上訴法院和高等法院的封鎖
哥倫比亞特區法院

華盛頓特區法院的冠狀病毒諮詢

Haga click paraEspañol

DC上訴法院首席法官Anna Blackburne-Rigsby的致辭 - 3 / 30 / 2020


哥倫比亞特區高級法院更新-4/1/2020-下午6點

18月19日更新的XNUMX月XNUMX日一般命令的補遺,以闡明延期起訴協議(DPA),延期量刑協議(DSA)和緩刑條款在刑事和家庭暴力部門未決案件中的到期日期。

高等法院諮詢3年31月2020日-下午4點

民事部門在一般命令中有附錄,以應對由於COVID-19大流行而導致的各種截止日期的收費。 請查看以下英語和西班牙語鏈接。
解決COVID-19的截止日期收費總訂單的附錄
奧爾登一般法令

መግለጫ(መግለጫ)

哥倫比亞特區高級法院諮詢-27年2020月4日,下午XNUMX點

今天下午發布了以下兩個命令:

華盛頓特區高級法院更新-文員辦公室的遠程操作3/26/2020

作為對COVID-19的回應,高等法院所有文員辦公室都處於偏遠狀態,沒有現場人員。 我們有員工可以通過電話,電子郵件和實時聊天回答問題。 由於處理郵件的資源有限,請致電或通過電子郵件發送請求,文檔或文檔圖像,以避免延遲處理您的請求。 以下是有關將由文員辦公室遠程進行的操作的信息。 所有緊急聽證會將由法官遠程進行。

秘書辦公室的遠程操作信息

Vea enEspañol:保密局通告。

የክለርክ(ጸሀፊ)አሰራሮች(ሪሞት)

哥倫比亞特區法院更新-3/25/2020-下午6點

沒有律師的法律服務提供者清單

華盛頓特區高級法院更新3年25月2020日上午10:30

提交緊急動議的會議常規制定程序已更新,請參見以下內容:
訂單建立程序,用於歸檔因COVID-19大流行而導致的緊急監護釋放的運動-3/22(最新更新為3/25)。

華盛頓特區上訴法院命令3/23/2020 -3pm

DCCA訂單更新3/16訂單,涵蓋截至31月XNUMX日的運營

華盛頓特區高等法院諮詢室:陪審團辦公室3/23/2020-2pm

陪審團辦公室正在遠程運作,直到另行通知。 鼓勵陪審員參觀 www.dccourts.gov/jurorservices 完成陪審員問卷,延期服務或上傳藉口請求。 請不要發送郵件到辦公室。 可以通過以下方式與員工聯繫:
電子郵件: jurorhelp [在] dcsc.gov
電話:202,-879 4604
實時聊天:www.dccourts.gov/jury(上午8:30-下午4:00)
響應時間平均為24個工作小時(或更短)。

華盛頓特區高級法院更新-3/22星期日,下午2:30

立即建立有效的訂購程序,用於歸檔因COVID-19大流行而導致的從監護釋放的緊急動作

哥倫比亞特區高級法院諮詢-3年20月2020日,下午3點

由於當前的公共衛生緊急狀況,法院口譯服務辦公室正在遠程運行。 如果您需要語言訪問幫助,請致電202-879-4828或發送電子郵件 口譯 [在] dcsc.gov.

哥倫比亞特區高級法院諮詢-3年20月2020日-下午12:15

被傳召出任陪審員的人和被召集或先前被選為大陪審員的人無需另行通知法院或美國檢察官辦公室。

DC最高法院最新動態,3年19月2020日-下午4:30

法院舉報司現在可以完全遠程操作。 對於筆錄請求,請參閱詳細信息 點擊瀏覽,獲取更多資訊.

DC高級更新3/19,4:15 pm

穆爾特里法院大樓的圖書館將關閉,直至另行通知。 請繼續檢查此頁面以獲取更新。

哥倫比亞特區高級法院諮詢-3年19月2020日-下午3時

審計長辦公室計劃在15年2020月XNUMX日之前舉行的所有聽證會都將繼續進行(推遲),並且各方都不會出席。 指示各方當事人出示文件的所有命令也將繼續執行。 有關更多詳細信息,請參見下面的順序。

審核員總命令的官員3/19/2020

哥倫比亞特區高等法院命令暫停其他法院程序-3年18月2020日下午6點

根據司法行政聯合委員會今天上午授予首席法官的授權,哥倫比亞特區高級法院首席法官莫林進一步減少了將在莫爾特里法院大樓內運營的法庭數量。 該命令提供了有關將要進行的有限操作的詳細信息,包括:成人宣誓和陳述(C-10法庭); 少年,疏忽大意和濫用職權的初審(審判室JM-15); 緊急事件-刑事審判室,民事和遺囑認證室; 引渡; 並在眾議院審判。 在法官審理刑事緊急事件之前,將進行原因調查。

臨時保護令(TPO)請求將通過緊急臨時保護令(ETPO)流程,在法院減少運營期間,該流程可全天候24/7訪問。 如果您在華盛頓特區中,並且有立即危險,請致電都市警察局或DC SAFE緊急響應小組(800)407-5048,以訪問ETPO流程,並確定您有資格獲得TPO

命令進一步減少華盛頓特區高級法院的運作-3/18/2020,更新3/19 / 2020,4pm

19月4日-下午XNUMX點-更新內容是對法院收到的詢問做出的澄清,目的是確保全面了解法規和法院規則所規定的暫停時限的全部範圍。

優等歌劇院的重建工作-3/19/20

ቤትአሰራሮችየቀነሰ

華盛頓特區高級法院更新-3年18月2020日,下午5:30

首席法官莫林跡象 行政命令20-07 向MPD授予釋放因未出庭和缺席而被逮捕的逮捕證的少年的權力

哥倫比亞特區上訴法院首席法官Anna Blackburne-Rigsby,司法行政聯合委員會主席的聲明-18月1日至下午30:XNUMX

今早,司法行政管理聯合委員會發布了此命令,援引《華盛頓特區法典》的緊急授權,授權華盛頓特區高級法院首席法官莫林和我有權在這次公共衛生危機期間採取必要步驟,以限期繳費,並對我們各自作出其他必要的修改解決冠狀病毒風險的法院運作和規則。 區議會正在努力滿足社區的緊急需求,同時最大程度地降低接觸風險。

司法行政聯合委員會緊急授權令

哥倫比亞特區高級法院諮詢-18月11日上午XNUMX點

婚姻局現已關閉。

17月3日,下午XNUMX點

兒童保育中心關閉,直至另行通知。 請檢查更新。

華盛頓特區高級法院緊急聲明-16月5日,下午XNUMX點

這個緊急命令 允許警察和檢察官在決定是否應將某人關押至首次出庭之前或在通知其開庭日期的情況下給予引證釋放時行使其酌處權。

首席法官布萊克本-里格斯比/華盛頓特區上訴法院冠狀病毒諮詢的聲明-16月2日,下午XNUMX點

作為華盛頓特區法院司法管理聯合委員會主席,我想向公眾保證,華盛頓特區法院了解解決冠狀病毒緊急情況的緊迫性。 我還想向公眾通報特區法院為減少冠狀病毒風險採取的最新措施,同時還要確保處理緊急刑事司法和公共安全事務並維護訴諸司法的機會。

正如您在過去幾天發佈在www.dccourts.gov/coronavirus上的諮詢中所看到的那樣,哥倫比亞特區高等法院已大大減少了其運作,只有那些對公共安全至關重要的緊急問題才會繼續進行。

DC上訴法院剛剛發布了更新且更詳細的冠狀病毒操作計劃。 法院不會關閉,並且將通過我們的電子歸檔流程並通過電子郵件為所有未註冊電子歸檔人的個人開放所有新文件。 在此期間,法院將繼續就已經提出訴訟和提交的案件作出動議並作出裁決。 但是,所有原定至31年2020月31日的口頭辯論均被取消。 法院將繼續在摘要日曆上裁決案件。 提交截止日期為3月16日,這意味著如果提交申請的時間為3/30至3/31,則提交時間可能為3/31。 法院要求向法院提供兩份紙質副本的電子歸檔規則已被暫停。 招生委員會(CoA)和法律未經許可的委員會辦公室將對公眾開放,直到2020/XNUMX。 但是,CoA辦公室將繼續接收和處理申請,並對XNUMX年XNUMX月的律師考試進行評分。 上訴調解將重新安排。 請查看下面的訂單(也可以在 https://www.dccourts.gov/court-of-appeals).

感謝您在我們共同應對這一前所未有的健康危機中的耐心和理解。

關於哥倫比亞特區上訴法院的命令正在調整其運作,以解決有關冠狀病毒(COVID-19)的擔憂。

哥倫比亞特區高等法院冠狀病毒諮詢-16月9日上午XNUMX點

引文安排-計劃在17年15月2020日至XNUMX月XNUMX日期間,從原定計劃日期起持續八週,如下表所示:

原始引文提交日期 連續引證日期
週二,三月17,2020 5月12日, 2020
2009年3月18,2020 5月13日, 2020
週四,三月19,2020 21年2020月XNUMX日*
週二,三月24,2020 5月19日, 2020
2009年3月25,2020 5月20日, 2020
週四,三月26,2020 5月21日, 2020
週二,三月31,2020 5月26日, 2020
週三,四月1,2020 5月27日, 2020
週四,四月2,2020 5月28日, 2020
星期二,四月7,2020 .
週三,四月8,2020 .
週四,四月9,2020 .
星期二,四月14,2020 .
週三,四月15,2020 .



DC高等法院諮詢-15月6日,下午XNUMX點

從16月30日星期一開始擔任大陪審團的人無需舉報。 目前在大陪審團任職的個人將被免職兩週,如果沒有法院的進一步指示,則應於XNUMX月XNUMX日向美國檢察官辦公室報告。

DC高等法院諮詢-15月3日,下午XNUMX點

首席法官羅伯特·莫林(Robert Morin)的聲明:

特區高級法院將每個工作日進入我們法院大樓的10,000多人的安全和福祉放在首位。 鑑於對COVID的關注和避免不必要的公眾互動的指導,法院將在接下來的幾周中暫停其一些常規活動。 這是一個 計劃概述,以及a 法庭命令,並提供更多詳細信息。

韋爾 高級行政法庭計劃 在未來幾週內 哈加請點擊 帕拉埃爾恢復。

請注意,法院將繼續開放,法官將可以聆聽緊急事件以及計劃中未推遲的緊急事件。

感謝大家的耐心配合。

華盛頓特區上訴法院運營狀況更新,13年2020月6日,下午XNUMX點:

鑑於當前冠狀病毒引起的公共衛生突發事件,這是哥倫比亞特區上訴法院運作情況的最新信息。 上訴法院尚未關閉,但仍將開放,並採取一些預防措施。 為了減少病毒的傳播,我們鼓勵所有律師和公眾增加使用法院在線服務的方式,例如電子歸檔和實時流式口頭辯論。 16年2020月XNUMX日,星期一,上訴法院將發布有關法院針對冠狀病毒採取的措施的更多詳細信息。

特別是關於電子歸檔,從16年2020月8日星期一開始,法院將暫停電子歸檔文件紙質文件歸檔的要求。 請參閱電子歸檔和服務(ESF)過程1。另請參見DCCA管理命令18-XNUMX。

目前,所有口頭辯論將如期進行,但由於特殊的健康問題,律師的繼續治療要求將得到特別考慮。 如果您想遠程觀察口頭辯論,這 網站鏈接 包含有關訪問實時音頻和視頻流的說明。

我們鼓勵法院所有來訪者採取適當的安全和健康預防措施,並進行人身安全行為。 如果您(a)被診斷出患有COVID-19,(b)已知與該病毒的人接觸過,(c)被要求進行自我檢疫,或(d)出現流感樣症狀,請請勿進入法院開展業務。 相反,請致電法院秘書或公共辦公室尋求幫助:(202)879-2700。

對於需要在本法院進行緊急請求的律師和專業人士,請繼續遵循本法院規則中概述的程序。

華盛頓特區法院在下方發布了一項冠狀病毒諮詢,其中包含法院為應對這種公共衛生緊急情況所做的努力的最新信息。 我們鼓勵您除查看學區發布的其他公共衛生警告外,還應查看該建議。

請參閱以下有關DC高等法院運營狀態的通知。

哥倫比亞特區高等法院電暈病毒諮詢,3年13月2020日,下午3:30

16月19日星期一上午,DC高級法院將針對COVID XNUMX的擔憂發布詳細公告。

法院尚未結案,但將改變其行動以推遲所有非緊急事項或通過電話進行處理。 該公告將提供有關審判和緊急事項的信息。

法院將把需要向法院報告的人數(包括陪審員)降至最低。 陪審團成員應在服務前的晚上致電879-4604(選擇選項5)以了解是否需要舉報。

法院將暫停驅逐所有房客和喪失抵押品贖回權的房主。

律師應檢查法院的網站,以了解有關在此期間如何處理特定案件類型的更多信息。 有關這些更改的詳細公告將在此處發布,隨著情況的發展,計劃的更改也將在此處發布。

03/12更新

華盛頓特區法院的最高優先事項是我們機構中的公眾成員,合作機構的工作人員和法院員工的安全和福利。 我們要向所有人保證,鑑於最近宣布的2019年新型冠狀病毒(COVID-19)大流行,特區法院正在採取預防措施,為所有人維護一個安全健康的法庭環境。 當前的事件,包括在哥倫比亞特區,馬里蘭州和弗吉尼亞州的確鑿報告,已重新強調了法院為緊急情況和行動的連續性所做的準備。 特區法院的領導和我們的安全團隊正在積極監視有關COVID-19傳播的新聞和信息,並將根據需要提供更新。

為確保法院運作的連續性,法院具有:

  • 最終確定了他們的大流行應急計劃,
  • 從大流行性疾病工作組會議開始,以識別隨著病毒在哥倫比亞特區越來越普遍和需要製定行動連續性(COOP)計劃來加強法院準備應對的活動,
  • 在法院大樓的公共辦公室增加了洗手液的放置,以保持安全清潔的工作環境,
  • 在法院校園的高公眾接觸區增加了清潔和消毒服務的頻率(我們注意到,美國疾病控制中心建議定期清潔是限制病毒傳播的關鍵步驟),
  • 為合格的員工擴展了我們通常的遠程辦公選項,並告訴經理任何感到不適的員工都應留在家裡
  • 修改了由法院任命的監護人每月對他們的病房進行親自拜訪的要求,這與病房所處設施的政策一致,同時確保了最脆弱人群的健康,安全和福利。
  • 不能在傳票日期服完陪審員的人可以使用DC法院網站上的eJuror系統,或致電202 / 879-4604與陪審團聯繫以請求延期。

華盛頓特區法院正在不斷重新評估如何最好地應對不斷變化的情況。 我們將在我們網站的主頁,facebook頁面和DC Courts的Twitter feed上發布更多信息。 華盛頓特區法院致力於確保我們在這一充滿挑戰的時期內實現向所有人伸張正義的使命。

Seals of the Court of Appeals and Superior Court
District of Columbia Courts

DC Courts' CoronaVirus Advisories 

Haga click para Español

A Message from DC Court of Appeals Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby - 3/30/2020


 

DC Superior Court Update - 4/1/2020 - 6pm

Addendum to the General Order of March 18, updated March 19, to clarify the status of expiration dates for Deferred prosecution agreements (DPAs), deferred sentencing agreements (DSAs) and probationary terms in matters pending in the Criminal and Domestic Violence Divisions.

 

Superior Court Advisory 3/31/2020 - 4pm

The Civil Division has an addendum to the general order addressing the tolling of various deadlines due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Please see the links below in English and Spanish.
Addendum to General Order Addressing Tolling of Deadlines due to COVID-19
Addendum a la Orden General Relativa a los Casos Civiles

ወረርሽኝ በተመለከተ ለተላለፈው ጠቅላላ ትእዛዝ ተጨማሪ መግለጫ (አደንደም)  

DC SUPERIOR COURT ADVISORY - March 27, 2020, 4pm

The following two orders were issued this afternoon:

DC Superior Court Update - Clerk’s Offices Remote Operations 3/26/2020

In response to COVID-19 all clerk’s offices for Superior Court are operating in a remote status with no staff on-site. We have employees available to answer questions via telephone, email and Live Chat. Due to the limited resources for processing mail, please call or email a request, document or image of a document to avoid a delay in processing your request. Below is information regarding operations that will be conducted remotely by the Clerk’s Offices. All emergency hearings will be conducted by the judge remotely.

Clerk's Offices Remote Operations Information

Vea en Español: Notificación de las Operaciones de las Oficinas de la Secretaría.

የሱፒርየር ፍርድ ቤት የክለርክ (ጸሀፊ) ቢሮዎች የርቀት አሰራሮች (ሪሞት ኦፐሬሽንስ)
 

DC Courts Update - 3/25/2020 - 6pm

LIST OF LEGAL SERVICE PROVIDERS FOR THOSE WITHOUT AN ATTORNEY

 

DC Superior Court Update 3/25/2020, 10:30am

The Standing Order Establishing Procedures to File Emergency Motions has been updated, please see below:
ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEDURES FOR FILING EMERGENCY MOTIONS FOR RELEASE FROM CUSTODY DUE TO THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC - 3/22 as updated 3/25.

 

DC Court of Appeals Order 3/23/2020 -3pm

DCCA Order Updating 3/16 Order, Covering Operations through May 31

 

DC Superior Court Advisory re: Jurors Office 3/23/2020 - 2pm

The Jurors’ Office is operating remotely until further notice. Jurors are encouraged to visit www.dccourts.gov/jurorservices to complete their juror questionnaire, defer service, or upload requests for excuse. Please do not send mail to the office. Staff may be reached in the following ways:
eMail: jurorhelp [at] dcsc.gov
Telephone: 202-879-4604
Live Chat: www.dccourts.gov/jury (8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.)
On average, response time is 24 business hours (or less).

 

DC Superior Court Update - Sunday 3/22, 2:30pm

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEDURES, EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY, FOR FILING EMERGENCY MOTIONS FOR RELEASE FROM CUSTODY DUE TO THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC

 

DC Superior Court Advisory - 3/20/2020, 3pm

Due to the current public health emergency, the Office of Court Interpreting Services is operating remotely. If you need language access assistance, please call 202-879-4828 or email interpreters [at] dcsc.gov.

 

DC Superior Court Advisory - 3/20/2020 - 12:15pm

Individuals summoned for jury service and individuals summoned or previously selected for grand jury service are not required to report to court or to the United States Attorney’s Office until further notice.

 

DC Superior Court Update, 3/19/2020 - 4:30pm

The Court Reporting Division is now operating fully remotely. For transcript requests, see detailed information here.

 

DC Superior Update 3/19, 4:15pm

The Library in the Moultrie Courthouse will be closed until further notice. Please continue to check this page for updates.

 

DC Superior Court Advisory - 3/19/2020 - 3pm

All hearings scheduled by the Office of the Auditor-Master through May 15, 2020 have been continued (postponed), and parties are not to appear. All orders that have been issued directing parties to produce documents are also continued. For more detailed information, see the order below.

Officer of the Auditor Master Order 3/19/2020

 

DC Superior Court Order Suspending Additional Court Proceedings - 3/18/2020 at 6pm

Pursuant to the authority given to the Chief Judges by the Joint Committee on Judicial Administration this morning, DC Superior Court Chief Judge Morin has further reduced the number of courtrooms that will be operational in the Moultrie Courthouse. The order provides details on the limited operations that will go forward, which include: adult arraignments and presentments (courtroom C-10); juvenile, neglect and abuse initial hearings (courtroom JM-15); emergency matters - one courtroom for criminal, a second for civil and probate; extraditions; and judge in chambers. Show cause hearings will come before the judge hearing criminal emergency matters.

Temporary Protection Order (TPO) requests will go through the Emergency Temporary Protection Order (ETPO) process which will be accessible 24/7 during the time of reduced court operations. If you are in DC and are in immediate danger, please call the Metropolitan Police Department or the DC SAFE Critical Response Team (800) 407-5048 to access the ETPO process and find out you qualify for a TPO

 

Order Further Reducing DC Superior Court Court Operations - 3/18/2020, updated 3/19/2020, 4pm

March 19 - 4pm - The update is a clarification, made in response to inquiries the court has received and to ensure understanding of the full scope of the suspension of time limits imposed by statutes and court rules.

Vea la orden de reducción de operaciones en el Tribunal Superior - 3/19/20
 

የሱፒርየር ፍርድ ቤት አሰራሮች የቀነሰ ትእዛዝ

 

DC Superior Court update - 3/18/2020, 5:30pm

Chief Judge Morin Signs Administrative Order 20-07 Provides MPD with Authority to Release Juveniles Arrested on Warrants for Failure to Appear and Abscondence

 

Statement of DC Court of Appeals Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby, chair of the Joint Committee on Judicial Administration - March 18 - 1:30pm

This morning the Joint Committee on Judicial Administration issued this order invoking emergency authority under the DC Code to give DC Superior Court Chief Judge Morin and me the authority to take needed steps during this public health crisis to toll deadlines and make other necessary changes to our respective court operations and rules to address the coronavirus risk. The DC Courts are endeavoring to meet emergency needs of the community, while minimizing exposure risk to the greatest extent possible.

Joint Committee on Judicial Administration Emergency Authority Order

 

DC Superior Court Advisory - March 18, 11am 

The Marriage Bureau is now closed.

 

March 17, 3pm

The Child Care Center is closed until further notice. Please check for updates.

 

DC Superior Court Emergency Declaration - March 16, 5pm 

This emergency order allows police and prosecutors to exercise their discretion in determining whether a person should be held until their first court appearance or be given citation release with notice of their court date.

 

Statement of Chief Judge Blackburne-Rigsby/DC Court of Appeals coronavirus advisory - March 16, 2pm 

As Chair of the DC Courts' Joint Committee on Judicial Administration, I want to assure the public that the DC Courts understand the urgency of addressing the Coronavirus emergency. I also want to keep the public informed of the latest steps the DC Courts are taking to reduce risks of the Coronavirus while also ensuring that urgent criminal justice and public safety matters are handled and access to justice is maintained.

As you can see in the advisories posted in the last few days on www.dccourts.gov/coronavirus, the DC Superior Court has significantly reduced its operations, and only those matters that are urgent and crucial to public safety will go forward.

The DC Court of Appeals has just posted an updated and more detailed Coronavirus operations plan. The Court is not closing and is open for all new filings, through our eFiling process and via email for pro se parties who are not registered eFilers. The court will continue to decide motions and issue decisions on already argued and submitted cases during this time. However, all oral arguments scheduled through March 31, 2020, are cancelled. The Court will continue to decide cases on the summary calendar. Filing deadlines are being tolled until March 31, meaning if a filing is due 3/16 to 3/30, it may be filed on 3/31. The Court's eFiling rules that require that two paper copies be provided to the court are suspended. The Committee on Admissions (CoA) and the Committee on Unauthorized Practice of Law offices will be closed to the public until 3/31. However, the CoA Office will continue to receive and process applications, and grade the February 2020 bar exam. Appellate mediations will be rescheduled. Please see the order below (it's also available on https://www.dccourts.gov/court-of-appeals).

We appreciate your patience and understanding as we all collectively deal with this unprecedented health crisis.

Order regarding the District of Columbia Court of Appeals is adjusting its operations to address concerns regarding the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

 

DC Superior Court coronavirus advisory - March 16, 9am 

Citation Arraignments- scheduled between March 17 and April 15, 2020 are continued for eight weeks from the originally scheduled date, as reflected in the chart below:

ORIGINAL CITATION ARRAIGNMENT DATE CONTINUED CITATION ARRAIGNMENT DATE
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 May 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020 May 13, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020 May 21, 2020*
Tuesday, March 24, 2020 May 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020 May 20, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020 May 21, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020 May 26, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 May 27, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020 May 28, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020 June 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 June 3, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020 June 4, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 June 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 June 10, 2020



DC Superior Court Advisory - March 15, 6pm 

Individuals with grand jury duty beginning on Monday, March 16, need not report. Those individuals currently serving on a grand jury are excused for a two-week period of time and should report to the US attorney’s office on March 30 absent further instruction from the court.

 

DC Superior Court Advisory - March 15, 3pm 

Statement of Chief Judge Robert Morin:

The DC Superior Court places great priority the safety and well-being of the more than 10,000 people who enter our court buildings each workday. In light of concerns regarding COVID and guidance to avoid non-essential public interactions, the Court will suspend a number of its usual activities for the next several weeks. Here is an overview of the plan, as well as a court order, with more details.

Vea el plan de operaciones del Tribunal Superior en las próximas semanas. Haga click para el resumen. 

Please note that the Court will still be open and judges will be available to hear emergency matters, as well as those outlined in the plan as not being postponed.

We appreciate everyone's patience and cooperation.

 

DC Court of Appeals Operating Status Update, March 13, 2020, 6pm:  

This is an update on the status of the District of Columbia Court of Appeals’ operations in light of the current public health emergency due to the coronavirus. The Court of Appeals is not closing, but will remain open with some precautionary measures in place. To reduce the spread of the virus, we encourage all counsel and members of the public to increase their use of the court’s online services, such as e-filing and live-streaming oral arguments. On Monday, March 16, 2020, the Court of Appeals will be posting additional details regarding measures the court is taking in light of the coronavirus.

Specifically with respect to e-filing, starting Monday, March 16, 2020, the court will suspend the requirement for the filing of paper copies of electronically filed documents. See Electronic Filing and Service (ESF) Procedure 8. See also DCCA Administrative Order 1-18.

At this time, all oral arguments will go forward as scheduled, but requests for continuances by counsel because of particularized health concerns will be given special consideration.  If you would like to observe oral arguments remotely, this weblink contains instructions for accessing live audio and video streams.

We encourage all visitors of the courthouse to take appropriate safety and health precautions and practice personal safety behaviors. If you (a) have been diagnosed with COVID-19, (b) have had known contact with a person with the virus, (c) have been asked to self-quarantine, or (d) are experiencing flu-like symptoms, please do not enter the courthouse to conduct business. Instead, please call the Clerk of the Court or the Public Office for assistance: (202) 879-2700.

For counsel and pro se parties who need to file an emergency pleading in this court, continue to follow the procedures outlined in this court’s rules.

The DC Courts posted a coronavirus advisory, below, which contains updates on the courts’ efforts to respond to this public health emergency. We encourage you to review that advisory, in addition to other public health warnings issued by the District.

Please see the notice below regarding DC Superior Court operating status.

 

DC Superior Court Corona Virus Advisory, 3/13/2020, 3:30pm  

On Monday morning, March 16, the DC Superior Court will post a detailed announcement in light of COVID 19 concerns.  

The Court is not closing, but will be changing its operations to postpone all non-urgent matters or to conduct them telephonically. The announcement will provide information regarding trials and urgent matters.

The Court will keep the number of people, including jurors, who need to report to the courthouse to a minimum. Those with jury duty should call in the night before their service to 879-4604 (select Option 5) to find out if they need to report.

The Court will suspend evictions of all tenants and foreclosed homeowners.

Counsel should check the Court’s website for more information on how particular case types will be handled during this time. A detailed announcement on these changes will be posted here, as will changes to the plan as the situation evolves.
 

03/12 Update

Among the D.C. Courts’ highest priorities are the safety and welfare of members of the public in our facilities, staff from partner agencies, and court employees. We want to assure everyone that the DC Courts are taking precautions to maintain a safe and healthy court environment for all in light of the recently-declared pandemic of the 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19). Current events, including confirmed reports in the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia, have placed renewed emphasis on the Courts’ preparation for emergencies and continuity of operations. The DC Courts’ leadership and our security team are actively monitoring news and information about the spread of COVID-19 and will provide updates as warranted.

To ensure the continuity of court operations, the Courts have:

  • Finalized their Pandemic Contingency Plan,
  • Begun pandemic working group meetings to identify activities to enhance the Courts’ readiness to respond as the virus become more pervasive in DC and continuity of operations (COOP) plan needs to be put in place,
  • Increased the placement of hand sanitizers in public offices at the court buildings to maintain a safe and clean work environment,
  • Increased the frequency of cleaning and disinfecting services in high public contact areas of the court campus (we note that the US Center for Disease Control recommends regular cleaning as a crucial step towards limiting the spread of the virus),
  • Expanded our usual telework options for eligible employees and told managers that any employee who feels ill should stay home
  • Modified the requirement that court-appointed guardians make monthly in-person visits to their wards, consistent with the policy of the facility where a ward resides, while ensuring the health, safety and welfare of individuals who are among the most vulnerable.
  • People summoned for jury duty who are unable to serve on the summons date can use the eJuror system on the DC Courts’ website or contact the Jurors Office at 202/879-4604 to request a deferral.

The DC Courts are continuously reassessing how best to address the evolving situation. We will post additional information on our website’s homepage, facebook page and the DC Courts’ twitter feed. The DC Courts are committed to seeing that we meet our mission of providing justice to all during this challenging time.