SUPERIOR COURT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA AMENDED ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 12-06 ¹

Establishment of Mental Habilitation Attorney Panel

WHEREAS, Administrative Order 03-20 established an Ad Hoc Committee for the purpose of creating panels for the representation of individuals who are the subject of Mental Health and Mental Habilitation proceedings in the District of Columbia Superior Court, pursuant to D.C. Code § 21-543 and Section 7-1304.2; and

WHEREAS, in March 2012 the Mental Health and Mental Habilitation Panel Committee submitted to the Chief Judge its Final Report on its evaluation of applications and recommendation of names of attorneys eligible for appointment to represent individuals who are the subject of Mental Habilitation proceedings;² and

WHEREAS, the Chief Judge is satisfied that the recommendations of the Mental Health and Mental Habilitation Panel Committee with respect to the attorneys to be placed on the Mental Habilitation Attorney Panel have been made after careful study and consideration of each attorney eligible to be considered, and should be accepted in their entirety without change; and

WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the administration of justice for a Mental Habilitation Attorney Panel to be constituted at this time;

NOW, THEREFORE, it is by the Court,

ORDERED, that a Provisional Panel is created which shall consist of the attorneys as recommended by the Committee and listed in the Provisional Panel Member list on Appendix 1, attached hereto; that a Panel is created which shall consist of the attorneys as recommended by the Committee and listed as Panel Members on Appendix 1 attached hereto; it is further

ORDERED, that absent suspension or removal, the Mental Habilitation Attorney Panel attorneys listed in Appendix 1 as Panel Members are appointed to the panel for a period of four (4) years, at which time they must submit an application for reappointment, pending the determination of which they may remain a member of the panel, and if reappointed, every four (4) years thereafter; it is further

ORDERED, that the Provisional Panel Member attorneys listed in Appendix 1 shall be eligible to accept appointment as counsel to parties in Mental Habilitation proceedings for a period of one (1) year, at which time they must further apply to become full members of the Mental Habilitation Panel for the remaining years of the term, pending the determination of which they may remain Provisional Panel members; it is further

¹ Amended Administrative Order 12-06 modifies Appendix 1 of the original Administrative Order 12-06, which listed an attorney's name incorrectly.

² By Administrative Order No. 08-24, the Chief Judge previously constituted a panel of attorneys for appointment in Mental Health cases, based on the Panel's earlier report of December 17, 2008.

ORDERED, that those listed attorneys on each list whose names are designated with an asterisk, may be appointed to represent any person who is the subject of a Mental Habilitation proceeding except for a member of the plaintiff class in the Evans v. Gray litigation;³ it is further

ORDERED, that this Administrative Order shall take effect June 18, 2012.

SO ORDERED.

BY THE COURT

DATE: June 18, 2012

/s/
Lee F. Satterfield
Chief Judge

Copies to:

Judges
Senior Judges
Magistrate Judges
Executive Officer
Clerk of the Court
Family Court Director
Director, Multi-Door Dispute Resolution Division
Daily Washington Law Reporter
Library
Public Defender Service
District of Columbia Bar

³ Panel members marked with an asterisk are attorneys employed by University Legal Services (ULS), which is responsible for representing the plaintiff class in <u>Evans</u>. This limitation on their appointment to represent only non-class members was agreed to by the ULS, and is intended to avoid the appearance of any conflict of interest. <u>See</u> D.C. Rules of Prof'l Conduct R. 1.7.

APPENDIX 1

Panel Members

Linda Aikens Glenn Angelo Michael T. Barry Ashok Batra Pierre Bergeron Sandra Bernstein* Rodella Elizabeth Berry

Yael Cannon Charles Canty John Connelly Joel Curtis Thomas Devlin Robert Dinerstein Donald Exner Myrna Fawcett Charles Fitzpatrick Joan Gauche

Herbert Gutterman
Jane Hammitt
John Howard
Joseph Jose
Patrick Knight
Desiree Knights-Tayl

Patrick Knight
Desiree Knights-Taylor
Isaac Kunnirickal
Jennifer Lav*
Robert Lavine
Erin Leveton*
Judith Lovelace
Howard Margulies
Roger Middleton
Ronald Mitchell
Janice Moore
Marquita Moye
Lisa Orlow

Lucy Osakwe Aaron Price Marc Resnick Steven Schiff Jennie Shamey Betty Sinowitz James Sullivan Richard Toth Shawn Ullman* Kelly Venci Morgan Whitlatch

Provisional Panel Members

Francis Barikor
Nakeisha Blount
Mary Clark*
Joy Freeman-Coulbary
Laura Flegel
Laura Goodson
Akua Gyimah-Brempong*
John Hoppe
James Loots
Godwin Oyewole
Bernard Raiche
Richard Tappan
Ronald L. Thomas
James G. Turner
Russell Twist

Karen Walker