

MEDIA CONTACT:

Marie Komisar | (202) 393-0222 | mkomisar@nawj.org



D.C. Court of Appeals Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby to be the recipient of the National Association of Women Judge District Four 2017 Edna G. Parker Award

WASHINGTON, D.C. October 23, 2017 –The Honorable Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby, a past President of the National Association of Women Judges and an NAWJ member for over twenty years will be the recipient of the Edna G. Parker Award for her exemplary contributions to public service and for her leadership in the community.

The award ceremony will be held on November 2, 2017, in the north atrium of the U.S. District Court of the District of Columbia from 5:30 p.m. -7:30 p.m. The award presentation will begin at 6:00 p.m. with a welcome from U.S. District Court Chief Judge Beryl A. Howell followed by brief remarks from U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice Sonia Sotomayor. Recently appointed, elected, or elevated women judges from District 4, which includes the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia, will be recognized.

Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby has served the citizens of the District of Columbia for much of her legal career. During her 21 years on the District of Columbia Courts, Judge Blackburne-Rigsby earned a reputation as a gracious and respected colleague. Before her selection by the District of Columbia Judicial Nomination Commission to serve as Chief Judge, she served as Acting Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals. Prior to her appointment to the Court of Appeals, the Chief Judge served on the Superior Court for the District of Columbia. Judge Blackburne-Rigsby has demonstrated a deep commitment to access to justice for all residents of the District of Columbia -- she chaired the District of Columbia Courts' Standing Committee on Fairness and Access and served on the District of Columbia's Access to Justice Commission.

Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby has served in many leadership roles in NAWJ. Prior to her term as its President, she served as Vice President of Publications, Finance Committee Chair, and Judicial Independence Committee Co-Chair.

The Edna G. Parker was established in memory of Judge Edna g. Parker. Judge Parker was a dedicated jurist and a fearless champion for justice. She served on the United States Tax Court. The award honors her memory and invaluable service to the Washington area community and the National Association of Women Judges. Award recipients are selected on the basis of their outstanding achievements and accomplishments that reflect the ideals embodied in the spirit and legacy of Edna G. Parker, including honoring service performed

in NAWJ's District Four that demonstrates leadership and furthers the efforts of others who are committed to the public's access to justice.

Listed below are past recipients of the Edna G. Parker Award:

May 1997: Hon. Bess B. Lavine, District Court of Maryland November 1999: Hon. Noel A. Kramer, D.C. Superior Court April 2002: Hon. Elizabeth B. Lacey, Supreme Court of Virginia

June 2006: Hon. Kathleen O'Ferrell Friedman, Baltimore City Circuit Court (Retired)

June 2008: Hon. Arline Pacht, ALJ, NLRB (Retired), Founder, IAWJ

May 2010: Hon. Gladys Kessler, U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia June 2012: Hon. Cathy Hollenberg Serrette, 7th Judicial Circuit of Maryland October 2015: Hon. Barbara Keenan, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

About the National Association of Women Judges

Founded in 1979, NAWJ is a non-profit, nonpartisan organization committed to providing a national voice for federal, state, military, administrative and tribal jurists at all levels of the judiciary dedicated to ensuring equal justice and access to the courts for women, minorities, and other historically disfavored groups; to providing judicial education on cutting-edge issues affecting these groups; to increasing the numbers and advancement of women judges at all levels of the judiciary; and to defending and preserving judicial independence.

For more information about NAWJ or the Edna G. Parker Award ceremony, please contact Executive Director Marie Komisar at (202) 393-0222 or mkomisar@nawj.org. Visit NAWJ's website at www.nawj.org.