# SUPERIOR COURT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER 22-32

## Recertification of the CJA/CCAN Investigator Panel Members

**WHEREAS**, the Plan for Furnishing Representation to Indigents under the District of Columbia Criminal Justice Act and the Plan for Furnishing Representation in Neglect Proceedings in the District of Columbia provide for the appointment of qualified investigators; and

**WHEREAS**, Administrative Order 02-13, issued on April 12, 2002, adopted the Guidelines for Investigators in the Superior Court of the District of Columbia ("Investigator Guidelines") to govern persons certified to receive payment for investigative services under the Criminal Justice Act ("CJA") and Counsel for Child Abuse and Neglect ("CCAN") Program; and

**WHEREAS**, Administrative Order 02-24, issued on August 1, 2002, designated the members of the CJA/CCAN Investigator Panel and instituted training and recertification requirements for CJA/CCAN investigators; and

**WHEREAS**, the Investigator Guidelines, as amended by Administrative Order 10-14, and as further amended by Administrative Order 12-17, issued on November 29, 2012, require the reestablishment of the CJA/CCAN Investigator Panel every four years beginning October 1, 2010; and

**WHEREAS**, Administrative Order 18-13, issued on September 27, 2018, and superseded by Administrative Order 19-02, issued on February 1, 2019, reestablished the CJA/CCAN Investigator Panel as required; and

**WHEREAS**, every two years, certified investigator panel members are required to submit to the office of the Public Defender Service, FBI and Local Background results no later than June 30:

**WHEREAS**, due to the current COVID-19 health pandemic and reduced government operations, current members of the Investigator Panel are encountering a delay in obtaining the required FBI and Local Background results;

**WHEREAS**, it is in the best interest of the administration of justice for the CJA/CCAN Investigator Panel to continue to provide investigative services at this time;

**NOW, THEREFORE**, it is by the Court,

**ORDERED**, that the members of the CJA/CCAN Investigator Panel established by Administrative Order 19-02 and set forth in Attachment A, shall remain on the Panel, subject to the requirement that they submit a complete certification of good standing to the Office of Public

Defender Service, Attachment B, by October 31, 2022; and it is further

**ORDERED**, that members of the CJA/CCAN Investigator Panel shall submit updated FBI and Local Background results no later than June 30, 2023, absent further extension of the deadline for submission; and it is further

**ORDERED**, that failure to comply with these requirements could result in forfeiture of Investigator certification and removal from the Investigator Panel; and it is further

**ORDERED**, that this Order shall become effective immediately.

SO ORDERED.

Date: November 1, 2022

Anita M. Josey-Herring, Chief Judge

# **Copies to:**

Judicial Officers
Executive Officer
Clerk of the Court
Division Directors
Office of General Counsel
District of Columbia Bar
Daily Washington Law Reporter
Library

#### **Attachment A**

#### REESTABLISHMENT OF THE CJA/CCAN INVESTIGATOR PANEL

## Names (Last, First, Middle Initial)

ALLEN, FRANK

ALLEN, VERONICA

ALLEN, SHAWN

ARMISTEAD, ARMI

BATES, HASHAWNA

BLAIR, AMELIA

BOND, WILLIAM

BROWN, TERRY

BURKHARDT, JONATHON

BUSHEE, ADEN

COLE, SHIRLEY

COLINDRES, EDDY

COPELAND, KENNETH

CROSSLEY, THOMAS

CURRY, EDDIE H.

DARBY, DAVID

DAVIDSON, WILLIAM

DAVIS, JACQUELINE

DAVIS, JUSTIN

EICHER JR., JOHN

EKANYANWU, VICTORIA

ELLIS III, MILFRED

FLETCHER, JULIUS

FORESTER, SHERRIE

GARDNER, TRUMELLE

GLICK, MARK

HARN, CHRISTINA

HARRIS, RASHIDA

HELLWIG, MICHAEL

HILL, JAMES BRANDON

HILL, JAMES RAY

HINDS, PATRICK

HOOPER-HILL, CYNTHIA

**HUMPHRIES, NORMA** 

JACKSON III, EARNEST A.

JACKSON JR., EARNEST A.

JACKSON, CHARLES A.

JACKSON, WENDELL

JAMES, GLORIA

JARVIS, NORMAN

JOHN MAYFIELD,

JOHNSON, DANIEL

JOHNSON, OLIVER

JOHNSON, RONETTA

JOHNSON, SHON

JONES, DAVID

KAPLER, ROBERT

MCCASKILL, JAMEL

MCELHATTON, JAMES

MOORE, ANGEL

NADAL, EDWIN

NGANGUM, JACOB

PAYNE, AUDRICK

PAYNE, KAREN

PRATHER, BILAL

RAGLAND, KEYLA

REECE, CHRISTOPHER

REID, SHEENA L.

SAMPSON, DARLENE

SIMMS-BRACERO, VONNITA

SMITH, ANDRIENNE

SNOWDEN, CHANTIA

SNOWDEN, DARYL

SPEED III, HENRY

STEEL, GEORGE

STEIN, LAURA

STOKES III, CLEMENT

SULLIAN, KENITA

SYNDOR, JAMES

THOMAS, TYRONE

TROXLER, ARNO

VAUGHAN, DALE

WEST, JACQUELINE

WILKS, DIANE

WORTHINGTON SR., THOMAS

WRIGHT, ANDREA