; or First-class mail-regular mail with an acknowledgment form enclosed for the defendant to sign and return to the court.

How many copies of a summons do I need?

An original summons (front & back page), and two copies are needed for each defendant who is to be served. The original and the two copies are to be presented at the time the complaint is filed or when an alias summons is being issued.

How may I evict a tenant who is suspected of selling drugs?

You must use normal landlord and tenant eviction procedures. This type of case is heard within two weeks after filing of the complaint instead of three weeks. Let the clerk know that it is a "drug haven" case.

How may I get a money judgment?

First, the tenant must be served personally with a copy of the summons. If you get a default at roll call, ask the clerk to send the case before the judge. Ask the judge to grant you a money judgment. If your cases goes to trial and you win, you can ask the judge to enter a money judgment at the trial.

How may I get monies released from the court registry?

You must file a motion in the Landlord and Tenant Clerk's Office at 510 4th Street, NW, Bldg. B, Room 110, Washington, DC 20001. The clerk's office has a standard motion form. The cost is $10

How may I make a late protective order payment (payment made to the court registry) to the court?

Contact the landlord for consent to make a late payment. If the landlord will not agree, file a motion in the Landlord and Tenant Clerk's Office to make a late protective order payment. The cost is $10

How much time do I have to execute or follow through on the money judgment?

If the judgment is unrecorded (that is, not recorded with the DC Recorder of Deeds) you have three years, and if the judgment is recorded, you have twelve years. Ask the clerk in the DC Recorder of Deeds Office about recording the money judgment. The number for the DC Recorder of Deeds (located within the DC Office of Tax and Revenue) is (202) 727-5374 or 727-4829. The Recorder's Office is located at 515 D Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001.

How soon is a landlord and tenant case heard after it is filed?

You will be given your court date, usually about 3-4 weeks out, when you file your complaint. The landlord is responsible for making sure that the tenant receives notice of the lawsuit. The landlord must use a process server to serve the tenant with a copy of the complaint. The tenant must be served at least 7 days, not counting Sundays and legal holidays, before the court date.

I cannot afford to pay the court costs and filing fees. Is there a way to waive the fees?

You can file an Application to Proceed without Prepayment of Costs in the Landlord and Tenant Clerk's Office. You will be required to provide information about your income and expenses, and a judge will review the application to see if you qualify.

I have a judgment or a default against my tenant. How do I to evict the tenant?

You must use court process to evict the tenant. To do this, you must wait at least forty-eight hours after entry of a judgment or a default before you return to the Landlord and Tenant Clerk's Office to file a writ of restitution, which orders the eviction of the tenant. If you have a "default," you must turn the "default" into a "judgment" by filing a Servicemembers affidavit with the court certifying that the tenant is not on active duty with the military or other government service.

If I am a tenant, how can I get the landlord to make repairs to my home?

If a landlord fails to make repairs after a tenant notifies the landlord about the need for repairs, the tenant has several options. A tenant may sue their landlord for DC Housing Code violations by filing a complaint and summons with the Civil Actions Branch Clerk's Office, Moultrie Courthouse, Room 5000.

Is there anything I can do to stop my landlord from evicting me after a judgment is entered?

You can ask the court to stop the eviction by filing an Application to Stay Execution of the Writ of Restitution in the Landlord and Tenant Clerk's Office. If the reason the landlord sued you is because you owe rent, you can avoid eviction by paying the landlord all of the rent and court costs that you owe as of the day the you make the payment. (This includes the rent that has come due since the time the landlord filed the lawsuit.) If you bring your account current with the landlord, the landlord cannot evict you unless he or she brings a new lawsuit.

May I pay my rent into the court registry until the repairs are made?

If your landlord has sued you in Landlord and Tenant Court, you can ask the court to allow you to pay your rent into the registry of the court until the case is over or as part of an agreement settling the case. The Court's Registry is a court-monitored bank account set aside for tenants to make rental payments (called protective order payments). If you do not have a case in Landlord and Tenant Court, you cannot pay your rent into the court registry.

May I sue the landlord for damage to property?

If you are already involved in a non-payment of rent case in Landlord and Tenant, you can file a counterclaim, recoupment, or setoff to collect money from your landlord for part or all of the rent that you paid in the past when the apartment or house was in need of repair. You can also collect money to reimburse you for the costs of repairs that you have personally made to the apartment or house.

The first time I heard anything about a lawsuit against me was when I received a writ of restitution (eviction notice) in the mail. What can I do?

If you do not believe that you should be evicted, you can come to court immediately and file an Application to Stay Execution of the Writ of Restitution in the Landlord and Tenant Clerk's Office. You may also want to file a motion to ask the court to vacate the judgment so that you can present defenses you have to the case. The cost for the motion is $10.

What can I do if my tenant misses a protective order payment?

You can file a motion with the court asking the court to enter a judgment for possession against the tenant. The cost for the motion is $10.

What happens on the court date?

Court begins at 9:00 a.m., when the judge makes important announcements about what will happen in court and the parties' rights. After these announcements, the courtroom clerk calls roll and parties must answer that they are "present" and state their names. Failure of a tenant to appear may result in a default. Failure of landlord to appear may result in a dismissal. When both parties appear, they may attempt to resolve their differences by entering into a written agreement.

What is a judgment for possession?

A judgment for possession entitles the landlord to evict the tenant.

What is a money judgment?

If the landlord sues the tenant for possession because the tenant owes rent, the landlord can also request that the tenant be required to pay the back rent and any other monies due, such as late fees. If the landlord makes this kind of request, he or she is asking for a money judgment.

What is the current interest rate on judgments?

The interest rate on judgments is two percent (2%) for the calendar quarter beginning October 1, 2020(DC Code §28-3302(c)). Pursuant to DC Code §28-3302(b), this rate does not apply to judgments against the District of Columbia or its employees acting within the scope of their employment. In such situations the judgment interest rate remains 4%. The new interest rate is for post judgments only.

What may be done if the landlord fails to complete repairs on time?

If your landlord agreed to make repairs as part of a consent judgment agreement or settlement agreement, you can contact the landlord to find out what is causing the delay and attempt to work out additional terms. If you cannot work the problem out yourself, you can go to the Clerk's Office at least one day after the repairs were scheduled to be completed. The clerk will give you a form to complete instructing the landlord to return to court because of the lack of repairs.

What may the landlord do if the tenant fails to make his or her rental payments according to a consent judgment agreement approved by the judge or interview and judgment officer?

If the tenant fails to make a payment according to a consent judgment agreement, the landlord may obtain an application to terminate the stay of execution from the Landlord and Tenant Clerk's Office. If a stay is terminated, it subjects the tenant to eviction procedures.

What may the landlord do if the tenant fails to make his or her rental payments according to a settlement agreement?

If the tenant fails to make a payment according to a payment schedule in a settlement agreement, the landlord can file a motion in the Landlord and Tenant's Clerk's office asking that the court enter a judgment so that the landlord can evict the tenant. The cost for the motion is $10.

What should I do if I cannot meet a payment plan that I agreed to?

You can contact the landlord and ask for an extension of time. If you are not able to work something out with the landlord, you can ask the court to give you more time. However, in most cases a judge will not change the dates that payments are due in a written payment plan, even if you have a very good reason for why you cannot pay on time.

What types of cases are filed in the Civil Clerks Office and what are the filing fees?

"Civil law suits where the monetary amount exceeds $5,000 and cases where parties are requesting equitable relief (e.g. temporary restraining order or injunctive relief) are filed in the Civil Clerk's Office, Room 5000 in the Moultrie Courthouse. The filing fee for a new complaint is $120.
Temporary Restraining Order $160
Petition to Change Name $60
Petition to Amend Birth Certificate $60

What will happen if the landlord does not agree on the dates when I can pay the rent, when repairs will be made, or other items?

If you cannot reach an agreement with your landlord, you can ask a court-trained mediator to help you work out an agreement. You also have the right to take your case in front of the judge. The judge cannot force the landlord to accept payment dates or other terms that the landlord does not agree to. But, if you have defenses to the landlord's claims, you can ask the court for a trial. However, if you do not have any defenses, the judge may enter a judgment against you.

When can I sue in Landlord and Tenant Court?

A landlord or other person can sue in Landlord and Tenant whenever a person or company is in possession of property but does not have a legal right to be there. Tenants may lose their right to possession by failing to pay rent, violating the lease, violating the housing code, running a "drug-haven," or for certain other reasons recognized by the law. Cases can also be filed to evict trespassers, squatters, and others who do not have a legal right to possess the property.

Who can sue in Landlord and Tenant Court?

Only landlords or others who want to evict a tenant or another occupant from their property can sue in Landlord and Tenant Court. A person or company seeking to evict a tenant or other occupant can file a Complaint for Possession in the Landlord and Tenant Clerk's Office. If a landlord only wants to sue for rent or other damages (but not possession of the property), the landlord must bring suit in Small Claims or the Civil Actions Branch. Tenants who wish to sue their landlords must bring suit in Small Claims or the Civil Actions Branch.

Why must I pay an additional $18.00 for a second writ of restitution to evict a tenant?

After a writ of restitution has been filed in the Landlord and Tenant clerk's office and the US Marshal has not evicted the tenant within the applicable 75 days, only an additional $18.00 is required for a second writ of restitution, $8.00 for the US Marshal fee and $10 for the clerk's. Any questions regarding eviction procedures must be directed to the US marshal. The US marshal's office is located on the C level in the main building of the H. Carl Moultrie Courthouse. Only a landlord and tenant judge may set aside the $10 clerk's fee.