District of Columbia Court of Appeals

Administrative Order No. 02-20

ORDER

APR 01 2020
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA COURT OF APPEALS

(FILED—April 1, 2020)

Standing Committee on Fairness and Access to the District of Columbia Courts

WHEREAS, a permanent entity within the courts that focuses on fairness and access issues in the justice system is a best practice that is espoused by the National Center for State Courts, the National Consortium on Racial and Ethnic Fairness in the Courts, and the Council on Racial and Ethnic Justice of the American Bar Association, as well as other national judicial and bar organizations;

WHEREAS, the Joint Committee on Judicial Administration of the District of Columbia Courts, under the leadership of former Chief Judge Annice M. Wagner, created the Standing Committee on Fairness and Access of the District of Columbia Courts ("Standing Committee") in September 1996 to enhance equal justice for all individuals in the District of Columbia Courts by ensuring that they are free of bias; and

WHEREAS, the Standing Committee continues, on a permanent basis, the work of two *ad hoc* committees that were established in 1990 to identify bias and to develop strategies to eliminate it -- the Task Force on Racial & Ethnic Bias and the Task Force on Gender Bias. These task forces concluded their work and issued their final reports in 1992 and 1994, respectively; and

WHEREAS, there is a continuing need and it is a best practice to maintain a high level review of racial, ethnic and gender issues of access to justice, as well as a high level review of the removal of architectural and procedural barriers for court users and the reasonable accommodations requested by or provided to D.C. Courts applicants and employees; and

WHEREAS, it is a best practice of enhancing access to justice to

communicate and involve members of the community and the Standing Committee has a record of effectively reaching out to representatives of the community who may face barriers to justice and making their concerns heard; and

WHEREAS, D.C. Court of Appeals Associate Judge Inez Smith Reid served as Chair of the Standing Committee until D.C. Court of Appeals former Chief Judge Eric T. Washington appointed then D.C. Court of Appeals Associate Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby as Chair of the Standing Committee. *See* Administrative Order No. 03-11 (Oct. 5, 2011). It is

ORDERED that the Standing Committee shall continue its mission of ensuring that the District of Columbia Courts are free of bias and other barriers to fairness and access to the judicial system. It is

FURTHER ORDERED that D.C. Court of Appeals Associate Judge Phyllis D. Thompson is hereby appointed Chair of the Standing Committee for a term of five years, *nunc pro tunc* to March 17, 2017.¹ It is

FURTHER ORDERED that D.C. Superior Court Associate Judges Patricia A. Broderick, Neal E. Kravitz, Hiram E. Puig-Lugo, Alfred S. Irving, Todd E. Edelman, and Maribeth Raffinan, and Magistrate Judges Aida L. Melendez and Diane Brenneman are reappointed members of the Standing Committee for a term of three years, *nunc pro tunc* to March 17, 2017.² It is

FURTHER ORDERED that D.C. Superior Court Associate Judges Neal E. Kravitz, Hiram E. Puig-Lugo, Todd E. Edelman, and Maribeth Raffinan are hereby reappointed members of the Standing Committee for an additional period of three years, effective the date of this order. It is

FURTHER ORDERED that D.C. Superior Court Associate Judges Danya A. Dayson and Lynn Leibovitz and Magistrate Judge Errol R. Arthur are hereby appointed members of the Standing Committee for a period of three years, effective the date of this order. It is

¹ No written was order issued in 2017 memorializing the appointment of D.C. Court of Appeals Associate Judge Thompson as Chair of the Standing Committee.

² No written was order issued in 2017 memorializing the reappointment of D.C. Superior Court Associate Judges and Magistrate Judges as members of the Standing Committee.

FURTHER ORDERED that the D.C. Courts Executive Office has been and continues to serve a meaningful role on the Standing Committee; therefore, Acting Executive Officer, Dr. Cheryl Bailey, and Interim Deputy Executive Officer, Herb Rouson, Jr., are hereby appointed members of the Standing Committee for a period of three years, effective the date of this order. It is

FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of the D.C. Court of Appeals and the Clerk of the D.C. Superior Court are essential to the day-today operations of the D.C. Courts, and Clerk of the D.C. Court of Appeals, Julio A. Castillo, and Clerk of the D.C. Superior Court, Zabrina W. Dempson, are hereby appointed members of the Standing Committee for a period of three years, effective the date of this order.

SO ORDERED.

BY THE COURT:

Anna Blackburne-Rigsby

a Blackburn-Right

Chief Judge